We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenfield House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glenfield House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 very relaxed,comfortable nights,we were given a warm friendly greeting and shown to our room which was fresh and airy with lovely bedding, Kathy gave us the information needed for the shower and internet etc. We were offered a choice of breakfast food and also a time to suit us,it was always ready and of good... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandrapeters2016
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent two nights at this guest house. Owner, Kathy, gave us a very pleasant greeting and was friendly and warm throughout our stay. Very chatty and helpful giving advice on local amenities etc. Room was very pleasantly decorated and very clean - no mould in bathroom, no dust in room. Bed was firm but comfortable giving... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidI8776TB
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your wife to Glenfield House, David, and thank you for your very kind review. We take great pride in achieving as high a level of service and cleanliness as possible, and I and my staff are delighted to read your favourable comments. I do hope you will stay with us again when... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

i stayed here for one night with my husband we were warmly greeted by kathy the owner. We were shown to our room and advised on how to work showerand the wifi code etc, there were plenty of facilities for tea and coffee, hot chocolate and even shortbread biscuits a very nice touch. The bedroom was immaculately clean and bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle j
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

I am so glad you and your husband enjoyed your brief stay at Glenfield, Michelle. I and my lovely staff very much enjoyed meeting you both, and your comments acknowledging the hard work we put in to ensure we attain the highest standards in cleanliness, food quality and service are very much appreciated. I do hope you will return soon... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome by both Kathy and her gorgeous dog greeted us. We certainly couldn't ask for anywhere better. We had a really comfortable night and very tasty breakfast. Kathy gave us suggestions for our evening meal and the place we chose didn't disappoint. Parking was easy across the road at The Chase hotel and the walk down to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

Thank you Tracey for your very kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and for my part it was a pleasure to welcome such lovely, appreciative guests. I do hope you will stay with me again if you return to the area, to see the continued progress on this guest house's refurbishments. My dog, Lily, also sends her... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

On arrival I was met by Kathy who gave me a very warm welcome advised me on places to eat and visit while on my stay. My room was beautiful and newly decorated which was lovely and welcoming , after a comfortable nights sleep I was greeted by fresh fruit, yogurts and a full English breakfast which was lovely. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola I
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay Nicola. I and my staff pride ourselves on providing a friendly service, and very much enjoyed meeting you. We do hope you will stay again when you are next in Whitehaven. The refurbishments are ongoing and I am delighted you loved the room. I encourage guests to book with me direct, preferably... More 

Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

My sister in law stayed here,by the time we got to her room which was an attic room up numerous flights of stairs ,neither of us were well enoughto do this ,very small roof light,no towels on the first night and no way of communicating with anyone no answer at her door and answering machine on both phones, Guest house... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruth1742
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

Your review is much appreciated but what a pity your sister in law couldn't write her own review! She certainly seemed very satisfied upon checking out, so I am a little surprised by your comments, especially as you did not actually stay here!! The missing towels were a regrettable oversight, but were rectified by being left outside the bedroom, as... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this place for 2 nights, payed £70 for each night and didn't enjoy being there at all. Breakfast was awful and poor, my towels have not been changed and finally check out time is 11 a.m. but I was literally kicked out at 10:30. When I came to return the keys and 2 times said "Good buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia I
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

This is a fictitious review. No such person stayed at Glenfield House. We are well aware of the actual person who stayed at this guesthouse, because a complaint was made by us to the establishment who ACTUALLY paid the bill, about her rude and arrogant behaviour towards my staff. The person in question ate every morsel of breakfast on BOTH... More 

UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Glenfield house for one night. On arrival We were met by Cathy who gave us a very warm welcome and even advised us on the best places to eat. Our room was a triple and large enough for three adults. Breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked for us.all staff were cheerful and friendly. We will stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dacuk
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. I always encourage guests to book direct with me so that I can pass on some of the savings made. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Glenfield and in particular, your visit to the historic town of Whitehaven, as I recall you were endeavouring to trace your ancestry. It... More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Very warm welcome from our host Kathy. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast, set our team up for their coat to coast charity bike ride. Kathy was very helpful with secure storage overnight for the bikes. Short walk into the town center.

Helpful?
Thank angela10099
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

What a pleasure to welcome such a lovely group of ladies. I am so glad you enjoyed staying at Glenfield House and I do hope your coast to coast bike ride was a great success. I am delighted you booked direct with me, so that I could pass on some of the savings and give you discount off the room... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Glenfield house was such a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and clean to a very high standard. Kathy and her gorgeous dog were so welcoming and accommodating for all of my needs. As someone that travels and stays in various hotels across the country, it was very refreshing to stay in this beautiful open-hearted home.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_Gale90
Kathy K, Owner at Glenfield House, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed Kathryn for your very positive review. I am sure Lily - who after all, is the Chief Entertainment Officer - enjoyed meeting you as much as I did. It is always a pleasure to welcome such appreciative guests and it's nice to know the hard work put into refurbishing this guesthouse is starting to pay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An elegant and imposing three-storey Victorian house set in a conservation area within a few minutes' walk of Whitehaven harbour, marina and town. The guest-house has been under new ownership since early 2015 and is undergoing extensive and ongoing refurbishment and re-design, with the aim of providing stylish, comfortable and homely accommodation. All bedrooms are en-suite providing bed and breakfast to 4 star quality. Lovely home cooked evening meals are available on a pre-booked basis. Outside, a pretty terraced garden and patio to the rear of the house enables guests to enjoy warmer weather. Glenfield House offers a friendly welcome to business guests, families and cyclists with amenities including free wi-fi, free off-site parking (available by arrangement) and secure cycle storage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenfield House

Address: Glenfield Back Corkickle, Whitehaven CA28 7TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Price Range: $101 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenfield House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Glenfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay