We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760 Mexico
51 people are viewing this hotel
Bahia Principe
$593
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Expedia.com
$593
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Trip.com
$516
View deal
Booking.com$593
Hotels.com$593
Travelocity$593
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (18401)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 20 in Akumal
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.4
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
47Restaurantswithin 5 miles
28Attractionswithin 5 miles
16603Reviews4824Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 8,957
  • 4,618
  • 1,758
  • 672
  • 600
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gary e wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom140 contributions112 helpful votes
+1
Second time visiting Coba also been to Tulum in the past.Have no complaints again great hotel with really friendly trained staff.Food and drink in the all inclusive I have no complaints at all plenty of choice and quality.Entertainment was good also always some sort of music at the evenings.JOSE and the boys at the Hybiscus pool bar always had a smile and a welcoming friendly hello every day.Also ABRAHAM from the lobby bar gave great service,gave me his personal bottle opener for my Coronas without hesitation I returned it the next night.This act and his friendliness were much appreciated during our stay.We were in block 27B with a fantastic poolside view I would recommend this block to anyone wanting the sane view,we were in 32723 cracking view.Big shout out to our smiley Maid MARIA she was fantastic and always looked as if she was working hard.Only tried one Alacarte so can't really comment much on them.We prefered the Buffet most nights.BIG BIG shout out to MAURICIO (pictured in my uploaded snaps)from the buffet he was always smiling laughing and joking with guests every shift he was on.He was cheering everyone up he served,a great guy and a great asset to the Bahai Franchaise.This guy needs a big pat on the back from the Management there as he was 100% consistent every day always took time to talk and laugh with everyone,hence my title of the review.Ive been twice and would most certainly think about a 3rd time anything to do with BAHAI PRINCIPE means quality to me.I would like Management to thank all the staff I've mentioned as it's nice to be acknowledged for hard work and friendly service.Thanks Bahai again another great Holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JudyB1861 wrote a review Feb 2022
Saskatoon, Canada10 contributions50 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Another amazing trip comes to an end. We were absolutely thrilled to be back, and are sad, as always, to head home. We just got back from our 11th visit to the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. We were there Jan. 31 – Feb. 8. With travelling during pandemic times, we knew that things wouldn’t be perfect for everyone but for us, being able to see and hug our amigos from the resort was priceless! Many of the staff have returned and all the new staff we encountered were doing a great job! Prior to our vacation, we had emailed the Reception Manger with a request for a specific building and to book our a la carte restaurants. We received a reply from Alicia, Front Desk Deputy Manager at the GBP Coba, who said that they will do their best to accommodate our request and if there was anything else we needed to contact her. On check-in, we were happy that they were able to accommodate our request for buildings. Karla, the Guest Services Manager had also pre-booked our a la cartes restaurants. Karla wished us a good stay, and if there were any problems, concerns, or special requests, to contact her. Christian and the other bell hops were very welcoming and helpful. Covid protocols - Overall, we felt very safe and comfortable at the resort. I would say a majority of people wear their masks in enclosed indoor spaces, and everyone is required to wear a mask at the buffet, as well as wearing a glove to get your food. Again, a majority of people followed these rules as they were actively enforced to the best of the staff’s ability. Staff wore masks at all times, and we constantly saw staff sanitizing and cleaning the pool chairs and buffet/tables. Temperature checks and hand sanitizer are required at the entrance of buffets and restaurants, as well. I did note that there were a number of people who chose to wear masks on the trams, at the bars, and walking through the lobbies. This is personal choice and something we chose to do depending on how close we were with others. The resort and grounds continue to be well very maintained and attended to. The shuttle drivers are always happy to take us where we wanted to go. At the beach or by the pool, we never had a problem finding a lounger in the shade. The Kukulcan, Coba’s main buffet staff, especially Jose Caamal, were very hard working and we never waited to have our coffee, water or wine glasses refilled. Food at the buffet was great, as always. There wasn’t a huge change in the buffet since we went in 2019, other than enforcing gloves and the buffet was not as large as before pandemic times – given that the occupancy was about 50%. We loved all the a la cartes we ate it, but this is subjective to what you like and what you order. All of the waiters were very attentive. Luis, waiter at the Don Pablo, Alejandro, waiter at the Dolce Vita, Jose, waiter at the Mediterraneo, and Israel and Randy, waiters at the Le Gourmet restaurant were excellent in their duties. Kudos to Fabilola, the manager of Dolce Vita who went above and below to secure apple pie for my husband for his dessert! We were disappointed that the Golden and Premier Lobbies were closed and that the Food Truck at the quiet pool had limited hours (2:00-6:00pm). At the main Coba lobby bar, Ofelia and Theresa were fun to talk with, smiling under their masks, and attentive to our needs. With all that said, we had an absolutely wonderful vacation. Do not let negative reviews deter you from visiting. It is so important to remember that much like at home, the resort is recovering from the pandemic. So yes, this means there are a few things that are different and there are kinks to work out, but this is normal everywhere you visit post lockdown. The staff are truly so happy to have visitors back and it is shown through their hard work and positive attitudes. After 12 times, we still get just as excited to return and just as sad to leave as we did our very first visit. Remember to be patient, be kind, relax and you’ll have the best vacation! Thank you GBP Coba and we can’t wait to return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Building 27 is has a view of the quiet pool
See more room tips
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded Feb 13, 2022
Dear repeat guest, On behalf the management and all our staff, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guest in our resort once again. Thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Bahia Principe Grand Coba ! It is rewarding for us to know that you spent a wonderful stay in the resort with all your family members. Your honest opinion can be a valuable reference for other customers who are thinking to stay with us, so we deeply appreciate the time you took to share it. Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests, even more when it comes to our frequent ones and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you. Receive our warmest regards from Mexico, Tania Velazquez Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Read more
Sandra S wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just came back from Bahia Principe Grand Coba after staying for 7 days on a family vacation. This is our 3rd time there and we don't have anything bad to say, of course perfect is nothing but please don't make a big deal about the small stuff. They all work very hard for you all day long to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We had our request due to mobility granted even though it is not an easy thing due to the large amount of customers. We had a couple of request while there and a repair to the AC unit, and it was done immediately. Reception was always courteous and ready to help. Grounds are very nice and clean all the time. Transportation was no problem, they were always explaining were they were going and with a good frequency on the service. Entertainment was great, they work all they long for you to always find an activity, even at the quite pool. Paloma was constantly walking around making you feel at home and informing you about the activities, awesome job Paloma. Restaurants were great, lot of food for everyone, I don't know what people complain about, even there is a healthy corner for those that eat with restrictions. Just many people to thanks for their hard work, here are some. Arnold Dominguez, Roberto Gómez, Paloma, Valeriana, Nancy, all of chicos and chicas on the front desk, even the ones in training sorry don't remember all your names. Carlos, Alfredo, Fabiola on the kukulcan restaurant. Adolfo, Ricardo, Roberto on the pool bar. Argenis on the bell boy service. Please note, the hotel is great and they do a lot to make you feel good, also keep in mind those guys work very hard for you so please be kind with them. Don't complain about the minor thing that you will find, keep an open mind and enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Arianna C wrote a review Jun 26
1 contribution
+1
this is NOT a 5 star resort. At the very most this is a 2 star resort. The facilities are completely outdated, the rooms are very old as is the furniture making it uncomfortable, the air conditioning doesn’t work, the refrigerator doesn’t work (anything inside it stays warm). The room towels have been used so much and washed so many times that they feel like sandpaper on your skin as do the pool towels. This is just the beginning! My fiancé and I booked this resort for one week and were very much looking forward to it after having not travelled for over 2 years due to the pandemic. We read reviews that said this place was fantastic and were completely shocked once we arrived. To begin with we arrived at 3PM at the hotel the check in was very quick however we later learned that this wasn’t good as they only gave us wristbands and a room card. We later learned we were supposed to receive pool towel cards (the only way you’ll actually get a pool towel) and a safe key for the room. We had to run to the buffet to get lunch because it closes at 3:30PM when we saw the food we thought this doesn’t look very good but chucked it up to the fact that they were almost closing. When we got to the room I was shocked again, everything looked very old but it was also really hot inside, our room was 25 degrees Celsius, the fridge wasn’t working, the closet light was dead, and the fan inside looked like it was about to fall from the ceiling. We quickly called reception to ask them to switch our room and they asked us to go to the lobby. The resort has over 30 villas so it’s massive, a walk to the lobby is about 10-15 minutes. They have carts around the resort that can take you but they aren’t always available and sometimes they don’t even let you get on. When we finally get to the lobby we are met with a lady named Karen we explain the situation to her and she says that she can only send a maintenance person to the room. I asked her if she could just switch our rooms since the person we spoke with said it was possible and she said we have no rooms. So I asked her if the maintenance person couldn’t fix the issues what would happen and she said “oh then we have rooms”! I was so upset because we had been travelling for almost 12 hours at this point and just wanted to relax I asked her if I could speak with a supervisor at the desk and she said I am the supervisor. Needless to say it was a complete waste of time she refused to change our room and sent us back to ours so that we could see the maintenance guy. When they finally came about 45 minutes later they walked in pointed some temperature gun at the AC and said it was working (even though the thermostat was clearly showing 25) and that it would cool down in a few hours, he then said he would have someone change the fridge and changed the direction of the fan. Until the very last day of our stay our room was at 24 degrees! They never changed the fridge that day we had to go back to the lobby to ask that someone please change it and even then it barely worked. It was 5pm when we were finally able to get to the pool and to our surprise the bar closed at 5 there and they refused to give us towels because they all leave at 5 there. We ended up going back to the lobby to figure out the reservations for the restaurant. We arrived on the Saturday for a 1 week stay and had 3 reservations available when we tried to book EVERYTHING was full! We asked the person at reception how we could reserve and they said if nothing is showing then you can’t book! I couldn’t believe it. The next day we managed to get 2 reservations one at 8:30 and one at 5:30pm which was late or too early. For dinner we ended up having to go to the buffet which was absolute garbage. They don’t even have real Mexican food everything looked terrible and just sits out for the 3-4 hours the buffet is open. We were sick for 4 days!! Until finally I went to the lobby and got medicine because my stomach couldn’t take it anymore. They don’t give you bottled water anywhere except for your room so we weren’t sure if it was potentially the water as well. Speaking of drinks the alcohol was terrible as well. They give you the cheapest one they have unless you explicitly ask for another brand and everything is mixed with syrups that are so sweet it doesn’t taste good. You also get a different version of whatever you ask for at each bar so none of the bartenders know how to make the same drink twice. On the Wednesday we couldn’t take being at the hotel anymore so we booked one night at a resort nearby (Hilton Tulum - would highly recommend) this was a completely different experience the food was fresh, the installations were beautiful and the service was amazing. We were so sad to return to our hotel on the Thursday we went back to the buffet because we had to eat but honestly dreaded every step of the way it became a chore to eat. Also when we first arrived you had to wear masks inside the buffet they refused to let you in other wise on Thursday my fiancé had to buy a mask because he lost his ($15USD may I add) because the hotel doesn’t have spare ones only to find out that they had magically changed the rules on Wednesday and masks were no longer needed. On Friday guest services called us because they had received notice about the medication we bought and wanted to see how were feeling. We spoke to a young lady named Iris who was apologetic about our experience and offered to change our reservation for that night so we could go later to the restaurant and let us know she would share the details of our experience with the management team during their meeting. That was it, nothing else. We went to the Tequila restaurant that night (the only restaurant we went to) and to our surprise we were greeted by the host who let us know the reservation time hadn’t been changed and that only a note had been added but that he would try to see what he could to let us dine. There were more than 20 tables available at the time. They finally sat us down and guess what? it was another buffet and it wasn’t even good! If you’ve gotten this far please reconsider your stay at this resort I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. I will never go back here and will tell everyone I know to never book this resort. Everything from beginning to end was terrible we couldn’t wait to get back home.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Gazza wrote a review Jun 25
London, United Kingdom257 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
Rough as………avoid. 844613332 We are coming to the end of our 11 night holiday and we definitely will not be returning any time soon. Our holiday has been slightly blighted by 5 days of poor weather but putting this aside this hotel needs to improve. I can best compare it to a zoo full of loud foul mouthed large groups of people from many different countries. If you are a couple wanting a relaxing & peaceful break forget this place. The positives are the hotel is set in really nice grounds. The staff are very helpful & friendly and it is generally kept clean. Unfortunately that is where the positives end. The rooms are ok. Very dated but they were clean. Aircon worked fine. The food & ala-carte restaurants were very disappointing. We were not told that we could only book the ala-carte restaurants for 5 nights out of our 11 night stay. On the other nights the only choice was the main buffet restaurant which was like a cattle market. We decided in the end to just have breakfast in there and on the nights we didn’t have a restaurant reservation we settled for a late afternoon burger from La Casita aka The Truck Stop. The entertainment was ok. We went to several shows and enjoyed the 80s night & rock show. We went to the Origen show at Tulum and this was great well worth 10 dollars however this again was spoilt by a large group of Americans who blocked out a full row of seats by having one person sit at the end of each row and then reserved the entire row for their group. They arrived minutes before the show started and then proceeded to hold up phones to record the show. They were told to put phones down as they were blocking everyone’s view and they totally ignored us. Very rude & unacceptable. We told a member of staff who did nothing. The hotel need to introduce a no mobile phone policy during the shows. Other examples of poor behaviour we witnessed was the beach traders selling cigars & shawls doing drug deals in front of everyone on the beach, groups of Americans playing loud offensive music via Bluetooth speakers at the swim up bars. I am no prood but I got sick of hearing music full of expletives and references to adult content. I spoke to the bar staff who told them to turn it off. We also saw one woman openly breast feeding in a jacuzzi. There is a time & place. The clientele is letting this hotel down. In summary we are a couple in our 40’s and this hotel is not for couples and is rough. We tried to upgrade to Akumal adults only but we’re told there was no availability which we don’t believe. There are no quiet adult only bars and we found ourselves using the Daquiri bar every night. If your looking for a quiet relaxing break forget this place you can go to Butlins for a fraction of the price. Go to Tripadvisor | Privacy Policy | Contact Us Please do not reply directly to this e-mail. This e-mail was sent from a notification-only address that cannot accept incoming e-mail. If you have questions or need assistance, ask us here TripAdvisor LLC, 400 1st Ave., Needham, MA 02494, USA © 2022 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved. TripAdvisor, the TripAdvisor logo, the logo of the owl, Travelers' Choice and the logo of Travelers' Choice are registered trademarks or trademarks of TripAdvisor LLC in the US and / or other countries.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. Accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may be experienced during your last visit. We sincerely regret for have not met some of your expectations. Be sure we constantly work with our staff in order to improve the services and attention we offer to our valuable clients and we are open to receive all suggestions, criticism and compliments because this is the best way we will be able to be better every day. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to restore your confidence in our chain and offer you a totally different experience. Receive our warmest regards, Arnold Domínguez Bahia Principe Grand Coba.
Read more
ChapOwl wrote a review Jun 21
Sheffield, United Kingdom32 contributions51 helpful votes
My rating could be considered harsh an din relation to the great staff, and service it should be. We had no complaints regarding service, we had a few niggles in the room on occasion, tv suddenly not working, telephone not working when we wanted to contact reception, they have an app that you can log these and the maintenance team arrived straight away, 5 mins fixed and gone. The hotel is part of a group of Bahia Principe Hotels, the COBA, teh AKUMEL and the TULUM, they provide electric buggies and trollies to take you around the resort and to the beach it's a great service. SO WHY RATE IT A THREE, we have a 5 year old and a toddler, and chose this hotel because it advertises it's facilities for families and children, a great kids play pool, with slides, two good pools, a theatre and kids club, however during our stay and I've seen similar reviews there were many groups of young men, women, large mixed groups of varying nationalities that were loud, boisterous and inappropriate for us to have our children around (I'm no prood) and I'm not against that, but not in a hotel that advertises itself as a family appropriate venue, it lets the hotel down, and it's not just a few, during our stay there were many, with nowhere to take the children in the early evening after dinner to have a quiet evening drink or get away without heading away from the main hotel area, and no other facilities were available in the evening our only option was to take the kids back to the room and play card games and entertain them there. As a couple or group its a great hotel, as a family i'm afraid I would investigate alternatives. The rooms are a bit tired, good space, but in need of some upgrading, I've also read some reports about the beach. There is no beach at the COBA the beach is at the AKUMEL, buses/trollies run to the beach every 5 minutes and are all over the resort so easily accessible, and contrary to some reviews relatively easy walking distance, we were villa 16 and with two kids it only took 15 mins and is an easy safe walk. The beach is rocky but they have pier with steps into the water and the bay is shallow, the kids were fine, but I would recommend some beach/waterproof shoes. Food in the buffet is average for this type of all inclusive and a bit repetitive, there are some options but limited, we booked into a couple of the theme restaurants, average too except the Tequila Mexican restaurant at the TULUM this was excellent, would have eaten here every night if we could. There's a Mexican square themed shopping centre called the Hacienda, again accessible by the on site trolley buses, shared with the other hotels, it has gift shops, a general store and bar, nightclub (closed during our stay) and casino, it was OK occasionally for a change. Overall it's OK, rooms are OK, Food is OK, It's OK but not recommended in my opinion for families unless you're happy to tolerate some of the behaviour around the pool, bars and evening entertainment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. Your honest opinion can be a valuable reference for other customers who are thinking to stay with us, so we deeply appreciate the time you took to share it. Every word is welcomed as it helps to improve the quality of our hotel and motivates to be the best hotel in the Riviera Maya. We are very happy to hear that the problems you reported where resolved promptly and that you were content with the quality of our response. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope you are able to give us another chance to offer you a better experience. Sending you our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean, Arnold Domínguez Bahia Principe Grand Coba.
Read more
Rachel 333 wrote a review Jun 21
Bristol, United Kingdom22 contributions20 helpful votes
Overall, this was our third stay at Coba and we had a great time. Since our last stay, pre-pandemic, things have changed a little but nothing too drastic. Hotel The hotel itself is great, lots of choice of places to be and things to do. They were doing some minor maintenance while we were there such as re-painting, new balustrades etc which was nice to see. It's quite a big place, we like to walk and take it all in, including the wildlife everywhere. The trolleys/buggies are great fun too to get you around if you would rather. Staff all really friendly. Wifi was a little intermittent. Previously when we have stayed we were allowed to visit Tulum hotel and use their facilities too including the buffet. This has now changed and it's Coba only. You can upgrade for 15$ per person per day but this seemed expensive. Rooms The rooms in the hotel are average. Great size but they are now a little dated and appear maybe to have been left alone a little in the past few years. Nothing major but could do with an update. Personally, we don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. We did have an issue with the water going off completely but we called maintenance and they attended really quickly. On check in we had dirty pillows on the bed - but again quickly remedied once we told them - all of the other cleaning was great and daily. Room Service/Mini Bar Not a lot of choice and not restocked daily. We also didn't get given any tea or coffee facilities which we have had in the room on previous visits. We found we had to call the conceirge daily for more, but they were quick to provide this once called. We celebrated a birthday during our stay and they kindly gifted us a bottle of champage to enjoy which was lovely and much appreciated. Food The all inclusive buffet has lots of choice - but is pretty average food. The best bets are the live cooking counters for Pizza, Pasta and Meat/Seafood or Omlette and Eggs for Breakfast. We stayed for 7 days and got 3 a la Cartes. The Japanese show cooking was brilliant. The French Gourmet was delicious. The italian was average in our opinion. Entertainment The entertainment at this hotel is great. Really something for everyone. By day there are multiple activities from Yoga to Water Polo, Dance Classes, Foam Party, Volleyball, Bingo. They had so much choice and for all weathers. By night, the theatre shows are entertaining, lots of dancers and last about an hour. On the terrace there is Karaoke and loads of bands and singers with dancing. We did book in to see the Origen show which is an extra, believing it was the show we had previously see at the Hacienda. It wasn't so we cancelled as we were told due to being in the Tulum Hotel we would have to pay for the show ticket and our drinks on top - despite being the same as what we could get at Coba. Beach We found the beach a little lacking this time as there is now a Coba section that was small. Our visit was in Sargassum seaweed season and the staff we working tirelessly to clear the beach but it was a never ending task, and quite smelly. We did love seeing that they still have turtle nests on the beach which are clearly marked for tourists to leave alone. Spa We booked into the spa for the first time this trip and it was lovely. A little more expensive than we have paid elsewhere but the service was great. We both had a Body Scrub, Massage and Facial. Both Rosa and Ada were fantastic - if you're looking to go to the spa then please request them as you won't be disappointed with the service or treatment. Overall, it was a good stay (despite the cyclone weather warning), sad to see some ways the service level has changed since our last stay in 2019 but I'm sure the hotel are improving all the time as a result.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, On behalf of our entire team we want to thank you for choosing our hotel once again as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your opinion from the services you enjoyed while you were with us. There is no better reward for our work than reading the excellent time that you had due the excellent services and attention from all our staff. Your honest opinion can be a valuable reference for other customers who are thinking to stay with us, so we deeply appreciate the time you took to share it. We are very happy to hear that the problems you reported where resolved promptly and that you were content with the quality of our response. Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services. Thank you once again for your choice and we are looking forward to your next visit in order to repeat this very nice experience. Receive our warmest regards from Mexico, Arnold Domínguez Bahia Principe Grand Coba.
Read more
sue s wrote a review Jun 17
1 contribution
Had a fantastic holiday staying here with a family party, the staff were amazing, food great. The only complaint I have have is it’s very tired, needs updating. The snack bar by the pool was great but come late evening, the bar staff were spiking drinks and were providing drugs which is totally unacceptable, hoping with enough complaints something will get done
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Bahia Principe Grand Coba. It is a pleasure to read your kind words and to know you could enjoy the personal attention our staff offer and the food selection. Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed. We hope to have a second chance to welcome you at our little paradise! Our best regards, Arnold Domínguez Grand Bahia Principe Coba.
Read more
Rob P wrote a review Jun 16
2 contributions
I have stayed at this hotel on 6 previous occasions and my recent stay with my daughter and my grandson was the worst experience in all my years of World travel. The guest services team were totally unwilling to help with the multiple complaints that we had to make while we were there, they were incompetent, insolent and rude. Standards at the hotel have very definitely slipped, the hotel was overbooked and understaffed and they were completely unable to cope with the situation. Despite trying to contact the hotel customer services on numerous occasions they have still not responded. If you are thinking about this hotel as the perfect holiday destination, you should change your mind and look elsewhere. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL, IT IS ABSOLUTELY APPALLING AND DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR A 5 STAR RATING
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 1 week ago
Dear repeat Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your comments about your stay in Bahia Principe Grand Coba We really regret our services could not meet to your entire expectations this time. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have had with the time of response of some of our services; be sure we constantly work with our staff in order to improve the attention we offer to our valuable clients Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again to offer you a totally different experience. Our best regards! Arnold Domínguez Bahia Principe Grand Coba.
Read more
Louise J wrote a review Jun 16
Cardiff, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely stay, room slightly dated but very clean and lovely staff, food good . Some people got very drunk but security staff removed them and took them back to their rooms . Pools large and cleaned daily grounds immaculate. Ideal for family holiday
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Grand Coba and for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. It is a real pleasure to read your kind words and to know that you really had a good time with us due to the food selection, our pools, nice rooms, the personal attention of our staff and more! This is our motivation to continue exceeding our guests’ expectations. If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. Best Regards. Arnold Domínguez Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$153 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe coba akumal, hotel gran bahia principe, grand bahia principe coba, bahia principe coba mexico, gran bahia coba, gran bahia principe resort coba, gran bahia principe coba hotel, gran principe, gran bahia principe mexico, bahia coba
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1080
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Coba
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Nearby attractions include Akumal Beach (2.7 miles), Akumal Natura Rescue (4.2 miles), and Mayamar (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverna Akumal, Imelda's Ecocina Akumal, and Turtle Bay Cafe & Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Coba have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Coba offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Coba offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Grand Coba?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.