We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Melbreak Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melbreak Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed there and numerous occasions and once for two weeks and I never had a problem. Nothing was ever too much trouble and all the staff were friendly and always up for a chat. The food was great and always came with enough so was a great value for money. I would definitely stay again. The hotel is also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas Thank you for your lovely review following recent visits to the hotel and especially glad to hear that all of the staff made you feel welcome. It is always nice for them to hear that their efforts are appreciated and I will pass on your kind words. I am particularly pleased to hear you had the chance to... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my husband and elderly father-in-law. We received a warm welcome and although the corridors didn't promise much, our rooms were well - presented and clean. We had drinks and dinner in the evening and the food was very tasty; plenty of the dishes were homemade and the vegetables were served al dente so had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty0172
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the hotel and especially glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Please be assured that along with many of the bedrooms, the corridors are also earmarked for refurbishment and, when complete, should prove much more welcoming. Unfortunately, due to the floods last winter, tradesmen... More 

Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel at the last minute for a weekend break really impressed when we arrived.Friendly receptionist and bar staff nothing too much trouble.We had booked the newly decorated executive room which was nice but was a bit smaller than we thought so asked to move to the suite which was no bother,the suite was fabulous.The hotel is on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to the hotel and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of renovating some more rooms, one of which is to be another suite (hopefully to be completed around mid October) and which will be slightly more luxurious than the one... More 

CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
489 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have to say how impressed we are regarding the fabulous upgrade the hotel is having. This hotel is quite busy so when booking make sure you ask for one of the upgraded rooms, although the loverly lady who owners the place has continued with the work so soon all rooms will offer the same personal touch. Living in the area... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MULCASTER2
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mulcaster2 Thank you very much for your extremely complimentary review and delighted to hear that you like the improvements being carried out at the hotel. Thankfully, like you, the majority of our guests are also of the same opinion and are complimentary towards the makeover, choice and quality of food and beverages on offer and the service provided by... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been for Sunday lunch at the melbreak hotel ... They serve all day ... Got to say it was lovely, and homemade Yorkshire pud! Probably about the best local Sunday lunch I've had, and not a bad price either. Friendly efficient staff as well... I'd highly recommend it!! We'll definitely be back. I often call in for lunch if I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith R
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith Thank you very much for your kind review and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch; and yes, the Yorkshire puddings are most definitely home-made. I am glad to hear that you will return - perhaps to try our a la carte menu, which has recently been revised, or even our Christmas menu which should be... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during my first visit to Cumbria, and must say I couldn't recommend it more. The rooms were a nice size and newly refurbished with plenty of hot running water and a comfortable bed. Great value for money. I also found the food very tasty, a great selection on the menu and at reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess A
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jess A Thank you very much for your complimentary review following your recent stay - so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to all departments who will be pleased to hear from you as you made such an impression on everyone during your stay. Hope we will see you again soon; it... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ordered from the Sunday lunch menu, roast beef was very tough and the roast potatoes were obviously left over and reheated. Service also was very poor, this place seems to be run by young inexperience staff with no supervision.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ossie_8
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diner Thank you very much for your review and obviously very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. In response to your comment regarding the beef and potatoes, I wonder if you brought this matter to the attention of your server, as if you had she/he would most certainly have returned your meal to the kitchen... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for the happy hour meal. Husband had the pie which was gone in four bites, I had the scampi and received five pieces of scampi. The coke I ordered was £2.55 for a glass. Not value for money that is why the place was empty.

Helpful?
1 Thank brian c
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit to the hotel and obviously very sorry to hear about your experience. I have made investigations as to why you only received such small portions and I do believe there has been a misunderstanding on this matter which, I am pleased to report, has now been rectified.... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Going to be honest, we really weren't impressed at all. Stayed with my other half who travelled 350 miles to be here and we both felt very let down. Upon opening the door, the room smelled old and of foist/damp which didn't make the best first impression. The door also was not very secure as the inner latch to lock... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackdiamond10
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel and very sorry and disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. First let me address some of the issues you see as faults and hopefully shed some light on what is quite a simple mistake to make. I believe the holes in the duvet... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As not great sleepers, we booked the melbreak entirely based on the advertisement stating they had a super King bed in the room we'd paid extra for. On arrival-this was a lie. When confronting reception we were told it was a super King bed and perhaps our bed at home was a queen!! Needless to say we had an awful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy L
Caroline H, Manager at Melbreak Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy Thank you for your review following your recent stay and obviously very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to apologise for the confusion over the size of the bed and ask for your forgiveness over our error. This was not intentional and we have amended the room description on all online... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.6 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
2.6 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Melbreak Country House Hotel

Address: Winscales Road, Workington CA14 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $92 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbreak Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melbreak Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbreak Country House Hotel Workington, England
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Workington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#5 Business Hotel in Workington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay