We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Willington Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Willington Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have heard of Willington hall before, but never been, WHY NOT??!!!, a warm friendly welcome on arrival, a very large room, with the biggest bed in the county! , warm and comfy, all the usual bits and pieces in the room, the food is fantastic, and plenty of it, it is not very often where you stay at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank rusty5943
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently planned a surprise 50th party for my husband. It was quite an intimate affair in the beautiful new Orangerie and I can't express enough how lovely the whole evening was. The food was tasty and plentiful (a mixture of hot and cold) and the ambience was gorgeous. From the beginning of the planning until we left the morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely service, lovely food and lovely location. Would recommend it for a party, felt really special . The staff were attentive and very helpful. Good choice of food and wine. Lovely setting for a wedding ..they just added additional room and it really is lovely

Helpful?
Thank JaneWilliams12345
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the second we initially contacted the hotel (8 weeks before the big day) Natalie was extremely helpful and really helped us to get everything sorted. They managed to accommodate us and our guests on the day at late notice despite having a small function on in another part of the hall (we never even noticed there was another party... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for afternoon tea. Drove up, pleasant enough from the outside and a friendly welcome once inside. Table wasn't ready when we arrived although there was only another couple of people in the dinning/bar area. Sat down and was offered 'tea'. Previous places we had been to for afternoon tea offer a selection of different teas but we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
T
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at Willington Hall. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional - special thanks to Julie on Reception who held our booking open and upgraded our room. The room was amazing - very comfortable and spacious. We had a delicious evening meal in the dining room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rosie522014
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie, Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade and I will certainly let Julie know that her service was appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area! More 

Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My my where to start, the food is good and most of the reviews on here relate to that however the hotel accommodation is appalling. No wifi in my room, faulty heating, broken hairdryer, old well worn dusty furniture, non regulated hot water - freezing or scalding. Breakfast service not ready to start at 7 the list goes on...

Helpful?
Thank Pookie79
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal and I trust that the service was good as well. Although I am disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your overall stay with us. I can only apologise about the wifi, we do occasionally have problems with it and it is something that we are... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We have just had a three night stay at this hotel.We were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms which were spacious and really nice. We had everything thing we needed, but when we needed anything else (another hair dryer), the staff were really helpful and brought one up to our room. The beds were very comfortable and the water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clazza W
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clazza, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. I am pleased that the staff made you feel welcome and were able to provide you with everything that you needed. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful gardens and friendly staff . However the room with a great view of the garden needed a total revamp . Old curtains , fan not working in bathroom, loose tap that drenched you in water when you turned it on . Very old furniture in the room . Tv not working and internet also would not work . Such... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunseasandbeachbum
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues in your bedroom, things tend to stop working at the worst moments! They have all since been fixed. The furniture in the room is supposed to be old/antique to keep in character with the hotel so it isn't to everyone's taste but sometimes modern furnishings don't... More 

Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

We made a reservation for Sunday lunch here hoping for great things... Unfortunately we were greatly disappointed.. We had to wait in the lounge bar for an eternity to place an order for a pre-lunch drink and, while waiting, noticed how tired and run down the decor appeared. The service, once seated for lunch, was very good, and the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachlife57
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that we have not met expectations on this occasion and I will look into the reasons for your long wait on arrival. This is out of character for us as you can see from our previous reviews, so I hope that you will consider booking for lunch again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
418 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
754 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
10.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Willington Hall Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Willington Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“there are 12 rooms in the hotel, so book early or miss out”
 of 5 bubbles rusty5943, 4 days ago | Read review
“Rooms at the front of hotel have better WiFi, however, there is a seating area at the top of the landing where the reception was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles clazzaw, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“We had room two which was lovely, I was told the attic rooms were a bit cold, but didn't see them myself.”
 of 5 bubbles Jacqualyn1, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms are not in the roof-space / attic”
 of 5 bubbles BoomerAH, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“Have not yet stayed here - just ate in this time.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffM_cs, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay