We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priest House by the River

Traveler (312)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (18)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in a tranquil and stunning location on the banks of the River Trent, The Priest House's history is a rich one that can be traced back almost 1,000 years. Built around a mill tower with its very own water wheels, this 42 bedroom hotel is perfectly placed for a romantic break, an exclusive conference venue or a picture perfect wedding. We've hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting. Fine dine in our beautiful dining room or relax in our newly renovated and re-named Millstream Bar & Grill where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months. We invite you to come and relax and really feel at home with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Room service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
HOTEL CLASS
953Reviews
11Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 407
  • 273
  • 146
  • 68
  • 59
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It’s not awful in the main hotel but avoid the ‘cottages’. Really poorly maintained and felt like Butlins circa 1978. The bar is fine but didn’t find the hotel reception staff particularly helpful or pleasant. I tried to check in early but was simply told ‘no’ as opposed to
Read more
I remember this being a very prestigious hotel when I worked in Nottingham, however it doesn't give me that same impression now. It's a beautiful priest house building in an idyllic setting besides the River Trent, however the modern extensions rather spoil it - it looks like
Read more
Excellent stay, lovely room & location , great food and breakfast Booked an overnight stay as my Norton was being serviced at local factory Didn’t stay in cottage rooms, so unable to comment on them Definitely recommend if you are staying in the area
Read more
These rooms are apparently due for refurbishment Unfortunately for myself it cost £90 per night with breakfast My sister and husband paid £50 each for a double with breakfast not much bigger than mine. Talk about taxing single people for no fault of our own. Would not visit
Read more
Response from Tredders12, Manager at The Priest House by the River
Responded 2 days ago
Hi I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us here at The priest House Hotel. As with most hotels prices are per room and our cottages are priced cheaper due to the fact they are normal single occupancy. The Cottages are currently under going refurbishment since they are part of the original 1800's Kings Mills buildings and I'm really sorry they were not completed by the time you stayed with us. Should you wish to discuss this in more details please do not hesitate to contact the hotel reception team directly on 01332 810649
Read more
We came for a 60th birthday party and were blown away by the beautiful setting. The hotel rooms were fabulous, but I am writing to commend two very hard working and friendly members of staff. Fran and Luke were so incredibly personable and patient, and really deserve all the
Read more
Previous
Is there a hairdressers nearby?
Hi, sorry I don't know.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are coaches restricted for height when coming under the chain bridge
Sorry don't know that one !!
0 votes
Show all answers
They serve meals in the bar or in the restaurant. The bar is a bit more informal but with nicely set out tables. Not sure when they finish serving but it seemed fairly relaxed so not too early I would think
0 votes
Show all answers
Can our dog stay
the answer to this is no !!! but enjoy your stay
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
PreviousNext
123
"Ask for room in the main hotel body rather than the cottages"
"Beuatiful surroundings, very spacoius rooms, fantastic service and very friendly staff, would highly recommend."
"Perhaps a room in the main hotel"
"Pick a room with a river view!"
"Worth paying extra for the executive suite but all rooms are lovely."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
priest house hotel castle doningtonpriest hotel castle donington
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Priest House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCastle Donington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing