We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1816)
Room & Suite (365)
Dining (107)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Peckforton Castle
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Tarporley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Couples massage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Picnic area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
2873Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,498
  • 633
  • 374
  • 196
  • 172
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Trekkin Traveller wrote a review May 4
St Helens, United Kingdom955 contributions255 helpful votes
We drove over an hour for OUTDOOR afternoon tea here only to discover it was closed. I sent an email and they said they had been updating social media to ensure people contacted them. Sorry I hadn’t been following them on social media. Perhaps a phone call to pre booked customers wouldn’t have gone a miss. Anyway not going back now or booking any other event now. Let’s hope they have better customer service for their other customers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mandy wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I am writting this to hopefully help people decide whether this is the venue you would like to have your stay or wedding at. I had found an offer for a one night stay at the castle valid for stays until 31st Dec 2021 so I decided to give the castle a call to make sure there was availability. It was the owner that answered the call and was very rude right from the beginning as soon as I asked about this which I couldn;t understand. He lied to me a few times during the call and when he knew that I knew he was lieing he started to get angry. Even though all patrs of the offer were correct and he did have availabilty he just said he wouldn't sell the rooms for that price and that life isn't fair and that's what worried me. It's a night in a castle for me to tick something off my bucket list but I don't want this to happen to a bride on such an important day that they can't get back as I know how many things have to go perfect to have your special day and having an owner who could just turn around and say well life is not far isn't what you want as you totally rely on them. He offered me the room free when I said that I was going to post my experience but i wouldn't want to stay there now. Just think carefully because you only have one day wedding day or a special occassion.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Service
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jane F wrote a review Dec 2020
Rainhill, United Kingdom45 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel looks amazing, the food is cheap processed and over cooked... aburger was horrible burnt and clearly previously frozen processed burger. The risotto was salty and flavourless. Creme brulee... grainy partly frozen and tasteless. Such a disappointing meal.. how 3 AA rosettes were earned i do not know . Tea spoons to eat the brulee.. 69p for 6 in advance i expect. Blistered formica tables...such a disappointing standard for such an amazing castle
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Clare wrote a review Dec 2020
79 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Unfortunately we had a very poor experience at Peckforton last weekend, with issues regarding payment as well as our £310 package simply not being worth the price. I had booked using a gift voucher gifted to us for xmas last year but due to their closure because of covid we couldn't book in until December this year. I gave the voucher code when booking in. It was not mentioned at this time, when I called ahead to check everything was in place or during check in that the physical voucher was needed, but instead they found it fitting to call up to our room at 10pm on the only night we were there to tell us we needed it. This entirely spoiled our visit and our relaxing stay turned into a very stressful one with a threat of having to pay another £300 which I simply didn't have. I believe any type of call at 10pm is rather inappropriate and unsettling, especially regarding a financial dispute which could have been discussed at check in, via a note on the bill that was posted under the door or at breakfast/check out in the morning. As we went to breakfast we were asked then to discuss the voucher issues, which of course was fine with us then, but I’m still a little confused why a 10pm call was also needed. I will take responsibility that I have discovered it does say in very small print on the back of the voucher that it should be presented on arrival, however in this digital age this is very out of the ordinary and it would have been very beneficial to be gently reminded of this at any point during my booking process other than at 10pm whilst we were there. Although the grounds and the castle are breathtakingly beautiful, the bedroom was rather small, tired looking and just very underwhelming. Unfortunately there wasn't much attention to detail in terms of cleanliness of the bathroom either, which for any other hotel I could forgive, but not when you're paying £315. The door was very dusty, the shower door was broken and there was a fair amount of mould in the shower also. If this were an average hotel at an average price I could forgive this, as I understand it’s not always possible to clean absolutely everywhere, but as you can appreciate this is a significant amount of money to be paying to stay for one night, and one would expect the room décor and cleanliness would live up to those expectations for the price. I understand hotels have rooms of different sizes with different amenities for different budgets, and we felt like this was certainly a budget room which would have been suitable as a place to sleep for a lower price point, but not as part of a package for a romantic night away. When you book a gift package you expect something magical and wonderful, however, this felt mundane and not unlike booking a hotel anywhere else. At check out, after a rather awkward discussion that I would not be paying a further £300 to cover the voucher we left feeling rather deflated and happy to be returning home. Credit where it is due though - the restaurant experience was wonderful. The waiting staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was simply beautiful. I had hoped my problems could be dealt with directly with the venue before posting a review, however they have failed to reply to either my letter or my email, so I can only hope my voucher had arrived in the post.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Andy S wrote a review Dec 2020
12 contributions8 helpful votes
From the long drive up to the castle,to the amazing drive up to the reception and through the gates to the courtyard its breathtaking how amazing this place is,you really feel special from the moment you arrive check in was easy and really friendly,everything was explained in detail ROOM IT was small but adequate the bed was huge and really comfy could do with a bit of a deep clean tbh,lovely and warm too,bathroom was nice and modern really bright and clean,kettle and all the things you would expect are in the room FOOD we are in the 2010 brasserie,made a reservation and got a really nice burger with fries,a huge mouthfull and really good quality beef with hardly any fat,very very nice food at a very reasonable price,great service too Breakfast was buffett style all you can eat,everything from bacon sausage etc. all great quality and service was superb THE CASTLE wowsers this place is beautiful and massive,check out the library,great hall and all it has to offer just a stunning place,go for a walk around is superb STAFF ALL the staff were friendly,helpfull and really professional no complaints at all,keep up the great service guys ALL IN ALL Would and defo will be staying again many times,and if you are thinking of visiting i cannot reccomend it enough one of my fave places ive ever stayed at and cant wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Cropper, General Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded Dec 13, 2020
Dear andysS4111DY Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I certainly look forward to a return visit in the near future. Kindest Regards Steve Cropper
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$238 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peckforton castle hotel tarporley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireTarporley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peckforton Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Peckforton Castle?
Nearby attractions include Land Rover Experience (1.1 miles), Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles), and Sandstone Trail (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Peckforton Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Peckforton Castle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Peckforton Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Alvanley Arms, The Egerton Arms, and Dysart Arms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, guests have access to locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Peckforton Castle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Peckforton Castle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles).
Does Peckforton Castle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Peckforton Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.