We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
23-24 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (102)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 06/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Wisbech
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bowling offsite
Darts
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
419Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 110
  • 64
  • 41
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Becky wrote a review Jun 26
1 contribution
Highly recomment I booked for my parents to attend and they absolutely loved it to where they want to go again. Friendly staff. Food was lovely my dad normally isn't a tea drinker but he said the tea was absolutely lovely 😊 Nothing but good feedback for this place
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
annepearsonlove wrote a review Jun 22
Peterborough, United Kingdom7 contributions
We went for afternoon tea. Parking was at back of hotel. Secure and free. Staff were lovely and Afternoon Tea was very very nice. The fruit scones were absolutely gorgeous. We had a doggy bag as there was a lot of food. Excellent Very old historical hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
sandra m wrote a review Jun 19
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
15 people booked here to attend a party nearby. No bar shut. No food restaurant closed. Never told any of us. Had to buy water and snacks. Had to buy batteries for remote for TV. Had to get extension cable to turn on lights in room. Learnt that Egyptian company bought hotel 3 weeks ago and told management to remove all alcohol and food. Turning hotel into a ‘sharia’ hotel. Please be aware. This is a waste of money and we should have been told. Paid £99 for so called luxury room. Well dream on.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Emma C wrote a review Apr 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I booked in for dinner, food was superb, we shared a starter and thoroughly enjoyed our mains - steak and lamb shank. The manager couldn't have been more helpful, and friendly. We had a lovely evening thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Helen C wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
We had afternoon tea here on 25th April. It was absolutely delicious. Lovely sandwiches, cakes were amazing and enough to bring home!! Thoroughly recommend and staff lovely. Lovely old hotel. Hope to go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Paul Donnelly wrote a review Apr 2022
15 contributions3 helpful votes
I have stayed at The Rose & Crown many times in the past for business, as I like the building and it's history. Stayed one night (April 2022) and can't fault the service of the Manager, Mario. Room was small but comfortable and clean, but he made my visit with great service over dinner and long chats inbetween. Great guy and although working long hours due to staff challenges, nothing was too much trouble and made my stay special. It's all about the people, well done and thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose Crown, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded Apr 21, 2022
Good Morning Dooners321, Thank you for your amazing review. Our manager Mario was pleased to hear that he gave you great service and that you enjoyed his long chats which made your stay all the more memorable. We're very happy that you found your room to be comfortable and clean despite its size. It was a pleasure to welcome you back as a returning guest. We always love to receive amazing reviews and hope to receive many more. Kind regards, The Rose & Crown Hotel Management Team
Read more
Tina J wrote a review Mar 2022
Grimsby, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
Not at all impressed -far to many cakes and no choice of savoury . Only given sandwiches. Sandwiches freshly made but not filled with the best of fillings. Pot of tea was lovely and offered refill. Uneaten cakes put in boxes to take away but too many to eat within recommended time so will be wasted. The manager did ask me to let him know if ok. -well all to much the same type of cake and as mentioned earlier to many. I did say that there was to many to him and suggested smaller size. Didn’t mention lack of savoury choice. Hotel urgently needs make over or closing down and rest rooms didn’t look very clean . The lady serving gave us a code for rest rooms as they wanted them clean for customers - I will say no more. It did put me off eating the food but cups and cutlery very clean or I might have politely left the hotel. Sorry for this poor review but after the struggle to even find the hotel and parking not what we needed. Manager please retire as you mentioned or upgrade your premises and listen to these comments and any others from your customers regular and visitors to your town. Not an area I will want to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose Crown, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Good Afternoon Tina, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a detailed review about your experience with our afternoon tea. We have taken into account your remarks about there being too many cakes and not enough of a savoury option and have since halved the number of cakes available, alongside offering a greater range of flavours, and now ask guests if they would like a savoury option within their afternoon tea upon the booking request. We are currently in the process of having parts of the hotel redecorated to make it more up to date for our customers. With regards to the restrooms, we have spoken with all our team members and assure you that this was a one off as they are usually cleaned and checked every hour. We apologise that your experience was not up to the standard that you expected. Kindest regards, Louise - Daytime Duty Manager.
Read more
Yvo.glo wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Positives: The history of this old coaching Inn with it being a 400 year old Grade ll listed building, it has retained many of its original features including a courtyard, also has an interesting rear entrance hallway into property, has character with low ceilings and original uneven sloping stairs. Friendly and helpful young lady on Reception desk. Off street secure parking available. Negatives: When we arrived hand basin was blocked up full of someones dirty washing water, when we returned later that evening maintenance had unblocked it and just the remnants of black beard stubble remained, toilet bowl was badly stained and there were grubby sticky black finger marks around door handles and on the kettle, no waste bin and a general unpleasant stale smell to the room. Small window did not provide adequate ventilation during hot weather spell, told no fans available either. Noisy late at night with large group of young men shouting and riding around the market Square on their bikes. The only saving grace was that the bedding covers were clean and there were fresh towels left on bed. We were let down on a previous booking elsewhere, so booked this in a bit of a hurry to use as a base, wish I'd researched the reviews more thoroughly beforehand. With the right ownership this Hotel has the potential to be great because of its history but as it stands now it's just a tired run down Hotel in a bit of a run down area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose Crown, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Good Afternoon, we thank you for the detailed review which you have provided us as this helps us to improve our hotel and what we offer our guests immensely. We have spoken with the maintenance and housekeeping teams to find out what went wrong with regards to the sink and the issues with the dirty marks on the kettles and door handles, and they now check these before leaving a room. All our guestrooms and public areas are also now checked upon the housekeeping team finishing to ensure they are ready for occupancy. We have also implemented redecoration of the hotel to update it. Unfortunately due to the grade II listed nature of the building we are unable to get double glazing for the windows and as much as we would love to, we can't do anything about the groups that hang around on their bikes in the market place as this is a public area. Kind regards, The Rose & Crown Hotel
Read more
Lucky13 wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Awful!!!! Like faulty towers! Actually that’s most probably better! On arrival I got an upgrade! Whooo hoo happy days! My upgrade was a vile room with a broken toilet! Off to Complain and was given another room! This one wasn’t much better, but after a mega long drive and a full days work I wanted a shower…. Well I could pee faster! And the shower was filthy! So were the drawers, the floor, you name it, it was vile! No tv remote. Off to complain again and was shown another room, bath panel hanging off, hairs on the bed, toilet don’t flush! Person in charge said he will leave a note for boss for the morning! It’s 11 Pm and too late to find somewhere else Fuming! Would I stay again would I hell!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Don’t bother worst hotel I’ve stayed in and I travel for work a lot!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose Crown, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Thank you for your review Kelly. We really appreciate how detailed it was as this helps us to improve the service which we are providing to both guests and the public who utilise the hotel. We apologise that the rooms which were offered to you were not up to the highest standards that we usually would have provided. With regards to the issues with your shower, we have since had a new system installed which should help with this issue and prevent further guests from having the same experience as yourself. We wholeheartedly apologise that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel and have also logged every issue that occurred during your stay so that each one can be addressed individually, starting with the most serious repairs. We would hope that you would return, even if it is just to see what improvements have been made since your stay. Kind regards, The Rose & Crown Hotel
Read more
Alex E wrote a review Aug 2021
Yarm, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
This place is Grim. Food is 1970s frier cooked old pub food and not a great standard. The hotel is Quirky think faulty towers. The room was OK at 1st glance but then run the other way. Dirty mirrors and Bathroom I didn't want to look anymore for fear of what I would find. The walls in the bathroom were filthy with god knows what I tried to ignore it but did let reception know when running/checking out. My bed looked fresh and well made but when I got in it was gritty and I'm sure I found some hairs but they could have been mine it is moulting season but I really didn't want to think they were not mine. due to the age of the building everything is wonky but I felt I was falling out of bed could that be delves in the mattress who knows . The male receptionist was the highlight great stories and very pleasant could not do more for us. I had to stay as I had nowherre else to but I should have stayed anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Find somewhere else even the car. just don't park in Wisbech.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rose Crown, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Thank you for your review 662alexe. We do appreciate the detailed information that you've given us as this helps us to improve the standards that we offer to both our guests and the general public whom use the hotel. We have spoken to the housekeeping team with regards to the issues which you experienced within your room, and have since implemented deep cleaning of rooms on a regular basis to ensure that no other guest has to go through the same as yourself. With regards to everything being wonky, obviously as we're a listed building and have been around for more than 600 years, this is something we can't control. We are pleased that our receptionist kept you informed with stories and was more than happy to help with anything you required. We do hope that you'll return in the future, even if its just to see what improvements we've made since receiving your review. Kind regards, The Rose & Crown Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rose and crown wisbech
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireWisbech
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rose & Crown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Luxe Cinema (0.1 miles), Peckover House (0.2 miles), and Wisbech & Fenland Museum (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Lion, The Moja, and Cafe D-Licious.
Is The Rose & Crown Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Wisbech.
Does The Rose & Crown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rose & Crown Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rose & Crown Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Peckover House (0.2 miles), The Castle, Wisbech (0.09 miles), and Wisbech Social Club & Institute & Clocktower (0.06 miles).