We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

George Hotel Glossop

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
George Hotel Glossop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel Glossop
 Click to rate
Reviewed November 25, 2015

This pub/hotel is crying out for a big investment. If you are going for a drink only then it's ok. But if staying the night the rooms are so in need of a refurbishment and the food very average. Lots of other places to stay in Glossop so explore those first !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony q
Denton, Texas
Reviewed July 20, 2015

We absolutely love this hotel! A staff member carried our bags to the room and would not except a tip. I can't remember when we have been treated so well at a hotel. They went out of their way to please us. The food was gorgeous and delicious. We ate dinner in the dining room two nights in a row!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review at The George Hotel Glossop, currently The George Hotel is closed for a refurb and we believe you may have left a review on the wrong tripadvisor site. Kind Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2015

If you want to go back into time this is the place to stay. Decor made stomach turn and owners were like characters from Shameless. Bedding and towels had never seen a bottle of fabric conditioner. Bathroom obviously designed on 70's prison cells. Let me think, any positives??? Oh yes leaving was a great pleasure and the only positive. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Trevor B
TripAdvocate1234, Operations at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review regarding The George, I can see from the information on TripAdvisor that you are a new user / registered on the 18th May. We are the new owners of The George we are extremely interested on how we can improve your experience. We are very aware that previously The George has had some bad...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Stayed here with partner over the easter weekend. No hot water. Reported this twice to owners who fobbed us off saying we had turned the taps towards the wrong direction! When they came up to check they claimed it was boiling and couldn't keep hands under tap any longer. Yet it was barely luke warm! Worthy of a Hollywood Oscar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jrh1978
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, we are aware your issues you raised regarding the hot water. I am really sorry that unfortunately you had the shower controls turn to cold. When we explained that this was case and explained how to operate and demonstrated on how to use the shower, you were not...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

Held a family funeral here and found it so easy to organise with Julie and staff. It was held in separate room which was good and the buffet was really nice and priced well . Thanks to all staff would highly recommend for a family occasion . We have always found the food to be very good and the new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane499580
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel bedrooms are in need of an upgrade, spent two nights 2 adults 3 children and booked 3 rooms. Had to change my room on second night as no hot water!! The other 2 rooms were ok. The hotel has new owners who have only been there for 6 weeks and they have plans for a refurbishment of all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony742
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

stayed here for one night, that was enough. The rooms are really small, really cold and the bathroom has no hot water. Noise from the pub downstairs was terrrible. Breakfast was adequate. You get what you pay for i guess. If you are on a budget or like hostels then stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank craigbKentUk
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The refurbishment is due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2014

We (my friend and I) had booked two single rooms for the weekend. The hotel is ideally located, close to Glossop Station, but is in need of a little love and care! First the positives: friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, good showers. Now for the not so good: my friends room was fine, clean, relatively recently redecorated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SusanneKu
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I...

mendoza
Reviewed September 23, 2014

The carpet in the room was filthy. It looked like it was covered in bombay mix. Which was a nice blast from the past but crunchy carpets are not pleasant. The sheets had definitely not been changed from the previous guests. And the bathroom floor was also sticky and felt dirty. Pretty basic unfriendly welcome when we arrived. Poor included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Astor_Elder
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2014

I have bought a pint in the pub three times and each time I have not been thanked and I have been handed an overflowing glass which I have had to carry dripping to a table. The staff need s training. Otherwise I found the ambience is the best in Glossop. If you stay there make sure you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin268
TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be going through a refurbishment due to start shortly 2015 for the Pub and Hotel. I...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.0 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#4 of 12 in Glossop
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel Glossop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not choose room 5!!”
 of 5 bubbles SusanneKu, Oct 19, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room 1 (double bed) which is near back to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles TheDunsBuns, Oct 2, 2013 | Read review
“There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanP360, Nov 30, 2012 | Read review
“room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!”
 of 5 bubbles NowCousins, Nov 9, 2012 | Read review
“Any room would do!”
 of 5 bubbles martinconroy, Dec 16, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question