We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,804: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked Rookery Hall for a one night stay, its were we spent our wedding night seven years earlier. We arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and were taken to our room. There on our bed was a card and a Anniversary Balloon from Stephen, the manger and staff. It was a lovely surprise. As part of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Patricia2014
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello 1Patricia2014, Happy 7th Wedding anniversary to you both and thank you for booking a return visit to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa to celebrate. I’m pleased to note you received a warm welcome on arrival and that you liked your card and balloon and also the little touch of the Happy Anniversary dessert plate. It sounds like you had...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Returned for a second visit as enjoyed first one and felt very relaxed, hotel did not disappoint. Staff very welcoming, cosy bar area, lovely evening meal and delicious breakfast. Would not hesitate to book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffsarah
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello geoffsarah and welcome back to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa. Thank you for returning to stay with us for a second visit and for sharing your review with others on Trip Advisor. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed this visit as much as your first and I look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit. Best...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had an overnight stay in one of the newer bedrooms in the annexe. Wonderful room - super comfortable bed, 'proper' coffee machine and not forgetting the over bath TV - lovely touch of decadence! This is a delightful hotel and spa in a lovely location but what really made this such a great experience was the friendly, polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Andrew P, What a wonderful heading to your review and thank you for sharing your overnight stay on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your room allocation in our new executive wing. Thank you for your lovely kind words regarding the hotel and spa. We are very lucky that the hotel is set in...

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed on Wednesday on a Travelzoo package. First impressions were excellent. Seats provided while checking in. Very pleasant receptionist and helpful porter. We stayed in one of the newer rooms which provided everything you could think of including a TV in the bathroom, not that we watched it! The scones provided for the cream tea were scrumptious and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Margaret V, Thank you for sharing your recent over night stay on Trip Advisor. First impressions are very important on arrival to any hotel so I am pleased to note that the Receptionist and Porter made you feel welcome. As mentioned in many previous reviews our Executive rooms are a favourite amongst our guests so I am happy to...

wales
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed last Friday, along with 2 friends on a package deal. Nice hotel, though I am in agreement with a previous review in that the entrance hall connecting dinning and bar area did smell very fusty and was off putting. No complaints regarding our room though, extremely comfortable bed and a choice of pillows was perfect, fridge with fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank qcare
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello qcare, Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent over night stay and thank you for choosing Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa. I’m sorry to note that you came across a fusty smell in the entrance hall. As mentioned in my other guest reply I’ve not personally detected this smell but thank you for this...

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here with my wife in July on our way to North Wales. I have visited previously on business trips and have always been impressed. We took a room in the old building which had great character. The only downside was that it overlooked the car park (not very busy other than several Bentley's on a day out from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim S
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Tim S, Thank you for your review following your recent visit. Thank you also for choosing Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa as your hotel of choice on your way to North Wales. It is lovely to welcome guests back especially if they stayed for business, it also gives you the opportunity to enjoy the hotel & spa from a...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Rookery Hall for one night (Saturday) over the weekend. We arrived midday and decided to have lunch. We sat outside (having passed the barman saying hello) on the veranda as it was a nice day. The poor service started when we had waited nearly 15 minutes and no one came to our table to welcome us, ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lifeisgood777
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lifeisgood777, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening meal and that the food again at breakfast was excellent. Our Health Club & Spa facilities are excellent so I was pleased to note that you had the opportunity to enjoy them whilst...

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Surprised my wife with a one night spa break for our anniversary, we were both impressed with the facilities. The health and spa building was very modern, fully kitted out with steam and sauna and a beautiful hydrotherapy pool, one of many features which made it stand out from Crewe Hall. The jacuzzi beds were amazing, in comparison to Crewe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sweeneyt14
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Sweeneyt14, What a lovely surprise for your wife, Happy Anniversary to you both and thank you for choosing Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa to celebrate. I’m delighted to read that you fully enjoyed our Health Club & Spa facilities. The rooms in the main house are full of character, so I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Rookery Hall 26/27 July and were looking fwd to our stay as we have had positive experiences at other Handpicked Hotels. The location, buildings, rooms/bathrooms and spa are lovely, however there is a distinct pervasive smell of care home in the public areas of the main building. We felt that the staff, though pleasant, lacked the polish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Turner044
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Turner044, Thank you for reviewing your July visit on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the location and buildings, including the Spa. I am sorry to hear that during your visit there was an odour of some description in some of the public areas. I must admit I have not smelt this personally, but thank you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in July during 'heatwave' - the lack of air con made our stay a little less comfortable... Be sure to ask for a room with AC if staying in Summer. Breakfast was lovely. Would stay again if ever exploring gorgeous English countryside again. Bed was extremely comfortable/ luxurious :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneJules1
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello MelbourneJules1, Thank you for your review following your two night stay in July and thank you for choosing Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa. I’m sorry to read that your stay was not that comfortable following the very warm weather. Unfortunately and I do apologise not all of our rooms have air conditioning in them. For others reading this reply...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

550 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (487)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,047 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
17.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,978 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Price Range: $131 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Preston, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“June with great views and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles wilkosteph28, 5 days ago | Read review
“look for the winter deals which gives you a good room”
 of 5 bubbles greenwy01, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the old part of the hotel are great.”
 of 5 bubbles aussiebrit2016, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Pick the executive rooms as they are spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Alun58, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Our room was named April. Old part of the building. Superb.”
 of 5 bubbles Thomas62_10, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question