We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitsunday Sands Resort

Hotel website
2A Horseshoe Bay Road, Bowen, Queensland 4805 , Australia
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT.NO EXTRA FEES
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Whitsunday Sands Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay with beaches on every side. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very well appointed with everything a family could need. Great views and the grounds and rooms are very well maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In 2015 I stayed here with my family and it was really great. The view is amazing and the staff where very accommodating. Unfortunately, our visit this year has been very terrible. The staff where very rude and didn't talk to us at all. Just dirty looks and smart comments here and there to the kids. We had dirty linen... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jessie A
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

We have many returning large family groups through out the year who enjoy their stay. How ever your group was advised during and on checkout regarding ongoing issues with your group. After so much disrespect to our other guests, we advised your group that you were no longer welcome at Whitsunday Sands Resort for future bookings. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight as 2 couples, made use of the perfect location. Great spot to view the sunset from with a couple of relaxing drinks on the perfectly maintained lawn and garden areas. From check in to check out we were made to feel welcome. Quiet location, comfortable beds. Great walking track to nearby look outs and landmarks. Each time I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hungrymedic
ErikSaikkala, Manager at Whitsunday Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Stayed 2 nights reception was easy and informative. Our room was on the first floor with parking directly below. We had booked a standard double room but on arrival were upgraded to the spa room, overlooking the bay and the very well kept gardens on the Eastern side. All cooking items were supplied in the room and also had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikowgcf
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

More then expected - location brilliant, modest accommodation, very clean rooms and well maintained gardens. Great little bar on site and fantastic Indian restaurant for dinner delivered as room service to room, cafe some mornings for breakfast. Check availability for both. Our room ground floor in 1st block has direct acccess to own beach. Amazing value. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank murraynatalie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

We spent a night at the resort, wish we had stayed for longer... amazing location with access to two beaches! - one facing east and the other west (private beach)! The sunset views from our room was fantastic! The staff were friendly, rooms were clean. Definitely recommend a stay here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Raghuram H
Prague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

Wow! Is there anything more that needs to be said? The photos say it all. Clean, well equipped and a hidden paradise that is incredible value. I'm sure most people head south to Airlie but this place is enchanting with it's natural beauty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brett T
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

My room was litle dated, but clean and quiet, with nice view and easy access to lovely beachy spots to relax. Very handy having meal delivered as tired after long day of driving. Initially had a little trouble locating my room - perhaps room numbers could be clearer or staff more helpful with directions.However i would recommend and I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank eyak11
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We stayed at the Whitsunday Sands Resort and found it to be a fabulous place. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were very clean. Our room came with a view of Greys Bay, beautiful green lawns and gardens. You could enjoy the view from your verandah or wander down to the beach. Pool area was spotless and very appealing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank meandpolly
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

Our Motel room(103) was superb, clean quiet, spacious and well appointed. The view from our room was picture perfect of Horseshoe Bay just steps away . A little patio to have breakfast on and enjoy view. Would certainly recommend .

Helpful?
Thank carolJ8753DT
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowen hotels
0.9 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
0.1 mi away
Coral Cove Apartments
Coral Cove Apartments
#1 of 15 in Bowen
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queens Beach Tourist Village
0.1 mi away
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Horseshoe Bay Resort
#3 of 4 in Bowen
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.1 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay