We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alston Youth Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Alston Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was by far the best Bunkhouse type premises we stayed in along the entire Pennine Way. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful ( ie arranged for an Outdoor Clothing Shop to open in the evening especially so that one of our group could buy some new boots ). The Youth Hostel is very well designed with a kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank WiggyofIpswich
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We got a lovely warm welcome at the hostel, even though we ended up coming in quite late. Close to everything, and a little walking path. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - very filling! We would definitely come by again!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

brilliant hostel, rooms very clean, bike storage and facilities were brilliant. They even had phone/ garmin chargers to borrow! Close to C2C route (the route from the top of hartside to the hostel is fantastic) The breakfast was great and it is clsoe to pubs/cafes/ shops in alston (couple of minutes walk)

Helpful?
Thank Graham T
AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review on our hostel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to keep the hostel as nice and as homely as possible. The selection of phone chargers we can poan out are ones left behind by previous guests who no longer want them! Usually C2C cyclists who are... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Clean, polite staff, location good and bikes were safe,beds comfy and as noisy as hostel should be ,food was nice although full English was a bit small it rolled about on a small plate should have been called a half English really and the showers were hot they were very slow bit more of a trickle than a shower but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jphart
AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you would be happy to stay with us again Jphart. However, we are saddened to hear you thought our breakfasts are a little on the small size. On the morning of your stay, we served our cereals, grapefruit and porridge, teas and coffee on a 'help yourself' basis and the hot breakfast from the bain... More 

skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Very enjoyable stay. Warm, friendly and very clean and tidy with great facilities. Good seating area to watch the birds and wildlife. Great facilities for bike storage too and very easy access to well stocked Spar at the garage across the road. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank LindaSkipton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Beautiful location with access to the river and views from an outside patio - lovely on a sunny evening. Great service from staff. Bikes were put away in a bike shed for the night as soon as we arrived. which made things easier then having to load and unload our van. Good kitchen facilities for self catering. rooms very comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmanicola
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the YH absolutely soaked to the skin after a very long walk along Hadrian's Wall. We were immediately shuttled into the drying room and told to remove our wet clothes and I wasn't immediately taken to the idea of having to strip to my underwear in front of my co-workers however dutifully did as I was told.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
AlstonYH14, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Lauren for your kind comments. We are so pleased you found our hostel comfortable during your stay with us. When your group arrived, you were all exceptionally and extremely wet and cold and the only thing we could think to do to try and get you all as warm and dry as soon as possible was to suggest... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

We booked this hostel for an Exclusive Hire, over a weekend and it could not have been better for a self-catering break consisting of several families. The hostel was spotless, and the hosts were very friendly and made sure we had what we needed. The social spaces were just the right size for our party size of 12 for relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petkel0000
AlstonYH14, Manager at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel so soon after your stay with us. We are very pleased to know you and your family and friends enjoyed your stay here. As best we can, we try to make our hostel a 'home from home' environment so our guests can start to enjoy their break away as soon... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Stayed here at the end of day 2 on the C2C. The welcome was second to none, we just about road straight from the road into the secure cycle store and it went on from there. The managers were friendly and they went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The hostel is well placed and clean and comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ean P
AlstonYH, Manager at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you were happy with your stay with us. We are proud of our breakfasts, always cooked fresh for each of our guests. Should you be passing through Alston again, we would be happy to see you. More 

county durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

bed were uncomfortable pillows were sown on to the sheets only two toilets to share and it was a very noisy hotel but it was clean ,had to take of our shoes and leave them at the door which i was not happy about breakfast was fine bikes were safe i wont stay there again as id rarther pay a... More 

Helpful?
Thank barry j
AlstonYH, Owner at Alston Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to learn you were not entirely happy during your stay with us. We had a very full hostel on the night of your stay, 29 adults made up of walkers and cyclists. We hope the noise was a result of them chatting and sharing stories of their days adventures whilst up here... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alston hotels
0.3 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 13 in Alston
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Angel Inn
#7 of 13 in Alston
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
0.2 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#12 of 13 in Alston
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alston Youth Hostel is situated on the edge of Alston town high up in the North Pennines (The Roof of England!) In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The Pennine Way and South Tyne Trail runs right by the side of the hostel and is the first accommodation you reach in Alston after the long walk from Dufton over Cross Fell (the highest point of The Pennine Way). We are also about half way on the ever popular Coast to Coast (C2C) cycle route which runs from Whitehaven/Workington to Tynemouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alston Youth Hostel

Address: Firs Edge | The Firs, Alston CA9 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Hotel Class:3 star — Alston Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Alston Youth Hostel Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing