We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thanet Well Lodge Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 378: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2016

We booked this holiday very last minute and didn't quite know what to expect. Wow, what a lovely surprise. Our lodge, number 80 I think, was brand new and in a lovely spacious spot. We had two children with us and there was plenty of grass outside for us all to play on. The lodge had lovely new glasses, china,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xx7
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely comments about Thanet Well, we alway make our guests feel welcome and ensure they have an experience they don't forget, we hope you come and visit us again in the future Kind Regards Reception

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend recently with the family. The lodges are set in a beautiful location with stunning views. Really peaceful and tranquil. The lodges are immaculate with high quality fixtures and fittings. It's like home from home. Lots of people had dogs with them too if you wanted to take them. Can't wait to go again one day!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrspez20
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Thanet Well, we are pleased you enjoyed the views and setting of the park we have developed the park so most lodges can take in views of the Lakeland countryside. We hope you visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards Reception

Reviewed August 7, 2016

We booked to stay at Thanet Well the day prior to staying over. Having previously stayed here in 2012, it was a pleasant surprise to see how much development had taken place over the past couple of years. We opted for a Blencathra Premier lodge with views of the mountain and they didn't disappoint. WiFi unfortunately didn't work whilst we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curlymetal
Thanet_Well, Front Office Manager at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Thanet Well, we are pleased you enjoyed the views and setting of the park we have developed the park so most lodges can take in views of the Lakeland countryside. We hope you visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards Reception

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights weekend at the end of July 2016, booked directly through the Darwin Escapes website (rather than HoSeasons). Was looking for a quality lodge with hot tub to have a de-stress weekend away as a couple. Booked the Blencathra Elegance Premier 2 lodge on a last minute deal and stayed in lodge 2. Lodge was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Y
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you lovely comments regarding Thanet Well, we have taken note of your comments regarding the mattresses for the future and shall also look to see where improvements can be made regarding the marketing of the lodges and specifically what view each lodge has, We look forward to seeing you at Thanet Well again, I suggest you give the park...

grimsby
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

had 5 wonderful days here, the views are amazing , so peaceful and relaxing , loved the lodge and the hot tub was great , would definately come back and recommend to friends and family , lovely places to visit quite close by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbylou
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your nice comments about Thanet Well, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the stunning setting the park is situated at, We look forward to seeing you at Thanet Well again in the future.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

In need of a peaceful break, me, my wife and our Chorkie managed to get in at Thanet Well at the last minute for a weekend break. Started to relax from the minute we walked in the lodge to be greeted with a spectacular view of the forest, hills and mountains. Great to admire from the hot tub. Lodge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirDogsy
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your nice comments about Thanet Well, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the stunning setting the park is situated at, We loo forward to seeing you at Thanet Well again in the future.

Scotland
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited this lodge retreat between the 8th-12th July lodge number 24 Carrock premier 2 through hoseasons which forgot to mention this place is an ongoing building site, thankfully we already read the reviews on trip advisor which to be fair never really bothered us, you definitely need a car as there is nothing on this site apart from lodges so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanzy14
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about Thanet Well, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the use of the Hot Tub, we do have more private lodges with Hot Tubs available if you choose to stay with us again we can advise you at Reception of the most private lodges available on the park. All the building work...

Reviewed July 14, 2016

second visit after last year was amazing however this year was poor due to the fact the place was like a building site which it is at the moment they are having all new lodges. it is suppose to be a family place and dog friendly however the grass/green area which was there last year has all gone so there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

May I take the opportunity to apologise for the unpleasant stay you had at Thanet Well, We had informed Hoseasons in advance that the building works were still ongoing until the end of August but unfortunately in appears some guests who recently stayed with us were not informed prior to arrival which has caused the park some problems. We appreciate...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Reception were very pleasant and the shop on site was well stocked. Lodge was large and fully equipped with items you would need for a short break. Hot tub was clean and was maintained daily. However i feel they need a little TLC, and refreshing, chips out of cupboards and marks on flooring. I feel it was quite expensive for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJohnston2014
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about Thanet Well Park, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the lodges on park which includes the the lodge you stayed in, we appreciate you making us aware of issues and faults with the lodges so we can rectify them and make the necessary improvements to ensure guests have a placement stay with...

Hetton le Hole, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2016

An excellent location for a ladies weekend, 6 of us celebrating a milestone 60th Birthday.The Lodge was fantastic, beautifully clean with every amenity possible. Gorgeous ensuite room and two twin rooms and a very inviting hottub which of course we used every day. A 20 minute ride away t0 Glendridding took us on the Ullswater Steamer to Pooley Bridge for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh L
Thanet_Well, Reception at Thanet Well Lodge Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and a belated Happy Birthday, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Thanet Well and you made use of the Hot Tub as an added extra. We look foward to seeing you again sometime. Reception

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

426 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (426)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (206)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
22.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
7.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
260 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
23.2 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thanet Well Lodge Retreat

Address: Greystoke CA11 0XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Price Range: $94 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thanet Well Lodge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanetwell Hotel Greystoke
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat Greystoke, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thanet Well Lodge Retreat staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Thanet Well Lodge Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“View of the hills”
 of 5 bubbles donkey_doc, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Large corner site on the edge of the site”
 of 5 bubbles ToddArmstrongDurham, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Make sure you get a lodge with a view or you will be looking at another lodge”
 of 5 bubbles gabriella422, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“All lodges are Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles TattybearCheshire, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
“Hot tub is great”
 of 5 bubbles markandrews70, Jan 28, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question