We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1869)
Room & Suite (365)
Dining (110)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Peckforton Castle
Updated 06/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Tarporley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Couples massage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Picnic area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
2922Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,516
  • 638
  • 385
  • 204
  • 179
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DrewTravel wrote a review Nov 2021
West Midlands, United Kingdom41 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
This is a very special hotel and a touch of the unusual. We had a suit and it was extremely comfortable and clean with a touch of the wow factor, the bed was so comfortable and a good nights sleep too, definitely worth a visit and make sure you book the restaurant as the food is beautiful and all locally sourced
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
John wrote a review Nov 2021
Lancaster, United Kingdom3 contributions
Not often you get to stay in a medieval castle even if it is only 150 years old! From the portcullised gatehouse via the oversized knight just inside the courtyard to the flag bedecked tower you are transported to a different time when knights and gentle ladies disported themselves in courtly pastimes….. actually you are received with friendly smiles, extremely well appointed rooms, a modern lift, superb bath and very elegantly prepared and served meals in the modern style. We just looked for a short break from the everyday which Peckforton and its charming staff provided in spades but many of our fellow guests were there for all the fun of the wedding and clearly this marvellous location could not be bettered. The medieval rooms provide a wonderful backdrop to such a special event. Endless photo opportunities: quite unique. And if you want to do something totally different but equally out of the ordinary try the Land Rover Experience!! Thanks for a great little stay. We’ll do a Schwarzenegger on you and be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
anna s wrote a review Nov 2021
Wrexham, United Kingdom121 contributions43 helpful votes
We stayed in Whetton. It was a last minute booking ( two weeks notice ) for our anniversary after our plans changed. The room is a suite with a nice size bedroom, then another room off, only slight odd thing was the furniture in the side room, felt a bit sparse and not much art on the walls. Impressive as soon as you turn off the main road and drive towards the hotel. The hotel and staff were lovely. We booked a table for dinner ( three courses included in the price ) the hotel was very helpful with allergies and I felt they understood what I could have. Breakfast was nice and checkout easy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Relax and enjoy the quiet ( also explore the castle if you can.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
nickfranklin100 wrote a review Oct 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom1138 contributions249 helpful votes
We had the most magical wedding in September. Staff on the day were incredible. My uncle suffered a major stroke during the wedding breakfast and my Aunty was rushed with him to the hospital. It was agreed on the day that they would receive a FULL REFUND on their bedroom / overnight stay. We have been told by several of the managers that a FULL REFUND would be provided and that it had been processed in September. It wasn’t. On returning from our honeymoon last week the refund still hadn’t been provided and we were told again - within x24 hours a Full Refund would be given…. The manager even called me a week ago to confirm a refund was sent…. It still hasn’t a week later. My aunt is distressed. The hotel and now at least x3 managers - have apologised - but no refund. Grim huh?! Yes. Empty words. Today Erin a manager has said that they will receive £50 deposit back - but not a penny more. DISGRACEFUL - POOR - NON EXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE which has marred the whole experience. BEWARE! DO THE RIGHT THING AS AGREED X2 MONTHS AGO PECKFORTON.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Good luck trying to speak to someone at the castle! When you leave a message on all x7 options...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Dear Nick Further to your response and indeed our conversation a week ago. I ensured that the refund was indeed given of all monies that I was able to see had been paid. I am unable to explain that although I had authorised for a full refund to be given, following the unfortunate situation regarding your Uncle, this did not happen and you had to get in touch with us again, following your return from honeymoon. I can confirm that the final £15 has indeed been refunded today and that this now equates to a full refund. Please accept my sincere apologies, as I originally asked for the full refund to be given in the first place. I do hope your Uncle continues to make a full recovery. Jayne Chapman
Read more
Paul3725 wrote a review Oct 2021
Derby, United Kingdom30 contributions2 helpful votes
We were here as a birthday treat from our son, excellent from start to finish. The room "Huxley" was grand, had everything we needed and was very comfortable, this is a real castle in all sense of the word. The meal in the restaurant was superb, i could not fault the service. Special mention for Eda (I hope I have got that right) on reception, she seemed to be there 24-7 and was extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. Also the lady on front of house in the restaurant was fantastic. excellent place, well done all, especially Eda
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Huxley was very comfortable and is at the back of the castle so no noise at all
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jayne Chapman, Other at Peckforton Castle
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Dear Paul3725 I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and indeed enjoyed all that our Huxley room had to offer. I have passed your comments on to Ida, our receptionist that you mention. It is especially pleasing to receive such positive comments, particularly in the current climate, when our industry is being challenged in ways we never have before. Ida is delighted you enjoyed your stay and your meal in our 1851 Restaurant too. Wishing you all the very best and thank you once again Jayne Chapman
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$238 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peckforton castle hotel tarporley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireTarporley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Peckforton Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Peckforton Castle?
Nearby attractions include Land Rover Experience (1.1 miles), Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles), and Sandstone Trail (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Peckforton Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Peckforton Castle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Peckforton Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Alvanley Arms, Dysart Arms, and Bickerton Poacher.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, guests have access to locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Peckforton Castle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Peckforton Castle offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Peckforton Castle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bunbury Mill (2.5 miles).
Does Peckforton Castle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Peckforton Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.