We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this accommodation at the last minute and were fortunate that there was no-one staying in the other 2 cottages as the decks overlook each other. The spa mentioned previously is now a sand pit. While the cabins are a bit old and dated we didn't mind the peace and quiet. There does however need to be some maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClubEight
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here Friday & Saturday nights with my partner, mother and two fur babies. My partner and I were in Rye for a scuba diving course & were excited to find a place we could stay over the weekend with our fur kids. The dogs had a blast, they absolutely loved the outdoor deck. The cottage was simple, yet clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank encorbs
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

We went to these cottages with Ted H who has also posted a review we reiterate everything he said. The advertising says "boasting a spa pool" here is a photo of the spa pool. No globes in the bedroom lamps and one end of the lounge room the lights weren't working either. Some windows wouldn't open and all in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Found the place basic and very ordinary.Some living room lights not working, main bed lamps no globes, no lamps at all in 2nd bedroom! The outside spa bath unusable (had 6 inches of green slime!) Tennis court just usable but unswept and lights broken.Whole place run down & a bit grubby, torn furniture.Interesting that the owners replied to previous reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
Tylden, Australia
Reviewed February 9, 2016

We stayed in Rye Cottage 3, we arrived very late at night and their lock box system work a treat. It is a nice little cottage with all the basic features and clean. I took all our own linen as their site recommended. This cottage is a little dated with a few little flaws but great price, great location and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you so much for your feedback. We have taken your comment on board and planning some new furnishings to brighten things up, but glad you enjoyed it as it is great value for money. Kind regards The Bayplay Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed June 12, 2015

Lovely location and loved the cottages - but felt they were not all that clean. Table felt tacky and had to be wiped down when we arrived. Carpet had a few stains that made it less appealing. And vertical blinds were missing some parts - needed replacing. Felt out-dated. But having said that we would return to the cottages again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynKitty
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I hope you do return as we are working on improving the furnishings and the reporting process from our cleaners. We are constantly steam cleaning the carpets, so sorry we didnt get that sorted for you.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for just one night early Jan. Cabin is quietly located away from the holiday mayhem but only about half a km walk to beach. Cabin is really clean and has everything you need in good working order at reasonable cost. Would stay again if lookin for low cost low fuss simple getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zerodeg
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed December 31, 2014

Had a stay @ Rye cottage 1 - worst stay ever. Out the whole morning came back to find no hot water. Out again at 3 pm, back at midnight again ,no hot water available! Unbelievable to have holiday house without hot water at time when you need it. Would not stay there again or recommend to others. With the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Soowoon
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Sorry you did' t enjoy your stay, but as you know, we have responded to your many reviews and once again will stipulate that we did send out an electrician and did our best to rectify the problem, considering it was New years eve. Rather than worst stay, it should say worst luck - for the both of us.

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked cottage one for three nights. It has been like a long weekend back at the family bach (holiday house for non-kiwis) with simple but comfortable furnishings and a relaxed atmosphere. Is great to be able to bring the dog and sit on the deck for fish n chips and a beer. There is even a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBeeNZ
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We have taken a while to get onto responding to these reviews, but better late than never. Kind regards The Bayplay Team

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here with my partner for the weekend. Nice and quiet place located a few minutes drive from the main shops in Rye. The cottage had everything we needed for a short getaway. It was extremely clean but could be improved ie. better heating (very cold in winter). There was a nice deck with BBQ looking into a tennis court...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. If you return, please let us know and we will be sure to have the heaters turned on for you in advance, unless you come in Summer of course.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson
1.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
1.6 mi away
Weeroona Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plantation House
Plantation House
#3 of 8 in Rye
75 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Sorrento
112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayplay Beach Cottages are nestled in a native bush setting and within walking distance to the Mornington Peninsula National Park and spectacular ocean beaches. With 3 spacious cottages on the one property, you can choose to book all 3 for a group getaway or extended family holiday. This secluded property gets you away from it all, but still a few minutes drive to stunning beaches, townships of Rye & Sorrento and Peninsula Hot Springs. Facilities include:- Bedroom 1 - Queen size bed- Bedroom 2 - two singe bunks (sleeps 4 people)- Sleeps 6 people, Linen & Bedding is available.- Large deck with outdoor setting & pet friendly- Fenced yard with parking- Family friendly!- Modern entertainers kitchen- Stove, oven & dishwasher- Laundry with Washing machine and dryer- TV, VCR, DVD- Mod grass tennis court- Solitude and privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Address: 15 - 19 Eugenia St, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Price Range: $106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rye cottage 3 is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonsW1137KH, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
“Amazing views of bushland. Quiet location. All rooms have same views”
 of 5 bubbles KaitlynKitty, Jun 12, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Daveyfamily4, Apr 15, 2013 | Read review
“Find somewhere else. It will be cheaper and cleaner.”
 of 5 bubbles Sightseerers, May 14, 2012 | Read review
“Book the retreat as a group.”
 of 5 bubbles fiosh, May 5, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay