We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbreak Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melbreak Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just brilliant. Staff, rooms, food and price all excellent. If you are looking for a convenient place with easy access to the Lake District, you can't go far wrong. The rooms have been recently modernised and were a big hit. Would definitely come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank bigdbg91
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very kind review and so glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay; we are glad we helped make your anniversary a memorable one. Kind regards Caroline Hughes More 

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel Friday to Monday. The rooms were spotless, we stayed in a superior room which was modern & well equipped. The restaurant & food were lovely & reasonably priced. The staff were outstanding & couldn't do enough for you. 10/10 for everything.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen175
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aileen Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the hotel and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am especially glad to hear you enjoyed the comforts of one of our newly refurbished rooms - they are proving to be quite a hit with our guests ( and I must admit, we... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i recently had the pleasure of staying at The Melbreak through work commitments.I stayed here midweek monday to thursday for about 3 moths,all rooms were clean and beds comfortable and cleaned daily.I ate in the restaurant each night and all meals where delicious and plentiful with different specials each week,also the bar had a good selection of draught and bottled... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay at the hotel and glad to hear that you were made to feel welcome during your prolonged stay. I will pass on your words of appreciation to Judith and Alison, who will be pleased to hear that their attention to detail and concern for the general comfort and... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed from Thursday to Sunday and found the staff to be extremely friendly. My husband's newspapers were waiting for him at breakfast each morning. The food was excellent, particularly the fish pie. The hotel is in a central location with easy access to lakes and coast. We had a room with a huge bed. The room was spacious, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you very much for your lovely review and pleased to hear, that on the whole, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being of service again in the future? Regards Caroline More 

Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here from Friday the 18th July to 21st July, bed and breakfast. Got a great deal, two nights for the price of three when paid on booking. Had two delicious evening meals and an excellent Sunday lunch. Breakfast is just bang on the money. Right amount, variety and freshly made to order. My 85 year old mother can be... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your extremely generous review following your recent stay at the hotel and extremely pleased to hear that we managed to cater for all of your family's needs - not an easy thing to do if they are anything like mine! I will pass on your comments to all of our staff; it is always nice... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Needed a few days away so decided to go back to the Lake District. Stayed here fir the second time and we were not disappointed on either visit. Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, fantastic food, great rooms (our first visit last year was room 20 and this time room 14). Our room was a super king with plenty of room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy and Renno Thank you for your very generous review following your recent stay at the hotel and so glad to hear that the hotel continues to live up to your expectations. What my husband also omitted to tell you was that in addition to room 11, we are adding another suite to our portfolio which should also be... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

I went here with my parents for a lovely afternoon tea. Scones , Macaroons, strawberry tarts & of course the sandwiches - Beef & Mustard, Salmon, Ham ,Egg Mayo + a gorgeous lemon mousse to finish it off & all for under £19! Not too shabby!! PLUS if you can't eat it all ( & it is quite possible that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pippa R
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philly 37 Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent afternoon tea and delighted to hear you enjoyed the spread. Thank you also for the recommendation and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Caroline More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst in the area, pleasant staff (night Porter was particularly good), delicious food, clean rooms, good breakfast, good parking, good value for money. A little bit out of town but not necessarily a bad thing. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay and glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I am especially delighted to hear that the customer service you received was good; I will pass this on to all as it is always nice to hear that their hard work is appreciated. Look forward... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Not bad Sunday lunch, could have been much better. Service was a little slow but that is quite normal for Sunday lunch times. Veg was boiled and of poor quality and cold. the meat was not the best cuts they could have provided. May visit again when they turn the place around. Lovely restaurant surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank NatalienKevin
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diner Thank you for your review following your recent Sunday lunch and sorry to hear that all was not to your satisfaction. Without knowing whether you arrived with a lot of other groups of diners or on your own, it is hard for me to comment on the speed of service; however, if the service was exceptionally slow I... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was ok, food was really nice home cooked food however the rooms were in need of an update. All staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The beds were too soft and in need of new mattresses. It's also close to the bypass but the sound wasn't too noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Becky M
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Becky Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. Please be assured we are committed to an extensive programme of renovations and can only apologise that you were allocated one of those rooms that have yet to be updated. I can only assume you must have visited at a busy time as we generally try... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.6 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
9.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Melbreak Country House Hotel

Address: Winscales Road, Workington CA14 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $86 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbreak Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbreak Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbreak Country House Hotel Workington, England
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Workington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#5 Business Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay