We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Old Ferry Boat Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Ferry Boat Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 285: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely location at the end of a small road on the river. However my room was small with dirty windows, bathroom tiny and had to have door open use basin and get dried! Only 7 bedrooms and I gather most are small. Food below par, both dinner and breakfast. The vegetables, carrots and broccoli, were utterly tasteless. Mine seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElwynRM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found this by using Apple Maps looking for something next to the river, thought it was a good find, sat outside watching the narrow boats go by and the food was pretty good, I had the lunch time lasagne and my wife had the fish, no complaints 👌

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First round, run out of large wine glasses! Second round run out of small wine glasses so tried to serve in plastic ones, totally unprofessional and unacceptable. There just seems to be a different problem overtime we go, such a shame.

Helpful?
Thank John A

Travelers are raving about these Holywell hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited The Old Ferry Boat many times over the years when seeing relatives in the area. We had lunch there again last week and felt that the food was very much better this time. In a beautiful setting and friendly Staff we enjoyed it. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank animalcrackers74
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Old Ferry Boat proved to be an excellent, well managed venue for a party of 80 of us, following our grandson's christening . A good buffet meal was provided accompanied by an all round first class drinks service.

Helpful?
1 Thank 972local
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is fab to hear that you and your 80 guests had a great time celebrating your grandsons Christening, see you for the next celebration?! Sam More 

Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub needs to be forcefully removed from Green King and made private ,, it's a beautiful old English Tavern that's been ruined with horrible food ,,, not enough staff and they try so hard to be attentive to all there customers .. Green King you need to get a grip of these reviews and make a decision ... How... More 

Helpful?
Thank svanavich
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and kind words about the team trying their best to be attentive. I will ensure your review is shared with the powers that be. Sam More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a shame: a beautiful location but badly run hotel. Under resourced, staff wise, so queued for everything. Took 20 minutes to find out what our reserved table number was, let alone to order. Bar man surly and can't blame him but other staff stressed and friendly. Food was awful. My husband ordered medium to rare steak but was served... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mandabedford
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, all of your feedback will be shared with the whole team to ensure these things do not happen again. The thing we cannot change is the size of our rooms which can be a little cosy, but we do the best we can with... More 

Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

We arrived by boat at this lovely place (we had booked and were told we must arrive by 12 or would not get a table). It was a lovely setting with free 48 hour mooring for guests. The staff were efficient and friendly and we enjoyed a delicious lunch of Rib of Beef (lots of extra gravy was provided), lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank GillRobson
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and we are pleased you loved our location as much as we do! I will pass on the info about the hand soap...sorry about that! Sam More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

I booked a lunch for 20 WI Ladies for our Summer Outing on 18th June 2016. It is such a lovely location by the river very pleasant to eat inside and outside the Inn with plenty of parking space. The Manager and staff were extremely helpful meeting all our requirements giving us the function room, the food was excellent well... More 

Helpful?
Thank normanil2000
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that your Summer Outing 2016 went well and you enjoyed the whole package! We hope to see you and your group again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

I come to this pub regularly and always come away happy. It's a beautiful place and has wonderful character. The people I bring here with me love it too. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. It's good for children and dogs too. Can't wait for my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Old Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you love this pub as much as we do! We look forward to your next visit too! Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywell
1.8 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
6.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#2 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#9 of 35 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Old Ferry Boat Inn

Address: Holywell Front, Holywell PE27 4TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Holywell
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ferry Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Old Ferry Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ferry Boat Hotel Holywell
Old Ferry Boat Inn Holywell, Cambridgeshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay