We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 499: English reviews
Ely
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for just one night, and have to say we were impressed. The Carpark was very large which meant parking was very easy as there were plenty of spaces. Checking in was no problem. Our room was very good, with traditional furniture which made a change from the norm. The added extras like tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had slight issue locating reception quickly on arrival, in the pouring rain, as did another couple who arrived at the same time. Which door, which building ? Then I noticed the tiny sign and called to the other couple. Reception service good. Our room was cold until we got the heating going, we thought the window was open it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 111karen2016
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night and had a king size bed. Wow, the bed was really huge! The room was spacious, clean and had tea/coffee facilities and a mini bar. Breakfast was great and there was a variety of hot and cold breakfast. Reception staff were exceptional and smiled and nothing seemed to trouble them.

Helpful?
Thank Ahktar R
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The experience of the Sunday Lunch Carvery was very impressive and the cost more than acceptable. The quality of the food, from the myriad of starters to the wide choice of main course dishes and desserts, was excellent. You serve yourself for all courses and the fact that your hot main course, brought by a member of staff to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank llegnalem
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a repeat one-night stopover at this lovely hotel. We chose an upgraded room, just across the driveway, which had lots of space. The usual large bed with television and clean, modern bathroom adjacent. Beyond that there was a sitting room with sofa, chairs, table and a second TV. We were spoilt! What makes this hotel even more memorable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was ok, just what i would expect from Best Western really. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and friendly waitresses. The receptionist on the other hand seemed completely disinterested when we walked in, as if she was totally bored by her job.

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bramleysmom I would like to assure you that we do take our guests feedback seriously - I will pass your comments back to my reception team. kind regards More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a nice hotel ! Lovely grounds excellent rooms and very pleasant staff!!! However the food is poor, carvery,carvery or carvery this i could cope with for one night but the staff insisted on serving my dinner and carrying my plate to the table!!!! The last time my food was served up for me in this way was some 40... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjh060852
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sjh060852 for your feedback. As you state our hotel is excellent with great accommodation and staff. The restaurant is a visual ala carte carvery with many dishes to choose from as an alternative to the roasts. We believe that guest staying in a hotel would prefer to have their food served rather than a self service style. In... More 

Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, son and myself stayed one night last Thursday and were all very disappointed. We'd had a long journey and were looking forward to having a nice drink in the bar. The public room by the bar was very dark and depressing and very small. No flowers or cheery decorations and not very clean. There was another sort of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana H
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana H Thank you for your feedback. We are an extremely popular carvery restaurant with many diners returning regularly. I am sorry to read this was not your personal preference. I have identified which room you stayed in and this bathroom is being refurbished in December in our on going refurbishment plan. kind regards More 

Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a one night stay here night before meeting in Hove. Room 201 nice size and good to have separate lounge area. The only complaint was water pressure very low, a shame as bathroom obviously recently refurbished. Staff all helpful and friendly. Only had breakfast and it was very good. If ever in the area would definitely book here again.

Helpful?
Thank CNC-expert
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CNC-expert Thank you for your excellent review. I will investigate your comment re the shower. kind regards More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room 108 on the ground floor was clean, comfortable and warm. Although next to the road we were not aware of any traffic noise. We did not have dinner at the hotel but breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The hot food was served to us at the buffet which meant that everything was well supervised, no food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeBe732014
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BeBe732014 Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.2 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
318 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,426 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
310 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Price Range: $79 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rooms in the west gate are fine”
 of 5 bubbles GaryG198, 4 days ago | Read review
“It's a quiet area, but 103 overlooked the countryside area.”
 of 5 bubbles ahktarr2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We found the room upgrade good value for money, Do include dinner in your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles iand382, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DianaH518, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't have a Room fronting the main road!”
 of 5 bubbles adchas, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay