We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

.................... a pub with no fresh lime and lemonade !! Having had terrible experiences previously we only stopped by for a pint during a walking day. What a disaster; apart from waiting what seemed an eternity for a pint with no one at the bar and with 2 members of untrained staff on duty (8 mins actually) we ordered our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
RichardSk49, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have had two bad experiences in the two times you have been to us in three years, but it seems your last visit coincided with a problem with the soda machine which had just failed for only the second time in eleven years and being a weekend the engineers response is slower than normal, (... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on a Saturday evening, really busy and full but staff were lovely and accommodated myself and the dog. Food was really good, recommend the Cumberland sausage and onion gravy with mustard mash! The staff informed us that there would be approx 20 min on food, but took less time then that. Nicely priced, look forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank bramleyapp
basingstoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice place. Almost like a gothic castle with its centre staircase. Food was fine. Rooms a bit dated but functional. It's okay, after all your not going to live there. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Friendly pub who accommodated our large group of family and friends. We have 3 children with us needing quick supplies of food post walk. Lovely calm service nice food and pleasant atmosphere. The pub was promoting a special deal in Jan/Feb - we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank TSP49
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with friends after a dog walk. No problem bringing the dogs in the pub. Food excellent, steak & ale pie, fish & chips were consumed. Will definitely visit again. Staff friendly. Beautiful village location, overlooking a gorgeous church with rose arbours in the grounds

Helpful?
Thank suekennedy64
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Found the Wheatsheaf pub after a rainy walk, dog friendly and the food was really nice, we had fish and chips and the gammon which was top drawer, staff very accommodating and friendly definitely recommended to anyone who wants a nice pub with good food

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We driving south from the Lake District and were looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We were drawn into Beetham by the sign for The Wheatsheaf on the main road (A6) - what would have been the main west coast route from London before the building of the M6. Anyway, Beetham is pretty small village, with an attractive church... More 

Helpful?
Thank TackleTart
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Thought would try this again for lunch with a friend, we chose the £7.95 offer for 2 courses. The location is idyllic and inside welcoming and very olde worlde. Our service was good. There is unfortunately no garden to sit in to eat outside. However, our food was very disappointing, tasted OK, but lacked imagination in the presentation. How boring... More 

Helpful?
Thank daisyd505
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you for your generally positive comments, we do try to offer value for money and I believe that two courses for less than £8 is extremely good value. I am sorry there is no outside seating for eating, clearly an oversight by the planners back in 1600! With respect to the Ploughman's Lunch I am not sure how else... More 

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

So starting with the positives, This is a beautiful traditional building in a lovely surrounding. We visited for mid week lunch, and the service from the gent behind the bar was excellent. My husband informed me the beer was also very good. My husband had the 2 course lunch which is excellent value - and he thoroughly enjoyed it -... More 

Helpful?
Thank screpta
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Had great home cooked Steak and Ale Pie with proper chips not frozen ones followed by the best Sticky Toffee Pudding my Husband had Haggis Melt he said it was really taste he could not manage a pudding. A lovely Pub with helpful and friendly staff well worth a visit so glad we found it .

Helpful?
Thank pip77104
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cumbria Grand
The Cumbria Grand
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Price Range: $100 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay