We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Think the signeage gives the wrong impression - expected some sort of gastro pub - modern interior - modern menu - turns out the signeage is the only modern thing - olde worlde charm in bucket loads - traditional food menu - very tasty food and good value for money - cant help but think the place wouls be buzzing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just what we needed after a long day hiking the beautiful woods around Silverdale with our son. Friendly welcome, cask ale, decent portions of tasty food, efficiently served. Somewhat skinny on the vegetables, but that might just have been the dishes we chose. I would also have preferred a darker ale, but I'm old fashioned like that. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overnight stay beautifull old building with lots of history food was pretty good but basic room was fine but nothing special could not get internet drinks were quite expensive. Note the pub is next to the graveyard and church the church bells chime every hour so if you are a light sleeper give it a miss.

Helpful?
Thank mickholliday
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked two rooms back in December for last weekend and asked that they be as close together as possible - I don't think they could f been further apart, we were on the top floor at the front and our daughters aged 15 & 17 were on the floor below at the back !!! The room was not impressive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly welcome even though they were busy serving lunch to a large party. Checked in earlier than stipulated time which was good. We had booked 2 rooms, both were furnished in keeping with the age of the Inn. The character of the rooms made up for the fact it was they were little shabby and tired. However, the rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parkes18
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

.................... a pub with no fresh lime and lemonade !! Having had terrible experiences previously we only stopped by for a pint during a walking day. What a disaster; apart from waiting what seemed an eternity for a pint with no one at the bar and with 2 members of untrained staff on duty (8 mins actually) we ordered our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
RichardSk49, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

I am sorry that you have had two bad experiences in the two times you have been to us in three years, but it seems your last visit coincided with a problem with the soda machine which had just failed for only the second time in eleven years and being a weekend the engineers response is slower than normal, (... More 

Travelers are raving about these Milnthorpe hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Went on a Saturday evening, really busy and full but staff were lovely and accommodated myself and the dog. Food was really good, recommend the Cumberland sausage and onion gravy with mustard mash! The staff informed us that there would be approx 20 min on food, but took less time then that. Nicely priced, look forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank bramleyapp
basingstoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Really nice place. Almost like a gothic castle with its centre staircase. Food was fine. Rooms a bit dated but functional. It's okay, after all your not going to live there. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Friendly pub who accommodated our large group of family and friends. We have 3 children with us needing quick supplies of food post walk. Lovely calm service nice food and pleasant atmosphere. The pub was promoting a special deal in Jan/Feb - we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank TSP49
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with friends after a dog walk. No problem bringing the dogs in the pub. Food excellent, steak & ale pie, fish & chips were consumed. Will definitely visit again. Staff friendly. Beautiful village location, overlooking a gorgeous church with rose arbours in the grounds

Helpful?
Thank suekennedy64
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Cumbria Grand
The Cumbria Grand
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
3.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Price Range: $101 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay