We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a very nice pub to visit, just about one mile up the road by the river Trent at Swarkstone. It has a good sized well laid out carpark with gardens and outside seating. Inside it is very clean, in a old country style with polished shining brass ware. We found the staff to be welcoming and obliging. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank eric t
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The advantage of this place is that it does one meal well, every day except Monday, and only at lunchtime. Roast beef dinner. It is one of the best around. It is cut from a huge joint. The variation is that you can have large (of course) or small (why?). They had a steak and ale pie on today as... More 

Helpful?
Thank jake1642
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a beautiful carvery today with friends. The Roast Beef was superb and the staff are so friendly. A shame that they don't serve meals in the evening. If you are in the area I strongly advise you to visit. The desserts are to 'die for'. Beautiful Bread and Butter Pudding and Fruit Crumble.

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You really couldn't ask for more for a relaxing short break. Very pretty location, pub on site and 5 mins drive from shops and takeaways if you want it. The lodges are cleans and comfortable and lovely and quite. Can't wait to go back. Lovely staff checked us in. Brilliant welcome pack with butter, bread, cereals, Jams and tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at one of the on site cabins for two nights. Price very reasonable and we thought it was a better deal than B&B since it has lots more flexlbility for less. The pub is located in a tiny village in South Derbyshire with no other facilities, so you will need to use your car to get anywhere. Accommodation is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SloeVodka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights during this year's download festival.Lodges are spot on and great to use as a base camp for the festival. The pub is a cosy traditional style place with plenty of choice. The food was good too. All the staff are helpful and friendly. Will be booking again for next year. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We booked because of the location. What can I say? The location is great. But the owner was one of the rudest people I've ever met. Upon our arrival our sofa bed was broken and he told us that the previous occupants' children had broken it and that we should sleep on a mattress on the floor as it 'wasn't... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank rachel7662016
JohnThompsonInn, Owner at The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, responded to this review

Unsurprisingly, our recollection of the events that transpired during your stay with us differ drastically from your written account. You had a booking for two lodges, each for a three night stay commencing Tuesday 31st May 2016. Each lodge had been requested for two adults and two children. However, upon your arrival it was evident that you had been deliberately... More 

South Hams
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

I went to this pub in Ingleby because it was one of the oldest brew pubs in the UK. The beer was OK but not outstanding The food was absolutely vile. Packet soup and sliced white bread sandwiches. It was like eating something from the 1960's

Helpful?
5 Thank 7barrows
East Midlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

It's many years since I last visited the John Thompson. So I wasn't sure what to expect. But the carvery was excellent. There's a very, and I mean very, generous portion of meat. Beef cooked beautifully still pink in the centre. A small choice of well cooked very tasty vegetables completed an excellent tasting and good tasting value for money... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R32EastMidlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Well where do I start? first time at these lodges .. Welcome pack was amazing.. A full loaf of Warburtons.. Even tho we were only staying for one night...just blown away with the amount we were given..biscuits orange juice milk ect. staff were very welcoming and look forward to a next next stay 😃a massive thumbs up to all that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Notasteisawaste
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.8 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#2 of 2 in Ticknall
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE73 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing