We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/09/2017 07/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Langstrath Country Inn

    Stonethwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XG, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    07/09/2017 07/10/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveler (47)
          Room & Suite (7)
          Dining (5)
          Scafell Hotel
          777 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
           
          Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
          288 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          Royal Oak Hotel
          251 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
          273 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Borrowdale
           
          Overview
          • Excellent57%
          • Very good30%
          • Average9%
          • Poor3%
          • Terrible1%
          Travelers talk about
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Wheelchair access
          All hotel details
          Scafell Hotel
          777 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
           
          Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
          288 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          Royal Oak Hotel
          251 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
          273 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Borrowdale
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (203)
          Traveler rating
          Traveler type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 203 reviews

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          Have used Langstrath on several occasions but visit this time was very disappointing. No hot water due to arriving after everyone had showered - or the second time too early when the hot water is not on. Didn't want to risk another night decided to...More

          Thank 1310RA
          Response from Guy F, Owner at The Langstrath Country InnResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear 1310RA Obviously disappointed to see this when we did actually reply (see below) to you in October 2016 "Thank you for your email and I'm very sorry to hear you had problems with the shower. Yesterday we tested and ran the shower thoughout the...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

          In remote Borrowdale in the tiny village of Stonethwaite. Welcome watering hole for Hikers. Inside it is not as oldie-worldie as I would like but it's still nice. Very efficient & helpful barman. Nearby there is a bonus for Twitchers as we actually could SEE...More

          Thank WestHamEddie
          Reviewed May 21, 2017

          In the hamlet of Stonethwaite this is a real walkers' hotel / pub. We stayed for 4 nights. The welcome is warm and the room was spacious and comfortable with a bath and powerful shower. Breakfast is great, home made granola or cereals with fruit...More

          Thank hyacinth_bucket2
          Reviewed May 14, 2017

          This is a charming and well run hotel with good food. From checking in to checking out we all thought this was an excellent place to stay. The service team who were predominantly Eastern European boys ( where will we be after Brexit!), were absolutely...More

          Thank Richard F
          Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

          Visited here for lunch on Thursday 4th May part way through a huge walk of the lakes. They were still serving food when I arrived and chose the steak and ale pie with chunky chips. I wasn't impressed overall as I wasn't approached at by...More

          Thank Joseph H
          Response from Guy F, Owner at The Langstrath Country InnResponded 3 weeks ago

          Dear Joseph H I'm very sorry and of course disappointed you felt unwelcome and uninspired by our food, though if I may clarify, we do not reheat. Our philosophy is to not disturbed our guests whilst dining and assume they will let us know should...More

          Scafell Hotel
          777 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
           
          Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
          288 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          Royal Oak Hotel
          251 reviews
          #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
           
          The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
          273 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Borrowdale
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Restaurant
          • Free Internet
          • Free Parking
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 8
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Cumbria >
          • Lake District >
          • Borrowdale
          • Also Known As
          • The Langstrath Country Hotel Keswick ,
          • Country Inn Keswick ,
          • Keswick Country Inn ,
          • The Langstrath Country Inn Borrowdale/Keswick
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveler (47)
          Room & Suite (7)
          Dining (5)
          Hotel & Grounds (37)
          Bathroom (2)
          Nearby
          Sponsored by:
          The Borrowdale Hotel
          939 reviews
          2.73 miles away
           
          The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
          385 reviews
          2.51 miles away
           
          Scafell Hotel
          777 reviews
          .65 miles away
           
          The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
          273 reviews
          2.49 miles away
           
          Lodore Falls Hotel
          2,048 reviews
          3.16 miles away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Flock Inn cafe & tea shop
          129 reviews
          .67 miles away
          Littletown Farm
          36 reviews
          3.96 miles away
          King's Head Inn
          45 reviews
          4.22 miles away
          Restaurant at Hazel Bank Country House
          35 reviews
          .75 miles away
          Nearby Attractions
          Castle Crag
          43 reviews
          1.51 miles away
          The Bowder Stone
          141 reviews
          1.68 miles away
          Catbells Lakeland Walk
          1,152 reviews
          4.34 miles away
          Honister Slate Mine
          997 reviews
          2.30 miles away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          TaylorPeejay
          is it true that 8.30am is the earliest breakfast time . we r doing the c2c next year. tku
          August 19, 2016|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from DrG29 | Reviewed this property |
          I'm sorry I don't know- i thought we had ours at 8??
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Make sure you get the right time for a hot shower!!"
          Read review
          "We have stayed here twice. All rooms seem fine."
          Read review
          "All rooms are good"
          Read review
          "If you're walking - ask for a room near the drying room. We had a lovely view at the back of the hotel..."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing