We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Barnoldswick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely feel to the hotel, and secure parking. We enjoyed our stay Friday night and the breakfast was good and quick service. We did have a rather noisy night Saturday due to there being a wedding reception, and the car park was full so we had to use the public car park and pay. We did mention this to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and that issues on the Saturday would not stop you visiting again. I hope that we do welcome you back again soon Kind regards Victoria Marketing Manager More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stopped for lunch on the way to our holiday cottage weeks holiday . I ordered cheese & pickle sandwich with a side of skinny fries , my husband sausage & mash he said his sausages were warmed up from breakfast , my sandwich was fresh but they had forgotten my fries we had to go to the bar &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vfwoody30
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that your recent visit to The Lion was not up to our usual standards. I hope that you do decide to try us again one day Kind regards Victoria Crooks Marketing Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Chose this hotel due to reviews however would not stay again. The room is in dire need of upgrade, with holes all over the wall, poor quality of bedding very poor. The bathroom smells of smoke due to poor ventilation and the noise from the courtyard is very high and continues into the early hours of the morning. Would not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TiberTaor
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback as it allows us to improve the service that we provide. I am extremely sorry that you did not find your recent stay at The Lion up to standard. I can confirm that our rooms are due to be updated in the coming months, I hope that this will alleviate some of... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel great service/ food from breakfast to the wide range of bar meals on offer , we had a room to rear of hotel which was very warm with sun on it all day . Travelled into Matlock bath and Cromford on train which is 75 metres across rear car park and cheap to use. Only down point was... More 

Helpful?
Thank carney34
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Lion and found that local facilities suited your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards Victoria Crooks Marketing Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here with my sister at the end of August to try out the new garden area in the sun which is really lovely and because of the great reviews - which I now feel are a tad over rated. The food and service were disappointing. The place was very busy mid week with big OAP roast dinner lunches... More 

Helpful?
Thank derbygirl1985
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that your recent visit to The Lion was not up to expectations. JC Hotels are a family business and we have tried to modernise The Lion in conjunction with what the building used to be and in fact still is. We are very busy which tells its own story, however I apologise once again that we did... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I begin. The place has been transformed over past couple of years. Stylish quality interior and now new garden too. The food is excellent and the service is more than good. The courtyard offers live music weather permitting but space to move inside available. Worth checking out for both food and drink.

Helpful?
Thank Gloriahoney
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your recent visit to The Lion and we hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards Victoria Marketing Manager More 

derbys
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our friends got married at shuttle hall so we decided to stay here as advised, about 10 minute drive away! Room was dated and our room backed onto the courtyard which was quite noisy but not a problem! Bathroom was clean but again very dated and the shower was pathetic I'm afraid! We had room number 7. Reception staff nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank mosschops071
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We really do appreciate customer feedback as it allows us to improve our services for fellow travellers. Our rooms are soon going to be refurbished to a high standard. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to The Lion soon Kind regards Victoria Marketing Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous food food and service you couldn't fault. The only small downside was the starter did not need bread as fresh rolls was served before. The drinks were served at the correct temperature and the roasts were mighty fine exceptional value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Jj B
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Lion and we hope to welcome you back again soon Kind regards Victoria Crooks Marketing Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food Options: Pizza, a la Carte, fish and seafood . We choose the seafood and pre-ordered one week in advance what we wanted to eat. Chef ordered halibut, tiger king prawns and giant Scottish scallops and dressed crab delivered the morning of our booking. He freshly prepared various dips for each item including the best lobster bisque I've ever eaten... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterpan187048
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5* review. I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Victoria Crooks Marketing Manager More 

England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Would highly recommend the Lion, probably the best food on offer in Belper at the moment. The refurbishment of previous years makes it a nice place to eat, with the courtyard and garden on offer a bonus. I would have given five stars however the waitress that took our order got it wrong and failed to deliver our drinks, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjc978
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologise about the mistakes made by the waitress with your order and am pleased that this has not impacted your overall image of the Lion. We hope to see you back soon Kind regards Victoria Crooks Marketing Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
1.9 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Derbyshire Hotel
The Derbyshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
7.2 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Price Range: $75 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Belper
Best Western Belper
The Lion Hotel Belper, Derbyshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay