We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lifeboat Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lifeboat Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent two comfortable nights here. Very popular with dog owners. We took evening meals in the main restaurant. Choice of main courses on the first night was a bit disappointing i.e steak and fish pies rather bland (for our palates). However, the fish-n-chips the following night was plentiful and scrumptious. Overall; a most enjoyable, relaxing, visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip400
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us I am sorry about the main courses on the first night. Our fish pie is usually so reliable in terms of providing the guest with a high quality pie filled with fresh flavoursome fish. I'm glad this was recovered on the second...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I booked the Inn several weeks ago, and we were looking forward to our meal. And the meal was great, my choices were really tasty and I enjoyed all three courses. My partner's choice of 3 different courses, and her starter, main course and pudding, all brilliant. Service was spot on, all with a smile, from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques-Pierre77
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. It was a pleasure talking to you and I'm delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your meal. We are building a good kitchen team here and the food is still developing. Your comments have been read by the chefs and they are really pleased. Our car park is spacious and just across the...

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a two night package and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing and the Christmas lunch was the one of the best we have ever had. The rooms are not huge but that didn't matter because the bar and sitting areas were so cost and inviting. Also loved the view from our room. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances K
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. It is our first Christmas break under the new ownership so to hear such wonderful feedback is very rewarding. We aimed to provide our guests with a relaxing environment and people's comments have been overwhelmingly positive. The public areas are certainly comfortable and provide good seating areas I'm glad you will be back and...

Norwich
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed overnight at The Lifeboat and it was great! Had a long walk on Holme beach in the afternoon, followed by really tasty sandwiches and coffee early evening, sitting in comfy chairs by a cosy log burner. The bed was very comfortable and we were lucky to have a room with a sea-view. Great breakfast, very relaxing atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review. I'm pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and felt relaxed at The Lifeboat. The coastal views from our bedrooms are certainly spectacular at times and offer a good calming ambiance in contrast to a hectic life I hope we can welcome you back in the near future Best wishes

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It makes me sad to write this review because this is my FAVOURITE place to eat on the North Norfolk cost. As a family we use the lifeboat as a base all the time. On this occasion we visited on 27th December having been for a brisk beach walk. It was busy on arrival which isn't unexpected for that time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyKat1987
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is obviously disheartening to read your review on TripAdvisor of your favourite place as it would have been great to have direct contact. The number of guests on this day certainly did exceed all expectations and we were busy all of lunchtime and throughout the day. There were delays on some dishes and this...

Norfolk UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went as a family for lunch. Good atmosphere, excellent service. We had two club sandwiches, both a bit dry especially the chicken inside them. Much too much onion in the coleslaw. One had fish pie which he said wasn't bad. Sister in law had fish and chips which she said was very good. Would go again. Menu looks v...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed some aspects of your meal with us. The service is something we have been working a lot on recently and improvements have been made. I'm sorry the club sandwiches were dry - this is most unusual, and normally these are one of our most popular dishes for those wanting a...

Ickleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year between Christmas and New Year we go for a walk on Hunstanton beach, lunch at the Lifeboat and then walk on Holme Dunes in the afternoon. We planned the same trip this year (2016). The walk at Hunstanton was great. We then went to the Lifeboat. It was very busy. The food was fantastic. A great menu, superbly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonG371
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am glad the food was of a high quality at The Lifeboat. I apologise for the delay in the serving of your meals. We were indeed extremely busy and the period between Christmas and New Year has proved a learning experience for us. The business levels were unexpected and some longer than usual...

Leeds
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once a nice local pub, now a money making over sized venture. Unfortunately North Norfolk like many coastal retreats feels more like a London suberb due to all the second homers now crowding the area hence the need to feed the wealthy incomers! Too many covers to maintain standards especially apparent over Xmas break. One of our meals was pathetically...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THIMS
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit. The Lifeboat has not changed in size in recent years and is usually well equipped to deal with the number of guests dining. The number of dining tables has in fact been reduced slightly in favour of some comfortable lounge space. There are...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every other year we come to Norfolk for Christmas. We've been doing this for years. My Family have been frequenting the Lifeboat for as long as I can remember and now the Aggellus group have got it under their wing it is back to its former glory. The food is the best I have eaten there. Our Christmas lunch was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moomintroll27
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. The team all worked hard to ensure that our guests had a great Christmas lunch at The Lifeboat. We are developing under the new ownership and feel that recent positive feedback is testament to the improvements that have been made. Christmas Day Lunch had great reviews...

Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just a flying visit to this lovely Inn again. If you are happy to chill out with a nice wine in your hand in front of a open fire, you dog lying at your feet. Then look no more. Very refreshing to find a place that is happy to let your dog chill out along side you. Personally I cant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay K
James G, General Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased that you were able to visit us once more. We are very lucky to have a large open fire and in addition we also have the two fuel burners. These provide great areas to relax in and enjoy the ambience of the inn. Dogs are welcome, with well...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
1.9 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
695 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
503 reviews
4.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
781 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lifeboat Inn, situated minutes from the stunning sandy beaches on the Norfolk Coast has been receiving guests since the 16th century. This wonderful country pub, situated in the picturesque village of Thornham on the North Norfolk Coast, has different dining areas to suit all occasions; small functions, weddings and Christenings; a welcoming lounge with an open fireplace; a bright conservatory; a traditional, history-soaked bar. It is an ideal bed and breakfast destination for a weekend or long break away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lifeboat Inn

Address: Ship Lane, Thornham PE36 6LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Price Range: $103 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lifeboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Lifeboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lifeboat Hotel Thornham
The Lifeboat Inn Thornham, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Lifeboat Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lifeboat Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Worth asking for a marsh view as views are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles francesk115, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a nice view”
  • View from Sexton room
 of 5 bubbles casamartin48, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Larger and toward the end of the building, what used to be Room 12”
 of 5 bubbles 7cliffe15, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“I will book early next time and get a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles W8129KYsharonr, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Go for coastal view. ”
 of 5 bubbles margaret_valentine, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay