We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Was very comfortable here. The chalet is bright and airy, with a "great room" including kitchen facilities. The room is stocked with basic food items like bread, butter, milk, tea coffee, and breakfast bars. It was a great way to start the day on the front porch with my hot tea. The sofa was a sleeper, so the rooms could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamch123
Midlands
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Second week running! Last week we took friends who'd never been and they loved it. This week we realised we needed to get beer brewing so popped over for a JT beer kit and it only seemed polite to have lunch as well. Roast Beef, Yorkshires and all the veg and gravy followed by Bread & Butter Pudding. So utterly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber_Midlands
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in the summer and it was really great. Clean cabins with everything you might need and the bed was SO comfortable. Lovely old fashioned pub too with a fantastic interior. We didn't get chance to eat there but wish we had. There's a lovely walk we found which I'd recommend that starts in the John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kp_peanuts
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2016

This is a very nice pub to visit, just about one mile up the road by the river Trent at Swarkstone. It has a good sized well laid out carpark with gardens and outside seating. Inside it is very clean, in a old country style with polished shining brass ware. We found the staff to be welcoming and obliging. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eric t
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2016

The advantage of this place is that it does one meal well, every day except Monday, and only at lunchtime. Roast beef dinner. It is one of the best around. It is cut from a huge joint. The variation is that you can have large (of course) or small (why?). They had a steak and ale pie on today as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016

I had a beautiful carvery today with friends. The Roast Beef was superb and the staff are so friendly. A shame that they don't serve meals in the evening. If you are in the area I strongly advise you to visit. The desserts are to 'die for'. Beautiful Bread and Butter Pudding and Fruit Crumble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

You really couldn't ask for more for a relaxing short break. Very pretty location, pub on site and 5 mins drive from shops and takeaways if you want it. The lodges are cleans and comfortable and lovely and quite. Can't wait to go back. Lovely staff checked us in. Brilliant welcome pack with butter, bread, cereals, Jams and tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
Sussex, UK
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Stayed at one of the on site cabins for two nights. Price very reasonable and we thought it was a better deal than B&B since it has lots more flexlbility for less. The pub is located in a tiny village in South Derbyshire with no other facilities, so you will need to use your car to get anywhere. Accommodation is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SloeVodka
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights during this year's download festival.Lodges are spot on and great to use as a base camp for the festival. The pub is a cosy traditional style place with plenty of choice. The food was good too. All the staff are helpful and friendly. Will be booking again for next year. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2016

We booked because of the location. What can I say? The location is great. But the owner was one of the rudest people I've ever met. Upon our arrival our sofa bed was broken and he told us that the previous occupants' children had broken it and that we should sleep on a mattress on the floor as it 'wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank rachel7662016
JohnThompsonInn, Owner at The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, responded to this review

Unsurprisingly, our recollection of the events that transpired during your stay with us differ drastically from your written account. You had a booking for two lodges, each for a three night stay commencing Tuesday 31st May 2016. Each lodge had been requested for two adults and two children. However, upon your arrival it was evident that you had been deliberately...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
3.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
116 reviews
3.7 mi away
Breedon Hall
Breedon Hall
#1 of 1 in Breedon on the Hill
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crewe and Harpur
The Crewe and Harpur
#1 of 2 in Swarkestone
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE73 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The John Thompson Inn & Brewery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We only came for Sunday lunch but the chalets looked nice.”
 of 5 bubbles erict695, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“Buy groceries from Sainsbury's in Melbourne, prepare a nice simple meal and enjoy a cosy night in turning the fireplace/heating on!”
 of 5 bubbles bipasad, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
“All of the cabins are fairly equal with regard to location.”
 of 5 bubbles SF007, Aug 30, 2014 | Read review
“Choose cabin number 1 I think!”
 of 5 bubbles T_Konsek, Aug 21, 2014 | Read review
“Cabin is better than a hotel room. Like a little house with all mod cons.”
 of 5 bubbles 698elainef, Jan 9, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question