We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$209
View deal
Priceline$209
Agoda.com$209
FindHotel$209
eDreams$209
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1975)
Room & Suite (443)
Dining (151)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Peckforton Castle
Updated 07/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Tarporley
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 165. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state-of-the-art multi-media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Chapel / shrine
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
3005Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,556
  • 656
  • 388
  • 217
  • 188
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Geoff M wrote a review Sep 2022
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom76 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
We were visiting a friend who had moved to a few miles away and when we were looking for overnight accommodation we came across Peckforton Castle. It looked out of the ordinary, which we subsequently discovered it was, and when we discovered it had a lift we decided to book. My wife and myself both struggle with stairs and don’t stay anywhere where there is no lift or no suitable ground floor rooms. The hotel has 48 rooms and 15 of them are accessible via the lift. We were in the Huxley which was more than big enough for us as was the bathroom which had both a low level walk in shower and a bath. Everything, furniture and bath, fitted in with the period feel that made this hotel special. We chose to eat in the rotisserie that evening which sat around 20+. The food was excellent as was the service. The buffet breakfast was only available in the dining room and could only be accessed by stairs, about 20, which we managed to deal with, slowly. From what we saw of the hotel this was the only part that wasn’t wheelchair accessible. It’s a pity because the dining room is really nice. Breakfast wasn’t the best we’ve had but more than adequate. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again provided our legs can get us up the stairs for breakfast. Every member of staff we met was extremely helpful and impossible to fault in any way.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rdj wrote a review Sep 2022
Nairn, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stayed here for one night. It was very pleasant. The food in 1851 was top quality and a relaxed environment. The hotel itself is beautiful and lots of interesting places to explore. Our room was well decorated and spacious. Room 105 needs a new/better mattress. Hence 4/5 stars. Also if you check my photo ‘Fisrt Floor’ The signs are misspelled in a couple of places. Bit of a basic error.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear Pioneer33755422625 Many thanks for your recent review, following your stay with us at Peckforton Castle. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the food in our 1851, fine dining restaurant, along with enjoying everywhere that you could explore. With reference to the mattress in room 105, the rooms on the 100 corridor are being refurbished in this next financial year and we will ensure the comfort of the mattresses are checked in all rooms too. Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention, in order for us to continue to monitor the standards that we offer. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
les b wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked Afternoon Tea at Peckforton Castle, what a treat we thought but what a disappointment we got. The sandwiches were average, the scones were very dry and hard and the cappuncino coffee was weak. The only decent things were the fruit tart and the mini chocolate log. When asked if everything was okay, we explained that the scones were hard and dry only to be told chef would be informed!! We never heard anything back. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lesb762 Further to your recent visit and subsequent review, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt. Please can you confirm the date of your visit, in order for us to carry out further internal enquiries with the staff on duty. All of the food for our afternoon teas is prepared freshly in house and the scones should be served warm. If you can make contact with me directly on jchapman@bhguk.com, I can personally look into your comments. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy D wrote a review Sep 2022
Bury, United Kingdom50 contributions38 helpful votes
Have visited Peckforton Castle before so knew it was impressive. Had a 2 course meal in the Brassiere which was tasty & presented well. Room was comfortable with lovely bathroom with roll top bath. Did have a problem during our stay, however was dealt with more than satisfactory by Liam on reception. Credit to the hotel. All staff polite
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mandyd598 Further to your review, following your Anniversary stay at the Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal in the Brasserie and your accommodation too. I am not sure what the problem was that you experienced during your staff but am pleased that Liam was able to resolve this for you in a more than satisfactory way. We hope to welcome you back to Peckforton or one of the other hotels in Boutique Hotel Group in the future. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura H wrote a review Sep 2022
58 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
This is a beautiful castle hotel, filled with character, lovely grounds and beautiful decor You know your in a luxury castle and the staff are always friendly and polite Very popular for weddings and as soon as you pull up into the grounds you can see why. The perfect location for grand wedding photos
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I asked for bread to accompany my soup, it cost £3.50 for 2 extremely small slices of bread -...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Laura H Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and do hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle, or one of our other hotels in the future. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna F wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was bought a voucher to use at the castle from a friend as I had my wedding at Peckforton so my friend thought it would be a good anniversary meal. Covid hit and I was unable to use, so when things calmed down I contacted Peckforton to see if I could still use me voucher. After making many phone calls and told I would get a call back, then having to send emails I still have not had a call back or response to my email! I find it really disappointing that no one can be bothered to return my call or email! I would have loved to have eaten or stayed again at Peckforton as like I said we had our wedding there. I guess when you pay thousands they are more responsive than when you want to use a £100 voucher!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear P4041BNdonnaf Further to your response, naturally I was very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I am unable to investigate into the points you have made as your TripAdvisor name is unable to be found within internal communications. In order for me to resolve this situation for you, please can you make direct contact with me personally on jchapman@bhguk.com or 01829 260930 ext 1812. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gordon wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed two nights mid September. The building and surrounding area are amazing and you can see why it is popular for weddings. We ate both nights in the 1851 restaurant above reception and food was very good. When we checked in we were ignored by other staff until person behind reception desk was ready for us. There is no obvious bar or communal area to meet up for a pre meal drink. Some reviews say there is an area behind reception but if it was it was not obvious during our stay. First night had a wedding party with a very loud disco but as promised it stopped at midnight. Our room 203 also suffered from loud water pipes where it sounds like it is filling a tank. This would go on for 2-3 minutes each time but did not happen overnight but you had to turn up volume on TV to hear it over noise. Would I stay again? Most definitely but would try and avoid staying when there is a wedding booked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid when there is a wedding
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Travel61304167118 Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the food served in our 1851 fine dining restaurant. I apologise that you were ignored by other staff at reception and will share this feedback with the team. Whilst the members of staff may not have known how to check you in, they should still have acknowledged you and welcomed you to the hotel. With regards to communal areas, we do have a number of areas in the hotel, which includes the Castle Lounge, the area behind reception you refer to, along with the Wine Cellar, Coach House bar and external patio areas, subject to weather at the time. We do hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle, or one of the other hotels within Boutique Hotel Group in the future. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stefan wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our stay at peckforton castle was really poor, the staff were really nice but understaffed. The evening meal was delicious but the quantity was small and price not worth it. During our stay there on 27/08 there was a wedding which ended up with one of the guests getting drunk and aggressive, from 3AM at night until half past 6 AM in the morning he was shouting at the door next to us, banging and smashing stuff against the door. We tried contacting reception to do something about the situation as it's a disgrace paying so much money (£315) for a hotel to get a good night sleep and unable to do so but nobody picked up. My wife was panicking because we were trapped in the room and neither of us wanted to go out to face the aggressor as we didn't knew what things he was throwing or banging with. Our night was wasted as neither of us managed to get an eye sleep during the period mentioned. In the morning when we went to complain to the reception they advised that they will get a manager so we can make the complaint directly which they did. The manager apparently only started working there recently and confirmed that the individual was very aggressive and that he caused damage to the hotel and refused to pay for the damage he caused. The "manager" advised us that she will talk with her own manager in regards to a refund and will come back to us. We sent 2 emails already in regards to the issue as nobody camw back to us and only on the second email someone from the reception advised that they forwarded the email to their manager which will get in touch with us shortly but 1 week and a half later nothing happened. My wife has recording proof of the individual and what he was doing and we will take this issue further as it seems that the managers from the hotel refuse to get in touch with us. Worst experience we had .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Broscaru Further to your recent stay with us, please accept our most sincere apologies for the experience you had during the night, due to another guest, and for this not being followed up with you in a timely manner. I am aware that one of my senior managers has since spoken with you in person and it appears that there is indeed a fault with the internal phone system that diverts to the handsets used by the night staff. I fully appreciate how worried you must have been in this situation, not being able to bring the incident immediately to the attention of hotel staff. I understand you are unable to return on another occasion, so I do hope that the reimbursement that has been completed goes some way to show our concern and effort to restore your faith in the hotel. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David P wrote a review Sep 2022
Nantwich, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I have just got back from Peckforton Castle, having cashed in a Red Letter Day present from Christmas for afternoon tea. Disappointing as a whole. The meal was just about okay but I was disappointed that the scones were current free. The service was terrible; 20 minutes to get the meal and nobody asked if everything was okay during the meal or at the end. We had to flag down the waitress after waiting over 15 minutes after finishing the meal to get any attention. The toilets were a disgrace. Not serviced and dirty. All in all not worth the expense and I would not recommend it. You can get much better value for money and better staff attitude in many other places in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear davidplant02 Further to your recent visit to Peckforton Castle, and following review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience that you describe. All of the food that we serve for our afternoon teas are made on the premises, including the scones and I am sorry you were disappointed that they did not contain currants. Our afternoon teas are made to order and not plated ready, ensuring total freshness at all times. I am not fully aware as to exactly which day you attended and therefore cannot comment as to how busy our Brasserie was at the time of your own booking, which resulted in you waiting 20 minutes for your afternoon tea to be made, plated and served to you. With regards to your comments on the toilets, these are inspected regularly by our Housekeeping team during the day. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager, who wishes to be associated with my apologies and will ensure they are checked on a more regular occurrence, particularly when we have weddings or events on. I am not sure if your comments were brought to the attention of any members of management on the day you visited the hotel, as there does not seem to be any reference made to your complaint on the recent various handover documents within the hotel. If they had been, we would have been able to discuss your comments in person, on the day of your visit and therefore, this would have enabled the team to have an opportunity to rectify your dissatisfaction. Thankyou for bringing your comments to our attention, after your visit. We do value all comments, whether positive or negative, in order to review the standards that we offer at the hotel. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra F wrote a review Sep 2022
15 contributions17 helpful votes
Very disappointed. Our room had not been cleaned properly, dried soap still remained on the sink from the previous occupants, numerous very large cobwebs floating around the window( at arms reach could have been removed easily) one of the cups in the room had a dirty coaster stuffed inside. Not what I was expecting, i did report to reception regarding the cup, which I personally thought was a disgusting find, was told there were 1,000s of coasters in the hotel and did I want a clean cup, he would make sure it didn't happen again. The meal in the brasserie was appalling, the worse fish and chips my husband and I have ever been served,informed 2 members of staff whilst in the brasserie but nobody from the kitchen came out to see us and we were not offered anything else. I really can buy better from a budget supermarket. On checking out we spoke to a female manager who was surprised when our complaints had not been logged and that we were not offered an alternative meal in the brasserie. Unfortunately this is all to late when you are about to leave the building. She was most apologetic but our stay which was booked for my husbands 70th birthday had been ruined we were so disappointed with the stay overall. In fairness the manager did refund what we had paid for a few drinks and she gave us a complimentary nights B&B. We don't live near the venue and i honestly don't think we will return as we were disappointed with the stay overall. There is a general lack of seating at the hotel particular outside. A very small lounge near reception which was occupied when we arrived so we had nowhere else to sit with our drinks whilst waiting for the room. Fortunately it wasn't raining so we sat outside at the few tables provided but it was quite windy so it's wasn't that pleasant. The cellar bar wasn't open and we could not sit in the brasserie as it was needed for meal bookings. Not quite what we were expecting from our hotel venue. A lovely looking venue but much lacking in grounds and gardens, customer service needs improving immediately particularly regarding poor food and rooms that are not serviced properly. We were informed we should have mentioned these complaints at the time they happened and something could have been done, we did!!! and twice in the brasserie regarding the meal, nothing was logged.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sandrafl156OFV Further to your stay with us a while ago now. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. I have spoken with Sophie who was the manager you dealt with on departure and also expressed her apologies to you. She was not aware of your complaint in the Brasserie the previous evening as the Duty Manager was not called for by any member of staff, which is the usual procedure. The Manager will deal with the situation and the chef would not usually come out of the kitchen as this then causes speed of delivery issues for other guests dining. Sophie, as you mention, offered you a complimentary return visit, which she believes you were happy to receive at the time and is therefore surprised you are no longer happy to receive this. Our aim is to ensure that all guests are left with a positive impression of the hotel and receive the excellent level of service that is usually delivered. With regards to seating areas at the hotel, a new patio was completed this summer, offering additional seating outside to the compliment the decking area and also the seating at the opposite side of the ward near to the chapel. Inside, we have the reception area, the Castle lounge and seating is available in the Brasserie itself or the courtyard area. The wine cellar is open in the evenings, if not privately hired out. I have discussed your comments with the Managers at the hotel as we do have a few new members of staff who you may have spoken with, regarding your concerns. All staff are trained to speak with any of the Managers on duty, if guests do have any queries or concerns and this is to be re-iterated to all. Naturally, if there are any issues during a guest stay, it is much easier for these to be rectified whilst the guest is resident with us. Thank you for taking the time to bring your comments to our attention as it is with constructive feedback such as yours, we can continue to monitor and review the standards that we offer throughout the hotel. I do hope you decide to take up the offer that Sophie gave and we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Jayne Chapman Director of Hotels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peckforton castle hotel tarporley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireTarporley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peckforton Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Peckforton Castle?
Nearby attractions include Land Rover Experience (1.1 miles), Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles), and Sandstone Trail (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Peckforton Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Peckforton Castle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Peckforton Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Alvanley Arms, Bickerton Poacher, and The Egerton Arms.
Does Peckforton Castle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Peckforton Castle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles).
Does Peckforton Castle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Peckforton Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.