We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitsunday Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Whitsunday Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The proximity to the beautiful horseshoe bay beach and the great swimming there is a huge plus for this accommodation. The view from our room over gardens to the beach was stunning. The room was well set up with everything needed for a self catered over night stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tathra, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is an older style resort in a magic location but well worth a stay with some lovely gardens & lawn & spectacular beach access. The only downside is you are a little out of the main town but it is only a short drive. My accessible room was ideal with a well laid out bathroom & good space on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CrippAdvisor
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Very sad to only be staying for one night. This place was paradise. The view and location is magical. The best spot in Bowen. A great hotel for a romantic night but could picture a great family holiday here also. The room was basic, but clean and tidy. And it's all about what's outside your door. Beautiful beach and garden.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kase87
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful views from the room but the room was I need of a makeover. Only Indian food available in restaurant but it was very good. Fairly isolated spot so bring your supplies for breakfast and snacks.

Helpful?
1 Thank khicko
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

A very nice room and great service by staff but it's the view down to the beach bordered by well kept grass and shrubs that make it exceptional. Two good restaurants - one Indian and the other Chinese are a stroll away. Best roast duck we've had for years. A great find considering we were heading for brash Airlie Beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

Every room has a view of the ocean, rooms older but tastefully done, air coned, t and c plus microwaves in rooms. Resturant at hotel is Indian and is very good. Love staying there, as a walk on the beach after a long days work is so tranquil..... Just beautiful

Helpful?
3 Thank mcharry
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon.... More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Loved it! Clear blue waters to swim, had a wonderful room with just as wonderful view. The Indian restaurant was delicious! From the way they fold their toilet paper triangles, to little things they thought of to put in the rooms for their customers they think of. Can't fault anything, well, maybe only staying one night! When I can afford... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank renaekates
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay with beaches on every side. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very well appointed with everything a family could need. Great views and the grounds and rooms are very well maintained.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki R
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

In 2015 I stayed here with my family and it was really great. The view is amazing and the staff where very accommodating. Unfortunately, our visit this year has been very terrible. The staff where very rude and didn't talk to us at all. Just dirty looks and smart comments here and there to the kids. We had dirty linen... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Jessie A
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

We have many returning large family groups through out the year who enjoy their stay. How ever your group was advised during and on checkout regarding ongoing issues with your group. After so much disrespect to our other guests, we advised your group that you were no longer welcome at Whitsunday Sands Resort for future bookings. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight as 2 couples, made use of the perfect location. Great spot to view the sunset from with a couple of relaxing drinks on the perfectly maintained lawn and garden areas. From check in to check out we were made to feel welcome. Quiet location, comfortable beds. Great walking track to nearby look outs and landmarks. Each time I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hungrymedic
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowen hotels
0.9 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queens Beach Tourist Village
2.3 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sky View Units
Sky View Units
#4 of 16 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Coral Cove Apartments
Coral Cove Apartments
#3 of 16 in Bowen
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whitsunday Sands Resort is located on a peninsula, providing direct access to beautiful Horseshoe Bay on the eastern side, and four secluded beaches on the western side. We offer self contained, studio and motel units set amongst acres of beautiful landscaped gardens. It's like an Island on the Mainland! Paradise has never been so easy and affordable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whitsunday Sands Resort

Address: 2A Horseshoe Bay Rd, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Price Range: $99 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitsunday Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay