We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makeney Hall Hotel

Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
View Deal
SAVE $10
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 2 hotels in Belper
Makeney Hall is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only 8 miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. You’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. As well as stunning scenery and walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
13Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Claire wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
We booked the room for a meeting. On arrival, Wilma assessed our needs and offered use of alternative rooms. The decor in each was itterly splendid, the cleanliness was exceptional and the hotel was fully covid compliant. I only wished we were staying the night, as we were fortunate enough to see the beautiful rooms and suites. The setting and the grounds were lovely. Wilma's wonderful customer service was the cherry on the cake. I wish more hotels embodied this spirit. A welcome change from the usual commercial chain enterprises.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Response from Wilma Gallagher, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel
Responded Nov 30, 2020
Dear happycampers100 Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments regarding your event at Makeney, it was a pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel and I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Wilma
Read more
Pamela K wrote a review Nov 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom26 contributions15 helpful votes
On arrival it looked like a typical old hotel. We were greeted by a nice lady on reception who asked us to make use of the many sanitising stations throughout the hotel, there was only one in the reception. The initial view of our room was fine until we looked further. There were cobwebs and thick mildew on the window frames, thick dust on some of the skirting boards and the bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain. With the current pandemic I would've expected it to be spotless. The staff in the main, were friendly and helpful and the good was good
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Wilma Gallagher, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear Pamela, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am so sorry to read that you missed the sanitising units as you walked around the hotel. There is one by the reception area which you quite rightly pointed out. There is also one as you enter the lift which you would have used to get to your room, there is another on the entrance to the bar/restaurant and as you enter the restaurant there is a portable one on the table so to get to the restaurant for either breakfast or dinner from reception you would have pass 3 fixed units and 1 portable bottle. All of which have signs above them indicating that they hold hand sanitiser. However I can only apologise for this and also if your room was not up to standard. i can assure you that I will speak to housekeeping regarding this. Once again thank you for your comments. regards Wilma
Read more
peely007 wrote a review Oct 2020
United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
Just back from a very nice break at Makeney. The food was included in the deal which made this excellent value for money. The service was good albeit skeleton staff due to Covid. Close to Belper which is a lovely olde town. There's a few nice pubs nearby too. I'd return again especially if the Tzoo deal is available.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Wilma Gallagher, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear Segga 4029 Thank you for your comments they are appreciated. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards wilma
Read more
Julian Rimmer wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
We had a two night break and paid to ne upgraded to the very nice bridal suite. This was clean and comfortable with a gorgeous roll-top bath. As an ex- restaurant reviewer, I found the whole dining experience slightly bewildering. The menu seemed a little boring, but when the meal arrived it was actually better than we anticipated. I feel the chef had it in him to be more imaginative. The tables were completely bare and very well spaced. Surely some candles or flowers wouldn't have been too much trouble, especially as the room itself had loads of character. We ordered our starters and then waited for ever for the dishes to arrive. A small basket of rolls would have diverted our attention from the wait. Same with the drinks - perhaps a small jug of water? The poor waiter was out of his depth and it never occurred to him that he could bring several things out at once instead of endlessly walking backwards and forwards to the kitchens with a packet of salt or a knife and fork. Breakfast was fairly similar and involved long waits. - Avoid the coffee, which is the worst that I've had in the UK. The breakfast however, was well cooked. So, we would come back for the room, and the prices, but not for the service or the restaurant. Sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Wilma Gallagher, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear PJRJim Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I could not agree more on how our restaurant could look so much better if we could place items on the tables However the current COVID restrictions indicate that all tables must be bare and free of anything and only placed when guests are seated. We cannot have anything on the table that cannot be sanitised or disposed or after us. i am sure you will appreciate it would be difficult to do that with flowers or candles. we long for the time when we an get back to normal. We have great compliments about our food, and on the menu there is a bread basket for purchase if you feel the need to have this prior to your meal arriving. Also on the menu is addition side dishes to compliment your meal should you wish to purchase them. The meal comes with potatoes and vegetables, however there is always more if you wish. Kind regards Wilma
Read more
dj_vhughes wrote a review Oct 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom192 contributions107 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay here and it was extremely good value. We opted to upgrade to a superior room and were delighted with the views. We also enjoyed a short walk in the gardens. The hotel is a little tired in places but I particularly liked the deer themed drawing room. The restaurant is in a large conservatory and seemed a bit unwelcoming at night. However it was wonderful at breakfast. We felt like we were in the middle of the garden. The windows were so large and clear, it felt like the views were in techicolour!! We were pleasantly surprised with the food. There was a set evening menu with 3/4 choices for each course. For the main it was salmon, chicken, pork and veggie. Nothing particularly exciting. However the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were helpful and we felt safe. A minor annoyance was that breakfast finished at 8.30 and because of COVID only earlier slots were available. Too early for us!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Wilma Gallagher, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Dear dj_hughes, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our food. Unfortunately with everything in the current climate we have to allocate times for anything to do with food serving and we must have restricted hours. kind regards Wilma
Read more
$62 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
makeney hall derby, hotel makeney hall, makeney hall hotel
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBelper
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Makeney Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Makeney Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Heage Windmill (4.3 miles), Darley Park (4.2 miles), and Strutt's North Mill (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Makeney Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Makeney Hall Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Makeney Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Makeney Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Makeney Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beaurepaire Patisserie, Armando’s Restaurant, and Dolce Salato Italian Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Makeney Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Makeney Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Makeney Hall Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heage Windmill (4.3 miles) and Kedleston Hall (2.8 miles).
Does Makeney Hall Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Makeney Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.