We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

We went to these cottages with Ted H who has also posted a review we reiterate everything he said. The advertising says "boasting a spa pool" here is a photo of the spa pool. No globes in the bedroom lamps and one end of the lounge room the lights weren't working either. Some windows wouldn't open and all in all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murray B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Found the place basic and very ordinary.Some living room lights not working, main bed lamps no globes, no lamps at all in 2nd bedroom! The outside spa bath unusable (had 6 inches of green slime!) Tennis court just usable but unswept and lights broken.Whole place run down & a bit grubby, torn furniture.Interesting that the owners replied to previous reviews... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted H

Travelers are raving about these Rye hotels

Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

We stayed in Rye Cottage 3, we arrived very late at night and their lock box system work a treat. It is a nice little cottage with all the basic features and clean. I took all our own linen as their site recommended. This cottage is a little dated with a few little flaws but great price, great location and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you so much for your feedback. We have taken your comment on board and planning some new furnishings to brighten things up, but glad you enjoyed it as it is great value for money. Kind regards The Bayplay Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Lovely location and loved the cottages - but felt they were not all that clean. Table felt tacky and had to be wiped down when we arrived. Carpet had a few stains that made it less appealing. And vertical blinds were missing some parts - needed replacing. Felt out-dated. But having said that we would return to the cottages again.

Helpful?
Thank KaitlynKitty
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I hope you do return as we are working on improving the furnishings and the reporting process from our cleaners. We are constantly steam cleaning the carpets, so sorry we didnt get that sorted for you. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for just one night early Jan. Cabin is quietly located away from the holiday mayhem but only about half a km walk to beach. Cabin is really clean and has everything you need in good working order at reasonable cost. Would stay again if lookin for low cost low fuss simple getaway.

Helpful?
Thank zerodeg
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Had a stay @ Rye cottage 1 - worst stay ever. Out the whole morning came back to find no hot water. Out again at 3 pm, back at midnight again ,no hot water available! Unbelievable to have holiday house without hot water at time when you need it. Would not stay there again or recommend to others. With the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Soowoon
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Sorry you did' t enjoy your stay, but as you know, we have responded to your many reviews and once again will stipulate that we did send out an electrician and did our best to rectify the problem, considering it was New years eve. Rather than worst stay, it should say worst luck - for the both of us. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked cottage one for three nights. It has been like a long weekend back at the family bach (holiday house for non-kiwis) with simple but comfortable furnishings and a relaxed atmosphere. Is great to be able to bring the dog and sit on the deck for fish n chips and a beer. There is even a... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaBeeNZ
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We have taken a while to get onto responding to these reviews, but better late than never. Kind regards The Bayplay Team More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here with my partner for the weekend. Nice and quiet place located a few minutes drive from the main shops in Rye. The cottage had everything we needed for a short getaway. It was extremely clean but could be improved ie. better heating (very cold in winter). There was a nice deck with BBQ looking into a tennis court... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Bayplay, Owner at Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. If you return, please let us know and we will be sure to have the heaters turned on for you in advance, unless you come in Summer of course. More 

Lower Norton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location on the Mornington Peninsula. Gardens need a bit of work to remove a lot of the weeds. Linen should be part of the price and not an extra. The Deck, tennis court and spa are all positive aspects of Bay Play Rye. Some dining chairs were broken and uncomfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank BetulaBrae
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in Cottage #1 with my wife to get away from it all. I initially made a mess of the dates and when I contacted the staff at Bayplay they happily changed them at short notice for us without fuss or charge. The cottage itself was well presented and is well equipped with everything you could imagine, heating, cooling, dishwasher,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoCa1888
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
7.5 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Holiday Apartments
3.4 mi away
Peppers Moonah Links Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Rosebud
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kanasta Caravan Park Rye
4.0 mi away
Sorrento Beach Motel
Sorrento Beach Motel
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayplay Beach Cottages are nestled in a native bush setting and within walking distance to the Mornington Peninsula National Park and spectacular ocean beaches. With 3 spacious cottages on the one property, you can choose to book all 3 for a group getaway or extended family holiday. This secluded property gets you away from it all, but still a few minutes drive to stunning beaches, townships of Rye & Sorrento and Peninsula Hot Springs. Facilities include:- Bedroom 1 - Queen size bed- Bedroom 2 - two singe bunks (sleeps 4 people)- Sleeps 6 people, Linen & Bedding is available.- Large deck with outdoor setting & pet friendly- Fenced yard with parking- Family friendly!- Modern entertainers kitchen- Stove, oven & dishwasher- Laundry with Washing machine and dryer- TV, VCR, DVD- Mod grass tennis court- Solitude and privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat

Address: 15 - 19 Eugenia St, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Price Range: $63 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bayplay Rye Cottages and Tennis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay