We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights during this year's download festival.Lodges are spot on and great to use as a base camp for the festival. The pub is a cosy traditional style place with plenty of choice. The food was good too. All the staff are helpful and friendly. Will be booking again for next year. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We booked because of the location. What can I say? The location is great. But the owner was one of the rudest people I've ever met. Upon our arrival our sofa bed was broken and he told us that the previous occupants' children had broken it and that we should sleep on a mattress on the floor as it 'wasn't... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank rachel7662016
JohnThompsonInn, Owner at The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, responded to this review

Unsurprisingly, our recollection of the events that transpired during your stay with us differ drastically from your written account. You had a booking for two lodges, each for a three night stay commencing Tuesday 31st May 2016. Each lodge had been requested for two adults and two children. However, upon your arrival it was evident that you had been deliberately... More 

South Hams
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

I went to this pub in Ingleby because it was one of the oldest brew pubs in the UK. The beer was OK but not outstanding The food was absolutely vile. Packet soup and sliced white bread sandwiches. It was like eating something from the 1960's

Helpful?
5 Thank 7barrows
East Midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

It's many years since I last visited the John Thompson. So I wasn't sure what to expect. But the carvery was excellent. There's a very, and I mean very, generous portion of meat. Beef cooked beautifully still pink in the centre. A small choice of well cooked very tasty vegetables completed an excellent tasting and good tasting value for money... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R32EastMidlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Well where do I start? first time at these lodges .. Welcome pack was amazing.. A full loaf of Warburtons.. Even tho we were only staying for one night...just blown away with the amount we were given..biscuits orange juice milk ect. staff were very welcoming and look forward to a next next stay 😃a massive thumbs up to all that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Notasteisawaste
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Visited on a weekday lunchtime. The carvery was excellent, a generous amount of good quality beef and veg (far better than a Toby!) washed down with a pint of their own JTS xxx. I've lived in the area for some years and this was my first visit: it will certainly not be my last!

Helpful?
Thank George M
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

We have stopped off at the John Thompson on numerous ocassions and have always found the sunday lunch to be great value and very tasty. If you have room the home made bread and butter pudding really hits the spot! Staff are friendly and the landlord efficient. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Steve N
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Very cosy and pleasent we really enjoy the scenery and views welcome pack is very informative including take aways and local places of intrest. The only thing stopping us from a 5 star review is the beds desperatly need new matteresses

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant cosy cottage! Nice for a quick get away for the night! Got everything you need, very clean and tidy! The pub has a lovely atmosphere and very helpful if you need anything! Think they should Get hot tubs!! As not many places have them and would be brilliant 😀

Helpful?
Thank emilyaskey95
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2016

We have been here a couple of times now as we live fairly locally and both times the food has been excellent. The carvery plate is overflowing even before you get to the self-serve vegetables and gravy. The Inn has a lovely cosy atmosphere and is obviously very popular. It was even packed on a Tuesday lunchtime. If you like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.8 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE73 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing