We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Save
Share
East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1578)
Room & Suite (325)
Dining (251)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in East Grinstead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
2,878Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,790
  • 535
  • 332
  • 131
  • 90
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
João N wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom21 contributions8 helpful votes
I went to the Alexander House Hotel on the weekend of 24/10 and I had an amazing experience, it’s just outside of London 45/50min from Victoria, we were welcomed by the GM, we got an amazing room upgrade, everyone was aware of my celebration and we had some glasses of bubbles in the restaurant, we were served by Kamil and he was amazing, what a star! Our room had a beautiful view towards the back of the hotel, the bed was extremely comfortable, one of the best mattresses that I have ever tried. The spa was beautiful, several areas to try and to explore, being outside in the hot tub surrounded by the trees was an incredible experience that for sure we will be coming back soon. Also to note that this place made me feel extremely safe, all staff using protective equipment and guests with masks inside of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Must try the hot tub outside !
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Reece Cloney, Guest Services / Front Office at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Mr Neves, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you felt staying at the hotel was an amazing experience and that you felt safe. All of your feedback will be shared with the staff who I'm sure will be very pleased to hear you had a great stay. Thank you again and I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Reece
Read more
James A wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions
This is a really friendly place. The grounds and Spa Utopia were amazing! The staff are polite, courteous and more than happy to help with your stay. We thoroughly recommend Alexander House and will be returning. We stayed in the spa suite and had breakfast to our room which was an added bonus and absolutely lovely. Thank you Alexander and Utopia staff, we look forward to returning very soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
Room Tip: Al lovely place for a romantic couples break
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Reece Cloney, Guest Services / Front Office at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello jamesaC9678OH, Thank you very much for coming to stay with us at Alexander House. I am delighted to read all of your kind comments and that you are already looking forward to returning. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Reece
Read more
TravellerUK79 wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom99 contributions28 helpful votes
I spent most of my time in the room - it was lush! Luxury room with expensive toiletries and little touches that made it so comfy. The bath tub was beautiful! The food is high end top quality restaurant food. I had a couple of meals in the room but even the restaurant is wonderful. All the staff are friendly, it’s easy to drive to and loads of parking. A nice garden to sit in for outdoor time. Plus a tennis court.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Reece Cloney, Guest Services / Front Office at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello TravellerUK79, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on your recent stay with us. All of your kind comments are very pleasing to read, I am thrilled you had such a good stay and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Thank you again. Kind regards, Reece
Read more
Stoozy wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
It was the second time my wife and I visited Alexander House. The first was on a whim for a romantic getaway about a year or so ago in much different times! The general impression was excellent, from the welcome ( and tour) to the desk staff to the room the food etc etc couldn’t fault it. This time was a planned night away for my wife’s birthday. We booked a double room and to our surprise we had a complimentary room upgrade on arrival. A junior suite no less.. and oooooo it was very nice.. and I can say that even in the very strange times we are now in, the quality was on a par with our first visit. Such a nice hotel to stay at and we will definitely be booking again. P. s The spa is a little gem to top it off. Well done Alexander House for everything you do.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Reece Cloney, Guest Services / Front Office at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello StoozyC, Thank you very much for returning to stay with us and for choosing Alexander House to celebrate such a special occasion. It's extremely pleasing for us to read that you had a nice time celebrating your wife's birthday and it's great that you were complimentary upgraded to one of our junior suites. It's always nice welcoming back returning guests so its brilliant to read you will be booking to stay again. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Reece
Read more
Francesca wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Impossible to get through to someone on the phone, wasted a good two hours trying to call before someone picked up the phone. Tried via email and got back to me two days later. We would have expected a warmer welcome as they knew I was celebrating my birthday. They changed the time of the massage despite knowing it was important for us to keep timing because of birthday celebration. The masseuse did a 45 mins massage even though I paid for 55 and was rude when I questioned it. The receptionists at the spa had an undermining childish tone which my boyfriend received with intense laughter and incapacitating irony. I would expect better customer experience and service for the price. A lot of staff do not understand English to communicate well, this is embarrassing given the luxury British brand they try to portray. Not the 5* star service they claim to be.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sindarmy Vingadassalom, Guest Services / Front Office at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear FrancescaFav13F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointed you have expressed in your review. It is truly disheartening to hear that the service and your experience at Alexander House did not live up to your expectations. For this I would like to formally apologise to you and your guests. On behalf of the Team at Alexander House, I would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. Please rest assured that the difficulties you have experienced are not representatives of our usual high standards and that necessary actions will be taken to prevent our guests to be inconvenienced in the future. Kind Regards, Sindarmy Vingadassalom Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alexander house & utopia hotel east grinstead, alexander house and utopia spa, alexander hotel utopia
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexEast Grinstead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Nearby attractions include Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (1.8 miles), Southern Pursuits (2.0 miles), and Tulleys Farm (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helin, Gravetye Manor Restaurant, and The Parson's Pig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Standen (2.2 miles) and Sackville College (3.0 miles).
Does Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.