We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lion Hotel

Traveler (62)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (18)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
503Reviews
100Photos
5Q+A
99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 167
  • 161
  • 98
  • 52
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We came in for food we have been before and the food is a normaly very good here but it does seem a little steep for what you get it was half term this week so service was slower than normal but OK over all we had an OK time but that's the key word for this visit just OK nothing
Read more
This hotel represents good value is clean and comfortable with friendly staff . We enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the rear facing bedrooms with a large bed. No complaints as a frequent traveller could find a few small minor improvements but it was pleasant and ideal location
Read more
we booked this hotel for a one night stay for a wedding at shottle hall. From the moment I booked I received a phone call offering me all the information and asking if I wanted any special requirements! I was so overwhelmed-1st class service that iv never had! we wanted early
Read more
Response from N3732HQvictoriac, Public Relations Manager at The Lion Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay at The Lion. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our service 5 star. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Read more
been eating lunch in the lion fair but just lately. no complaints, apart from being asked to pay extra when asking for more veg when a very small plate of provided for three dinners. am sat in the black swan at crich writing this and have been given three times the veg! my wife
Read more
Response from N3732HQvictoriac, Public Relations Manager at The Lion Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review and bringing your disappointment to my attention. I would like to begin by offering my personal apologies that you were charged for extra vegetables, this is something which I will be looking into further. I also apologise that you found our soft drinks to be expensive, unfortunately due to the recent introduction in sugar tax we have had to increase these prices slightly. We hope to see you again soon to demonstrate both the high standards of food and service which we strive to offer to all of our customers
Read more
After being very let down by our other accommodation we had booked in Belper we booked into here on a whim on the same day of arrival. Luckily they had a room available for myself, wife and 16 month old son. Very impressed with our room, clean and a comfortable bed to boot. The
Read more
Response from N3732HQvictoriac, Public Relations Manager at The Lion Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to review us! I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us on a 2 night stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next visiting your relatives
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Shower.
Large tub.
Suite.
Four poster bed.
Double room
PreviousNext
12345
7:30 until 10:00
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a set Sunday lunch
Yes and all the food is very good
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, You will need a taxi to take you to the tram museum, it's about 4-5 miles away. If you visit the Tramway Museum website they will give public transport information regarding bus travel. When are you going to Crich ? We are members of the Museum Society but live 200 miles away. We have visitor free admission tickets and could send them to you at the hotel, Regards Peter
2 votes
Show all answers
The rooms vary in size, the rooms in the old part of the building are huge, I'm not sure how familiar you are with the rooms but the only small one is the single.
0 votes
Show all answers
I didn't see any dogs there but if you look at the peak district online site, it does state 'pet friendly' and well behaved dogs are ok but not to be left unattended. Again I'd phone them to confirm. Not sure how up to date that website is.
1 vote
Show all answers
"we only had lunch so cannot comment on the hotels other facilities"
"Room 20 very small. Rooms at the front very noisy apparently (my friends stayed in one of them)."
"Ask for a room away from the courtyard"
"Our room overlooked an internal courtyard Fine at this time of year, but could be noisy on a hot summer evening"
"Comfortable bed and great breakfast but vast noise from adjacent main road and boom, boom from music in the bar below until very late."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lion hotel belperbest western belper
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBelper
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing