We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Church Farm Front Street | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1JF, England (Formerly Oswalds Restaurant with Rooms)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Paulton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have visited Fantino's multiple times over the past month as I was I the area for work. Each time I stayed it was fabulous and they could not have been more accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are lovely and extremely clean. The management & staff are friendly and caring. To top it off, the meals are delicious too. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1028carrie
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we hope you visit again soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and super service. Would highly recommend Fantinos! I stayed here on a business trip and would certainly return. What a great place in a really handy location for travel. Really good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Loni L
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, see you again soon hopefully? More 

Stokesley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Had a very pleasant time. Lovely friendly staff. Great food/ wine. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Well worth a visit. Good location for visiting nearby attractions. Castle Howard, York and Thirsk Races.

Helpful?
Thank lakeyz
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon. More 

North Yorks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is just great!! Staff are helpful and attentive. The food is very good, wife had a pizza and said it's the best she has ever eaten, my tagliatelle was excellent also! When our meals came I decided I wanted a garlic bread and it was there in a couple of minutes...fresh and hot straight from the oven, nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthernNomad23
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Sussex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for one night B & B in the "King Room" turned out not to be very royal just your average loft conversion. When asked what time I would like breakfast, I replied 8am sharp as I had a business meeting nearby at 9. Myself and one other guest arrived in the dining area at around 7.45 but we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank shazbat001
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room you booked and stayed in has a king size bed but it is one of our smallest rooms but also one of our cheapest especially at the discounted rate of £62.00 that we offered you. Sorry that it didn't meet your expectations! We didn't make any charge for the breakfast as the service... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Whether you are are going for an evening meal, a takeaway pizza, a couples retreat... this place has it all. Rooms are luxurious and spacious and the breakfast is divine. Can't think of any negatives.

Helpful?
Thank gemmybear123
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

100 people catered for at our Christmas Party, the surroundings being perfect, the staff supplied service of a high standard and thought outside the box with entertainment The wood burning stoves gave a seasonal warmth and character..

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Awesome B&B, personal service and very good food! WiFi is available and THE owner is a cool guy! Secret hidden treasure, better than THE high star hotels I visited during my tour in THE united kingdom. Parking space available just in front of THE room. Grtz!

Helpful?
Thank Dimitri V
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. More 

Poynton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Just had a very enjoyable stay at Fantinos in the lovely village of Sowerby. Large, comfortable bedroom and large roll top bath. Good quality fixtures & fittings throughout. A good choice of well cooked food of generous proportion. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Sean L, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. More 

West Lothian
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

We didn't have a booking but just turned up (Sawday recommendation) and I'm so glad we did. Everything about it was just perfect. In the lovely unspoiled village of Sowerby (outskirts of Thirsk) where the rooms are above and adjacent to the restaurant in a converted barn. The owner has clearly spent time in Italy, a previous rally driver I... More 

Helpful?
Thank FionaJLinlithgow
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We of course look forward to your return visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
0.5 mi away
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Old Oak Tree
Old Oak Tree
#7 of 23 in Thirsk
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay