We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Market Place The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD England
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (311)
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (221)


#1 of 2 hotels in Burnham Market
The Hoste Luxury Boutique Hotels and Spa are a collection of privately owned hotels located in Burnham Market at the heart of the North Norfolk coast. Guests can choose to stay in one of six diverse properties all located in the picturesque village of Burnham Market including; Vine House boutique hotel, Railway House hotel and The Hoste Luxury Holiday Cottages. In addition to 62 bedrooms, all uniquely styled, The Hoste's historic bar, The Hoste Arms, dates back 400 years. There are also restaurants, a sheltered walled garden, fitness centre, and beauty spa and luxury 20-seat cinema. The Hoste was recognised as one of the leading ‘cool hotels’ by The Times in 2017 as well as one of the top 25 best food destinations in the UK.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and 1 more
1,836Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 825
  • 445
  • 292
  • 155
  • 119
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SimonT962 wrote a review Sep 15
London, United Kingdom126 contributions56 helpful votes
My review in line with many below is mixed. I fully accept that Covid has required certain rules and regulations that no doubt impinge on usual service, but this is an expensive place to stay so the hotel has to be careful that it is not allowing standards to drop. Of course Burnham Market sells itself, so regardless of reviews and feedback this hotel will always be at or near full! Well done to them. Overall the hotel just feels a bit corporate, not quite the charming boutique hotel we were expecting. It is certainly looking a bit tired and in need of quite an upgrade and/or investment. We were in the lovely Vine House which is charming. Décor, I have to confess, is simply not to my taste; it might be to others. Sort of place your granny has with some pretty ‘grubby’ and tired furniture. But the room is large and is comfortable, and as I say Vine House overall is charming. We liked being away from the main hotel. All the accessories removed for Covid reasons, so no instructions or guidance. As no one takes you to your room (so be warned you have to carry your own luggage around) you are left a bit in the dark as to how things work. I could not call reception (as no numbers given) so had to phone the main external number from my mobile and no response from anyone despite ringing for 10 minutes plus. I ended up having to walk across to ask for the wifi code – to be told there is no code!! Whilst on the subject wifi coverage is pretty poor; keeps cutting out. Service varied from charming and excellent to downright grumpy! I know you have to wear masks which must be miserable and exhausting, but some managed to maintain lovely smiles and friendly service – some did not! They know who they are. We ate one dinner which was good - standard pub fare; breakfast quality was also good, but why please serve frozen berries in the summer when there is plentiful fresh Stawberries/rasberries/blackberries – all still being grown in the UK and surely just down the road in Norfolk. That’s just cheap and lazy. In conclusion I would say a place resting on its laurels, not needing to do much as it is in such a prime location. It needs some money, love and personality spent on it
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: different rooms in different buildings so do your homework!
See more room tips
ross f wrote a review Sep 13
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
This once lovely hotel/pub has slid downhill. We have been here many times before, and understand we are now living in a different world at the moment But it does not excuse rooms, that need painting, and updating for the price they charge. The service was good,but they had run out of many things,such a shame.!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 712rossf Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hoste. We are pleased to read that you received good service during your time with us. However, we are saddened to read that you feel The Hoste is not what it used to be, and your stay did not meet your usual expectations on this occasion. A lot of the team have been working at The Hoste for a number of years and we would like to more details about your stay, such as your room number and the service you received. We can then establish which room we need to prioritise as part of our refurbishment plan. We welcome all feedback to ensure that we are getting things right, it’s disappointing to read that we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion. We hope that you will return to The Hoste again in the near future to enjoy your experience as we know it. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
MSsirens wrote a review Sep 12
London, England, United Kingdom21 contributions3 helpful votes
We were on a walking holiday completing the Costal Path route. On our arrival after a very long day on foot with rucksacks on our backs we entered the hotel reception whereby we were told we were not actually staying in the hotel itself. The staff member asked if we knew the area to which we said no, here she then provided a very mumbled set of directions to our room which was at the Station House. After 30 minutes of more walking it could not be found so we returned whereby the staff member then handed us a map (disappointed we were not staying in the hotel as we were unaware of the different location splits on booking plus why were we not given a map 1st time round) we were told it was about 800 yards away which was very disappointing as it meant not only walking back in the evening twice, but then again in the morning (ironic and not what we needed or wanted) Staff in the evening at the restaurant were very nice and food was good. Quality and Cleanliness though the hotel and restaurant was not very good and within the toilet area was pretty horrendous and can only be described similar to what you would find in a nightclub at the end of a night out. The station house and mainly our room was not very clean and looked poorly kept. The breakfast the following day was nice. Overall I would not stay here again and I would not recommend. It was no way worth the money we paid and I wonder where all the money goes as it certainly doesnt go on the upkeep of the venues. This was the first place out of 6 other different hotels and b&bs and was the most expensive and by far the worst. Covid or no covid there is no excuse for poor hygiene and cleanliness. The location setting / area was not for us as it seemed very deserted and no sense of community.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 2 days ago
Dear JennyE299 Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Railway House. We are pleased to read that the you found the staff in the evening very nice and the food very good. We have a number of properties available to book including, The Railway House located 800 yards away from The Hoste, The Holiday Cottage – again located 800 yards away from The Hoste, The Vine House located just across the green from The Hoste and The Hoste itself. When booking your room online or over the phone with a member of the team we ensure a confirmation is sent, we also kindly ask that you check your confirmation prior to your arrival to ensure all details are correct. It seems that on this occasion there was a miss-communication as to your room location and type. We apologise that you felt the service you received from the front desk was not up to standard. The Railway House is undergoing a full refurbishment from October 2020. We are sorry that you felt the cleanliness was not up to standard. Please be assured that your comments have been read by the entire team. We have a strict cleaning and hygiene procedures in place to ensure the safety of our guests and team members during this challenging time. We are shocked to read that you found this to be poor during your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it is used to help towards the training and development moving forward. Burnham Market itself is extremely popular, with people coming far and wide to visit the quaint shops and delicious food throughout the village. We are saddened to read that you would not visit again. We wish you all the luck for any future walking holidays. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Gspeirs74 wrote a review Sep 11
20 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for a night in the Vine House, the annex of this hotel. An amazing room with access to a drawing room with board games and a courtyard garden. The hotel has a private cinema and we were able to choose from a huge range of films to watch. Lovely food and good service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Gspeirs74 Thank you for your review regarding your excellent night in The Vine House. We are delighted to read of your experience with us. The Vine House is a great choice for a luxurious, quiet, comfortable stay. We are also pleased to read that you also enjoyed your cinema experience, which is certainly a bonus to add to your trip away. The team have enjoyed reading your kind comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 01328 738777 or email reservations@thehoste.com to book your next break away. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine House or The Hoste in the very near future. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Beth81Herts wrote a review Sep 10
Norwich, United Kingdom13 contributions16 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Railway House not the main hotel (so bear that in mind when reading the review). We since learnt that they are completely refurbishing the railway house from October 2020. The double room was pleasant, overlooking the carpark (not so pleasant), the shower room (no bath) was small and above the shower terribly mouldy, and smelt damp. I certainly wouldn't class it as a luxury stay by any means. I am always surprised at the disappointing tea and coffee facilities in rooms, especially as a luxury hotel, I would expect better coffee, rather than instant sachets...we left them. A suggestion of a little Nespresso machine in each room would make it more luxurious. Breakfast was good, nice full english. Morning coffee was not great, but paletable. I had to wait 20 minutes to receive a coffee in the main hotel/bar whilst waiting for my husband to have his spa treatment, but was hot and good when it arrived. When checking out I fedback my issues and Martin(?) on reception was fantastic, listening and attentive. Some of the best customer service I've received in a long time. Husband's spa treatment was fantastic despite a monumental communication/treatment mix up between husband and beautician, but she managed everything well, and kept all customers happy! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: rooms in the railway house not so great, and try to ask not for a room overlooking the carpark....
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Beth81Herts Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Railway House. We are saddened to read of a few niggles regarding your stay at The Railway House, which resulted in not such a great stay in your room overall. As you have mentioned, The Railway House itself is due a full renovation next month. We do appreciate your feedback and we are sorry that this was not the luxurious stay you were expecting. Your comments have been read by the entire team and your points have been put forward for future development, with regards to coffee machines etc. We are pleased to read that your husband enjoyed his spa treatment. We are also pleased that you received great customer service from Martin, who has enjoyed reading your kind words. We hope that you will return to us in the near future and enjoy our newly refurbished Railway House alternatively, a room at The Hoste or The Vine House. Martin or another member of the team would be delighted to arrange your next stay on the best possible rate. Please contact the team on 01328 738777 or email reservations@thehoste.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Hotel Manager
Read more
$155 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hoste arms hotel burnham market
Hoste Arms
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkBurnham Market
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hoste
Which popular attractions are close to The Hoste?
Nearby attractions include Holkham National Nature Reserve (3.9 miles), Holkham Hall (3.3 miles), and Brancaster Bay (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hoste?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at The Hoste?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hoste?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hoste?
Conveniently located restaurants include Socius, The Crab Hut, and The Duck Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hoste?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Hoste located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Burnham Market.
Are pets allowed at The Hoste?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hoste offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hoste?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hoste?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Holkham Hall (3.3 miles).