We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
Longthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XE England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair access
4 Star accommodation
Additional information
Hotel website
Offers from YHA Borrowdale
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
182
77
9
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
182
77
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room youth hostel drying room self catering kitchen bunk beds camping pods scafell pike common room table football hostel grounds real fire lake district beautiful location a great place to stay great facilities the wi fi castle crag
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Youth Hostel was well run and in a great location for us to enjoy walking. The bedroom was basic, but clean, warm and comfortable. It was very good value for just the two of us, but the room had bunk beds and could have...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Roger K
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation, your feedback is warmly received.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Up to the usual high standard throughout. Aviemore YHA could learn a lot from the reception where we were early but allowed in quickly and smoothly without a problem. Great room and although the place was very busy, the staff were very good throughout. Kitchen...More

Thank Geoff and Clare L
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your positive review, it is great to receive such lovely praise. We do try our best to be as accommodating as possible.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great location with lots of options for walks, cycling, kayaking, climbing, etc...A very nice, cosy, characterful hostel, with friendly welcoming staff.We stayed in the camping pods which were nice and cosy with the heater on - all clean and convenient - and we had...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank GATERS1971
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your thoughtful and considered review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our cosy pods, they are extremely popular and are a lovely upgrade from camping. The kitchen is generally big enough for its usage but there are times...More

Reviewed September 16, 2018

Having had 3 very pleasant nights at Keswick YHA, my wife and I were not sure that Borrowdale would be better, but it was. The staff were friendly, hard working and generally couldn't have done much more to make our stay better. Katie was remarkable...More

Thank Simao711
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, it is so pleasant to receive feedback such as yours.I will be sure to pass on your comments to Caty and I will be sure to mention to Keswick YHA that you were very pleased with your stay there...More

Reviewed September 10, 2018

We loved our stay at YHA Borrowdale. The staff was extremely helpful and super friendly. The common areas are cosy and inviting. We also stayed at yha Keswick and Buttermere which were both great but not as wonderful as Borrowdale. Thank you for a wonderful...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank sfranke04
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback, your review is very much appreciated.

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
22
Price range
$32 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
YHA Borrowdale Keswick
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Photos
Traveler (57)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Scafell Hotel
950 reviews
.44 miles away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
353 reviews
.58 miles away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
592 reviews
2.17 miles away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
326 reviews
2.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 9 nearby restaurants
Flock Inn cafe & tea shop
161 reviews
.37 miles away
Littletown Farm
58 reviews
3.56 miles away
King's Head Inn
116 reviews
4.43 miles away
Swinside Inn
263 reviews
4.74 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
Castle Crag
74 reviews
1.11 miles away
The Bowder Stone
172 reviews
1.35 miles away
Alpacaly Ever After
254 reviews
4.84 miles away
Catbells Lakeland Walk
1,431 reviews
3.90 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ammo83
July 7, 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow fires when camping, the camping field is a grass lawn and just couldn't take the damage. There is a river running through the grounds where guests sometimes make a small campfire. Kind... More
0
Votes
Patrick S
May 14, 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello Patrick, Yes you can rent towels with us, we charge £2 per towel and you can retain it for the duration of your stay. Thanks, Rhys
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 2 is for 3 people and close to entrance, showers and toilets"
GeoffandClare007
2 weeks ago
Read review
"On a budget you couldn't do better"
marycA7521KD
Aug 28, 2018
Read review
"Twin room at the front was much bigger than the one we had at the back"
budget-trave11er
Aug 2, 2018
Read review
"Perhaps not 12 - Fan noise from toilets"
Oakwardenh
Mar 25, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing