We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Cumbria, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to stay at the Waverley Hotel due to its central location; only 5 minutes walk from the centre. We took a ‘Superior Room’, which would be best described as ‘cosy’. It was clean and the essentials were there, plenty of cupboard space and the bed was very comfortable; it was just that the room was a bit small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Coyote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think it's fair to say this is an old hotel with old furnishings. I would guess this hasn't much in the way of investment for many years. Some of the cupboards in my room were held closed with blue-tac. Most of the clientele appeared to be in the building trade so I guess this hotel meets their demands. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The rooms were lovely and the staff could not do enough. We had my brothers son with us and the staff basically adopted him!. The food was very good and they made special allowance for children.Would .recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robin m
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here over the last three weeks due to work. The hotel is in an excellent location for the bus station, train station and the docks and is well used by contractors working in the local area. It would be equally useful if visiting the Lake District and surrounding areas without having to pay premium prices. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
Hazel Grove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

One of our stops riding from Ravenglas to Whitley Bay. Although from the outside its not impressive we were warmly greeted. The twin room was clean and reasonably spacious with a good shower. The evening meal selection was good and the portions were generous, with good bar facilities. The breakfast gave a good self service selection. In conclusion a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidann8
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Reception extremely friendly. Room 22 reasonable size with twins beds, desk, very small television and good sized en suite. Dressing gowns, tea/coffee and bathroom stuff all supplied Meal in bar, very average. Had the meat and potato pie but obviously there was a shortage of meat!! Shortcrust pastry soft and doughy, carrots and peas ok, chips nice crunchy outside and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave v
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Feels like a local pub downstairs in the bar. No bad thing. Rooms were a good size with en suite shower and small TV with easy access to Workington town centre. Free parking on the road outside the hotel at the weekend but I think there are restrictions during the week. The lady on reception was very nice and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian85361
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and had a great stay. We look forward to any future visits you may have with us.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was worn and bathroom looked distinctly moldy. Wedding party when we arrived and we were put over the bar (which was at least the opposite side to the disco) but the double glazing was so poor we could hear all of the conversations between the many smokers outside. Very limited number of sockets in the room and unsupportive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hull_daniel
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we try to minimise any disturbance when events are being held and apologise we did not succeed on this occasion. We regret the standard room booked was not satisfactory we only have 2 of these still available as we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to superior rooms.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for not a bad little town. Short drive away from Keswick which is really beautiful and some good activities on offer. There's a local tesco store along with a few shops around but not much to do in Workington to be honest. It is ok for a couple but for a family I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naji2016
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Workington a good base to explore our wonderful Lake District.

Liverpool
Reviewed September 4, 2016

This hotel has a special place in my life as a very young child and the location was perfect for my business trip. However, I'm older, wiser and wealthier now and will stay in a B&B elsewhere next time. The hotel has "character", but this part of Workington has seen better times and the hotel reflects this. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wirralians
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
226 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
20 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $75 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles davev218, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“If you are not young or super fit and active ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Silvertraveler55, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
“Phone them direct”
 of 5 bubbles 720edr, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“Nice room at the top”
 of 5 bubbles carolineahs, Jun 3, 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else, this hotel will only disappoint”
 of 5 bubbles Myopinion012014, Mar 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay