We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Lonsdale House Hotel

11 Daltongate, Ulverston LA12 7BD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lonsdale House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the hotel last month. The hotel is very tired and in need of a full refurbishment. In the upper rooms there is no water pressure and in the room I stayed in there was no water at all for a shower or wash, this was also the case for some of my colleagues. We ended up moving out as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
Jessey B, Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Gary, Thank you for your recent feedback. Please let me apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. The property itself, an historic town house, has struggled previously to maintain a strong pressure on the top floor when the hotel is full. However, as a direct result of your feedback and external issues from our water supplier we... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on Saturday.. paying £104 for 1 night through Booking.com. The rooms are in dire need of updating - the sheets, wallpaper and carpets need replaced urgently and everything else needs a thorough clean. However the main issue was the fact there was no water ... At all. The incredibly rude and downright insulting staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank elliejenkins1006
Jessey B, Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Jenkins Our customer guest experience is so very important to us and in this vain i am very disappointed that even after corresponding with us directly after your stay you have decided to open up an online tripadvisor account and maliciously spread assertions that simply are not true. The hotel is most certainly open for business and whilst for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ulverston hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights for a family wedding. Big rooms suitable. The staff were very friendly and did lots of things to make our stay pleasant. Also a great full cooked breakfast served at the table - none of this Buffett make it your self nonsense!

Helpful?
Thank James M
blackpool
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

12 of us stayed here for a friends birthday weekend. The garden area is lovely to sit n chill and have a few drinks, the bar was closed so we took our own. Rooms were nice and clean, a couple of rooms on the top floor had problems getting hot water and fast running water. Other rooms showers were fine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank claireBlackpool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Stayed here for business not so long ago and there were a few problems, which I'll get to. Firstly, the staff and owners at the hotel are friendly, polite and couldn't do any more to help. Absolutely fantastic. They even opened breakfast early especially for myself and my colleagues, as we had to be at site early every day. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

I recently stayed at Lonsdale House Hotel visiting Ulverston. I was given a spacious room on a ground floor. I was really happy in the beginning, but after a while I changed my mind. I could hear the person walking in the room above me. WiFi in hotel was coming and going. The water pressure in shower was low and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulina2703
Castle Donington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Stayed here again recently and will continue to stay again and again and again when I can, when travelling with work. It's a lovely hotel with staff that really are the heartbeat and soul of the place. Every time you visit, they take the time to talk to you and make you feel at home. The staff are to be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rob W
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

I had previously tried to book in as a resident at this hotel as I was scheduled to meet clients there over a three day period but Booking.com said the hotel was full. I arrived for my first meeting on the Monday morning and was told that only residents could meet people there. I explained that my clients'business had organised... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ChampagneLiverpool
Jessey B, Owner at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this review

ChampayneLiverpool, As the manager of the hotel who spoke to you on your arrival, I am concerned as to why you would construct a review of this nature. What you neglect to say, is that the hotel was indeed fully booked and that is why booking.com was stating (correctly) that we were full and this was explained to you, which... More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Top floor room overlooking council car park but also with pretty hill views beyond.It was noisy first thing and most of day due to roadworks beginning early in side road next to car park,like just after 6am. I found staff friendly and attentive and carried my luggage up to my room without asking whilst i was out when room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngGen
Castle Donington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Stayed here on business recently for 2 nights and really enjoyed my stay. No restaurant but breakfast was superb - 10/10. Absolutely fantastic. Had a couple of lovely nights here and would recommend to anyone staying in Ulverston. Staff lovely too. Parking is free too in the car park between 18:00 and 08:00.

Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
1.7 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Foot Hotel
Hill Foot Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 14 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Lonsdale House Hotel

Address: 11 Daltongate, Ulverston LA12 7BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Price Range: $133 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Lonsdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel Ulverston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay