We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tivoli Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of Tivoli Guest House
 Click to rate
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Myself and my colleague are building surveyors and stayed here on business for three nights, great hosts, very friendly atmosphere, classic Georgian building with a first class example of a period spiral staircase spanning three storeys. Rooms were comfortable and warm, spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was very good too, will definately stay again if we...

Thank martin73923
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week at a time, four or five times over the last year. Lovely welcome without fail. The rooms are immaculate, warm and very well equipped. Incredible value for money and a huge selection of breakfast items. Perfect location for nearby Albion Square offices (2 minute walk) and the rest of the town centre. At such great...

Thank Johnooooo
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I stayed at the Tivoli Guest House as this was a pre-arranged accommodation for a two week stay over work booking. I arrived on the Sunday night and Maureen told me where to park and filled out a Council-issued parking permit. The first thing that went wrong was that the bathroom broke within two days of my arrival and had...

Thank adamkerrigan
andrew b, Owner at Tivoli Guest House, responded to this review

We regret that your stay at the Tivoli was not to your satisfaction but we strongly resent the remarks you have made and you are mistaken on many of the issues you have raised. Firstly the toilet that you say was broken has a macerator unit and there is a sign to warn customers not to flush anything down the...

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

First time stay for the Isle of Man Balmoral trip - lovely old sea captains house with curved staircase - Hosts Maureen and Andy friendly and welcoming Nice cooked breakfast, pleasant room with a fresh feel - Whitehaven interesting old town with lots of history We'll be back ! David and Jean

Thank David C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2016

I can't recommend Tivoli enough. The staff were all so friendly, the rooms spotless and the breakfast was cracking. The bed in my room was very comfy- I slept like a log. Next time I'm in town I'll definately stay here again, thank you.

Thank lyonsinlondon
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Very deceiving house, beautiful conversion of old Sea Captains house into a guest house. Friendly hosts, great rooms, spotless ensuite. Secure lock up for cycles so ideal for Hadrian's Wall tour. Excellent breakfast. Thanks again

Thank BikerBob18
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night on 23rd april. Its just like home. Arrived about 2.30 in the afternoon and was welcomed by the lady who owns it, she is so polite and very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The room we stayed in was very nice and clean with a en suite. There is tea and coffee...

1Thank susan j
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2015

Absolutely fabulous! What a little gem. Maureen's Victorian home is spotless, rooms contempory, I hear the breakfasts are lovely too although I was leaving too early to partake. Only down side was I had to walk to the bottom of a fairly long rd (with Maureen) and park in the rd to the left. Maureen gave me a parking disc...

Thank Working A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 13, 2015

The outside of the building is very deceiving as it opens into a beautiful house.Very clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, but too early for me at 8 am .They cater for a lot of the workers in the area. Wifi was quick. I was in room 3 and I could not open the curtains as it was opposite the...

Thank christine b
Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at this place two or three years ago and today's is as good as it was before. Really clean, landlord really friendly. Rooms with enough space and nicely furnished. The only downside is that breakfast is too early but it is really good (it was last time so, will update if otherwise tomorrow morning). Facilities are great and...

Thank LuisBricksoul
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
0.5 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 14 in Whitehaven
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Whitehaven
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehaven
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmine House Bed & Breakfast (Cumbria)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Tivoli Guest House

Address: 156 Queen Street, Whitehaven CA28 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tivoli Guest House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tivoli Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The range of the wifi gets strained on the 3rd floor, but everywhere else it is fine.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyWCarr, Dec 23, 2014 | Read review
“the rooms we had were good,it is a three storey building some there is some stair climbing.”
 of 5 bubbles vooducure, Jun 24, 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question