We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sandhurst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sandhurst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We took a chance and bypassed Chester after getting off the ferry and tried a place that would set up us for the next day's travel. The large old house was decorated from decades gone by with artefacts and pictures from probably the early to mid 1900s. We were warmly greeted at the door and shown out room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We stopped here for a 4 night break whilst visiting the area and its National Trust properties. As it says in the property description, it doesn't have a manned reception so we arranged an approximate arrival time and phoned the number that is clearly stated on the brass plate at the door which brought Roweena to welcome us within minutes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0bandcheryl
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as an overnight stopover a few nights ago with my young son and was more than happy with everything The Sandhurst had to offer. The house is stunning and its decor is in keeping with the period in which it was built. Our room (rm 7) was beautifully decorated, extremely spacious and very clean. I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britt1972
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review Britt it was lovely meeting you both and it's always especially nice when someone gets it here! as you did.Take care Rowena

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

This is not 4 * hotel, it is a mediocre boarding house. No Reception, abrupt staff, tatty, tired and dated decor, gloomy room, one bedside lamp, lino bathroom floor and electric wall mounted shower with broken door, no tomatoes for breakfast, etc. Don't be enticed by misleading advertising images of bright and modern rooms or overly positive reviews. Overpriced for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however I would like to correct a few of the issues raised to clear any confusion.We are not a Hotel and don't claim to be -we are a B and B .There is no manned reception and we make that clear in all our advertising, as we ask for estimated times of arrival to ease...

northfleet
Reviewed August 29, 2016

just returned from staying at the sandhurst whilst attending oulton park for the weekend, we would highly recommend it, all staff friendly and welcoming, good breakfasts, excellent value, good location with easy walk to local places for evening meals, would definately stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris o
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Lovely Edwardian villa close to Oulton Park circuit, Welsh border and Manchester. From the time we arrived until the time we left Rowena - the "lady of the house" made us feel one of the family. The property has been faithfully decorated in character including the original plans inside the front door. Our bedroom was originally the master bedroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Sandhurst and couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay. Breakfast was excellent every day, and Rowena was super helpful - breakfast at a time to suit us every day, and always a smile on a morning. If we're ever down in the area again, the Sandhurst will be our first port of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Imposing front door hides a quirky, slightly old fashioned guest house. The welcome from Rowena was warm and the room large and extremely comfortable. The decor is a little tired but functional and we wanted for nothing. Breakfast set us up for the day and the stay although short was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trigger21655
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Sandhurst while visiting a local event and myself and my husband found our stay most enjoyable! We were welcomed promptly by the lady of the house who was very polite and happy to help us to our room which was exceptionally spotless, comfortable bedding and not a speck in sight! (Beautiful gardens to look out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissJR89
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review it is greatly appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

My time here at sandhurst was short, just one night. We arived to an unprofessional manner, being called love or pet. As climb the desolate cold creeky stairs you realise that this is in know way a homely place, a bit to Edwardian for my liking, hot running water is common these days, but not at sandhurst. If there's any...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henry R
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Seriously - why would the stairs be cold and creaky in June!! We obviously have hot water as others would comment if we didn't! I accept constructive reviews however this is just another weird and ridiculous rant from an over zealous key board warrior who didn't use spell check.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
3.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
116 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
5.6 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
3.8 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Price Range: $73 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sandhurst staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sandhurst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are spot on”
 of 5 bubbles stevebT5014DJ, May 12, 2016 | Read review
“There is an extra large family room that can sleep four”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnel8, Jan 4, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a garden facing room”
 of 5 bubbles robertwA6038EM, Aug 12, 2015 | Read review
“Our room 3 at the back of the hotel was very quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles AnneC1963, Jun 26, 2015 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Calamy, May 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay