We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Mahahual-Xcalac Km 0.350, Mahahual 77940 Mexico
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
$103
View deal
Hotels.com
$103
View deal
eDreams
$94
View deal
Traveluro$180
Orbitz.com$103
Lol.travel$198
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (372)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (29)

About

#4 of 28 in Mahahual
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Enjoy the service and comfort in Quinto SOLÉ, right in front of the beach in the village of Mahahual. Located at the entrance to this paradise on the Costa Maya, Quinto SOLÉ has 16 rooms equipped with everything you need for the most pleasant of stays in Mexico. And as if that weren't enough, the hotel also has an exclusive beach club.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free internet
Pool with view
Coffee shop
Beach
Diving
Taxi service
Full body massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast available
Snorkeling
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Solarium
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
552Reviews26Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 273
  • 157
  • 58
  • 31
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JNinSA wrote a review Dec 2021
86 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Check In was 30 min after 15 p.m and there was no excuse for that like a drink or even a verbal excuse. No Breakfast included. Staff hardly greeting the hotel guests. The interior was beaten up, the room not spotless clean, towels and bed-linen had stains, no hot water in the shower, bed was smaller than booked Queen size, the chairs on the balcony old and torn and no table. Clearly NOT the standard of a 4 Star Hotel. Recommend price 105 USD, we paid 173 USD a night! We were absolutely disappointed as this was supposed to be our holiday treat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kelly S wrote a review Apr 2021
Puerto Morelos, Mexico25 contributions2 helpful votes
We chose to stay here because we visited several years ago when the hotel was newly built and it was beautiful. Good prices and good location. Unfortunately the property has been really neglected and a lot of the details that made it great are now missing. The rooftop pool was dirty and unusable, the restaurant was closed, and there are a lot of repairs needed in the rooms. But we still enjoyed our stay - the view from the balcony is gorgeous, and we got a great sleep on the comfy bed. It's been an extremely difficult year for Mexico tourism and hopefully when things pick up again the hotel will get some much-needed attention!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Missowood wrote a review Jan 2021
London, United Kingdom38 contributions12 helpful votes
This hotel is a 2 star in my opinion. Pleasant front of house staff, very standard room -not much attention to detail. Cracks in the walls in the bathroom and no lightbulb in the lampshade and stains on the bedding. Bog standard and a bit overpriced for what you receive. No lift even though there are 4 floors. My advice to management would be to pay attention to the small details, -a bit of filler, replacing a lightbulb and buying new sheets goes a long way. If you can get this hotel on a cheap deal great but not worth what we paid for 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
AdrianaJoh14 wrote a review Dec 2019
Los Angeles, California54 contributions10 helpful votes
This pristine turquoise front beach hotel sounds great on the paper, clean rooms, great air conditioning, good rates. Unfortunately, Costa Maya Port operators (a private company) #COSTAMAYAMX bought a party place aside the hotel, they turn music at a crazy volume since eight or nine every morning that cruises arrive at the town, which is almost every day. Which means you can't rest at this hotel!. The hotel manager was trying to do her best to convince Costa Maya's employe to keep the volume down. He agreed and tried to convince his bosses to let him take out the speakers they had at the public beach, unfortunately, big bosses of this huge Costa Maya Port operator don't care for local tourists, they only care for the cruise passengers, so most likely if you come to this hotel you won't be able to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Great views mean noise early mornings due to the Costa Maya Port Operators party place to welcome...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from QuintoSole, Social Media Team at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear AdrianaJoh14 Thank you so much for choosing Quinto Sole as the place to stay during your vacation. We are deeply sorry to read you didn't enjoy your experience. All your comments have been sent to the corresponding area and taken into account to provide you with the service you deserve. Without further ado, we hope to see you soon.
Read more
sinebh wrote a review Aug 2019
Oslo, Norway6 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a review for the the RESTAURANT. We were served by Pedro. He kindly offered to make a chicken salad which was not on the menu for a pre-agreed price. He described it deliciously but we were served a tiny plate of a few pieces of lettuce with a bit of chicken on top. Nothing to fill a man. We had to ask for sauce many times. We did not want to order anything after since it was clearly overpriced for the quality and quantity of we got. And the worst was: When we were given the bill it was higher than previously agreed. We mentioned the mistake to Pedro but he stubbornly insisted and did not want to correct the mistake making us feel like we were the stupid ones for not hearing the price he said in the first place. We will certainly not recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from QuintoSole, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Hello, @sinebh. Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are so ashamed about what happened at your visit to the restaurant and we would like to apologize for the situation. Be sure we will take the respective actions to avoid this kind of problem in the future. We hope you can visit us someday to fix the bad image you have of us and make you spend an incredible day at Mahahual and our hotel. Kind regards! Quinto Sole Hotel.
Read more
Denise P wrote a review May 2019
Tucson, Arizona188 contributions50 helpful votes
After reading some of the negative reviews I was tempted to cancel our reservation (we booked several months ago) - I'm glad we didn't! Our sea view room (yes, spend the few extra $) was very large, clean, and bright - and had a constant breeze from the ocean. A/C worked great, good water pressure in the shower, and the bed was probably the most comfortable during our 10 day trip through southern Mexico. The restaurant/bar was very convenient, good food and reasonably priced. And it's a short walk down the malecon if you prefer a more active nightlife. Quinto Sole is close to the cruise ship port, but apparently the ships don't dock on the weekends - you'll have that stretch of coast to yourself.... Daniel at reception was wonderful, he spoke perfect Spanish, English and German, spent about 30 minutes chatting with us about positive & negative things about the cruise ship port, why he preferred working in Mahahual instead of Cancun or Play del Carmen, gave great directions to anything we wanted to find, and warnings - "Don't walk along the jungle road after dark, the kitties (jaguars) like to come out".... So the {very few) negatives.....Most of the beach is unusable due to seaweed at this time of year, obviously beyond the control of a hotel,,,,,there are beach clubs further down the malecon that do clean the beaches (by manual labor),,,,,wifi & cell service were nonexistent (we're on vacation, so who cares???)....rooftop Jacuzzi could use some love & attention ,,,,,that's about all - we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and will happily return :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: spend the few extra $ for a sea view - we were on the second floor and the view was wonderful
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from QuintoSole, Social Media & Content Manager de Quinto Sole at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded May 20, 2019
Dear Denise, We really appreciate your comments. Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at our hotel and we're delighted to know that you'd enjoyed your time with us! We´re glad you took the decision of coming to the hotel and experience by yourself all the great things that you have previously mentioned. Thanks again for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you very soon! Regards!
Read more
MST wrote a review Apr 2019
3 contributions
The hotel is really a fraud. The "ocean view" room that we booked was next to the reception and the restaurant with a minimal view of the ocean! Just a little strip of blue was visible trough the window. The proximity to the restaurant made the room very loud. Since the door didn't close correctly (there was a large gap between door and frame), we heard every word spoken at the reception. The interior looks nice on the webpage, but is made very cheap. If you want hot water, you need to wait 15 minutes. WiFi is free, but you have to log in again every time you open your laptop or smartphone. So in summary: avoid at all cost!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: If you really want to try it, insist on a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from QuintoSole, Social Media & Content Manager de Quinto Sole Hotel at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded May 20, 2019
Minzurich: We are sorry that your experience has not been good. We appreciate your comments and we will gladly take your experience to ensure that our guests live a pleasant experience in Quinto Sole. We have taken into account every detail you have mentioned about the noise, the incorrect door assembly of your room, the waiting time for hot water and wifi. We ask for an apology and again we appreciate the time you took to write your comments and expose your experience. Greetings and nice day!
Read more
Adriana P wrote a review Dec 2018
Mexico City, Mexico7 contributions7 helpful votes
No se queden aquí- cambio de administración y es un desastre. No hay agua caliente, la comida es asquerosa, las cortinas están rotas, dejando así entrar el sol, la almohada tiene bolas, tiene el peor servicio. Do not stay or eat here- this hotel changed administration and new admin doesn’t care. Food is disgusting (we had to send back quesadillas- how do you get that wrong!). There is no hot water, pillows are horrible, drapes are torn therefore letting sun in, service is really bad.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Quinto Sole H, Social Media & Content Manager at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded Jan 31, 2019
Hola Adriana P, Sabemos que cada detalle cuenta, y que lo más importante es brindarles una experiencia maravillosa en todos los aspectos. Efectivamente pasamos por un periodo de ajuste, ya que como comentas, el cambio de administración estaba sucediendo y tenía poco tiempo de cambio. Hemos trabajado mucho para mejorar todos los aspectos, y esperamos que algún día quieran venir a visitarnos nuevamente para conocer los cambios por los que hemos pasado y trabajado. Agradecemos tus comentarios y en verdad los tomamos en cuenta. ¡Saludos y lindo día!
Read more
AstridVallarta wrote a review May 2018
puerto vallarta77 contributions12 helpful votes
I am a travel agent in Mexico at the west coast. Have travelled hundreds of times to the east coast but was not familiar with Mahuahual. The village was nicer than I expected and had some good meals. This hotel however is average at the most. They were a Koox hotel but since a few weeks they do not belong to that chain anymore. In my reservation system I got a message just that the hotel changed names. When I arrived they said I had to go to the hotel next door since they are Koox but they are not. Went next door but the name had nothing to do with this. So the guy at the reception of the hotel next door was very polite and went with me back to this hotel since this happened twice... on the same day. Again they good not find the reservation but said they would give me a room anyway and would check it tomorrow. They told me to check with my travel agent, but I am a travel agent myself and this was a booking for me. They never contacted me. When they gave me the room they gave me a room on the back side. I asked if it was possible to get in the front but they replied "no, since your reservation is for the back side". huh, suddenly they did have my reservation I asked? No, but that is the way it is. Did not use any other amenities. But if this would have happened to one of my clients they would have freaked out very likely. Room was basic but ok, beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was good. Overall experience just ok
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Quinto Sole H, Social Media Manager at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded Jul 5, 2018
Dear Astrid, We are very sorry for the situation and the inconvenience of the feeling of not knowing what was happening with the hotel. In effect, the hotel changed operator and the transition took us a little longer than we expected. We greatly appreciate your comments and, we will ensure that no one goes through this and in no way feel the confusion you felt at the time. We are currently working on the hotel remodeling and striving to make you feel at home so you can enjoy all the wonders of Mahahual. Regards!
Read more
Luis S wrote a review Apr 2018
Minneapolis, Minnesota3 contributions4 helpful votes
Where to start?? Unfriendly front desk, shower didn't have hot water, bathroom sink didn't work, room is filthy, common areas look like they haven't been cleaned in a year... I would have asked for my money back if I could but I was there on a busy weekend and didn't have more options. This property is in dire need of a remodel and serious maintenance. It is not a boutique hotel AT ALL. Avoid it at all cost.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Quinto Sole H, Social Media & Content Manager at Hotel Quinto Sole
Responded Jan 31, 2019
We are sorry that your experience has been that way, unfortunately, your visit was just at the time of change of administration and the hotel was not ready with the changes and adjustments that were started when we received the hotel, at the beginning of May. We appreciate your comments and we will gladly take your experience to ensure that our guests live a pleasant experience in Quinto Sole. We ask for an apology and again we appreciate the time you took to write your comments and expose your experience. Greetings and nice day!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCosta MayaMahahual
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Quinto Sole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Quinto Sole?
Nearby attractions include Zona de Buceo (0.3 miles), Poco Loco's Mini-Golf (0.2 miles), and Tequila Beach Club (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Quinto Sole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Quinto Sole?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Quinto Sole?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Quinto Sole?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Krazy Lobster, Blue Kay Restaurante, and TIERRA VERDE Organic & Vegan Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Quinto Sole?
Yes, guests have access to a pool with a view during their stay.
Is Hotel Quinto Sole located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Mahahual.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Quinto Sole?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Quinto Sole have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.