Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

Traveler (18171)
Panorama of the Activities Pool at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
360
Panoramas (15)
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$1,011
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 resorts in Akumal
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive discounts!

Location

Carretera Chetumal - Cancún Km 250., Akumal 77760 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
24.4 mi
See all flights
Cozumel Airport
28.1 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles13,915 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Many guests at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal commend the hotel's vibrant atmosphere, with entertainment that keeps the mood lively and welcoming. While the rooms may be seen as outdated by some travelers, their cleanliness earns consistent praise. The service is generally applauded for staff dedication, though experiences can vary. Amenities are a highlight, offering a variety of dining and leisure activities, despite some perceived areas for enhancement. Opinions on value are mixed, with some guests noting extra costs but others finding the pricing reasonable. The hotel's prime location near the beach is frequently celebrated by visitors.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Abundant

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
13,915Reviews4,764Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 8,287
  • 3,295
  • 1,181
  • 593
  • 560
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
J O R D A N wrote a review Mar 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom167 contributions34 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Here is a lengthy, but comprehensive and realistic review of the hotel.

We have just come back after a very relaxing and luxurious vacation at the Bahia P Luxury Akumal, Mexico. As avid travellers- we were recommended this hotel after staying at the BP lux Ambar. This is a fabulous hotel and overall It has honestly been one of the best holidays both myself and partner have been on.

Firstly, let’s set the basics. Package with TUI, booked a standard room including transfers. 2 adults travelling for leisure. 1 adult Gluten free, (key word allergy/ allergies / Coeliac just incase specifically searching for this at the hotel.)

Travel time from Cancun airport was approximately 1hour 25 minutes. (This was via TUI coach)

First impressions, Akumal is certainly the most impressive of the 4 hotels on this site. If you are debating which to stay at, Akumal (best as also has adults only area) and everything on Akumal grounds including beach. Other areas (coba/tulum) were lovely also, but we just felt a little more luxury at Akumal. Difference between Sian Khan (adults only) was that Akumal has the beach where as SK is set in a jungle.

On arrival, certainly the most impressive large sculptures. very tentative bell boys, lovely reception staff, very accommodating and lovely touch to have champagne on arrival. Bands given at reception, be mindful to highlight you are a Bahia member if you are so that you are given correct band that gives additional benefits. Quick process, and arrive at rooms quickly with bell boy via golf karts.

Room wise, we upgraded at reception, costing additional £240. Premium, newly refurbished room. Was it worth it.. ABSOLUTELY! It was bliss, very high tech as everything (lights/aircon) was on your phone! - great option there Bahia! We did try and do this prior with TUI, but it was in excess of £1000!! Ocean rooms /adult only equally as lovely if you are wanting to upgrade. Well worth the money! We stayed block 61, great spot, equidistant from beach/adults only area and reception.

Money exchange available at reception - better than UK exchange rates at time.

Shuttles around the resort are very frequent and easy to catch. If you are really lazy, or just want ultimate relax, you won’t have to walk far at all!

Towels- free of charge, collection at main pool cabana, or if adults only(can use these facility’s if over 18 free of charge) then in villa 83 by pool.

Swimming pools- 2 lovely large pools, beautiful scenery and grounds immaculate. The grounds staff work so hard, and it really shows! Personally spent most of the time at other adults only infinity pool. entertainment at all pools, just be mindful adults only do play adult games (a good laugh) otherwise other pools child friendly. Waiting staff incredible, didn’t lift a finger once with delivery of drinks non stop.

When you arrive, worth booking a bike trip (cycling)in the morning /afternoon, as you will get to see all areas of the hotel including beach club/ dolphin areas and turtle area.

RECOMMENDATION- bring your own Stanley cups (keep cool). These are refilled with no charge and saves several trips to the bar if you so wish. Would recommend Pina/mango margarita incredible!! Also, bring dollars and tip $1 each time. They will go above and beyond for you!

Food wise, as stated before. On arrival taken to guest services once checked in to inform of allergies. Gluten free/other allergies, you will be given a letter and this is to be given at each restaurant. They take this very seriously and you will be pleased to know will again go above and beyond for you. Offer separate serving instruments as well as separately prepared food areas. It was so easy to eat here and if you want to order anything GF, or allergy specific they will make you whatever you want! Cannot complain at all, and thankfully no illness throughout the time staying here.

*top tip would be to pre-book on the app restaurant’s *

If you are GF, avoid tequila, or in general would avoid as same as the main restaurant. Otherwise we dined in 12 of the Al la carte and they were all delicious! You will not be disappointed. Favourite would be the steak theme which was called Katok or the Italian at dolcé vita. Staff all very attentive, incredibly polite and very knowledgeable. If you are vegan/Vegetarian, lots of great options also.

Recommendation- be aware men need to wear trousers in appropriate restaurant’s. Linens/chinos were fine!

Evening Entertainment fair… The entertainment team-cannot fault, boundless energy and lots of good prizes to be won with all the games! However, we have been to lots of resorts globally and I do feel that reading reviews about incredible west end shows such as “the lion king” or other large scale productions was a bit inaccurate. Perhaps we are a little spoiled but there was some shows but the “west end style” were non-existent. That being fair there were 2 productions of the beetles and a Mexican fiesta (additional 300$ MXN) that I heard mixed reviews of. Otherwise, the bands, duos and other dj’s they had on, including the silent discos were brilliant.

Hacienda great place after 11pm, if you’re after the night life! Give it a go if you’re with a group of people- Lots of dancing, DJ’s and drinks (all included within your stay free of change!)

Drinks wise, mostly branded, Havana club, Jack Daniel’s etc. wine fair. Diet Coke/ Fanta and sprite basics here, Option to pay extra for wine (i.e 19 crimes) typical hotel prices. Mini fridge free of charge including all drinks and snacks. Can be refilled whenever!

Cashless hotel, all put on room and paid at the end. Including spa treatments.

Only area of improvement would be the Gym facilities - fair. very small and hot in there with no towels for guest to use. I do feel this needs attention in order to be a luxury hotel. Additionally, when we stayed at a luxury Bahia previously we had a butler and had services like room aromatherapy which was not available here- would be a touch that would truly excel the 5* status.

Special mention to Luis and Alondra at reception, who when the AC was down (blowing hot/warm air, despite on 16) were able to sort this out swiftly and compensate appropriately. Be mindful if this does happen, contact 0 and they will send someone out asap. Easy and quick fix. Thank you so much.

Also, special mention to Isobel TUI rep. Incredible service and addition to the hotel. Truly a remarkable representative for TUI, unbelievably knowledgeable about the area and make sure you see her at the meeting. I really feel, without her it would potentially have been not as great of an experience.

Mixture of guests, Canadian/ USA/ French and UK mainly. English speaking.

As a very seasoned traveller, Would I recommend this hotel- absolutely! Great 2 week holiday, fab service, food excellent, great choice hotel you adults only/ adults with children/ young adults or older travellers. Beach - white sand, lots of shade and pool areas lovely. Would definitely stay at Akumal over coba/ Tulum (and upgrade the room to premium rooms)

Top tips for travellers-
1- bring cooler cups with you
2- bring 1$ bills for tips (we averaged $10 a day)
3- clips for towels (as it can be very windy but needed!)
4- check in online and book restaurant’s 10 days before travelling to this destination.

Thank you again Bahia, we look forward to coming again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Mar 9, 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of your recent stay at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal, Mexico. We're thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing and luxurious vacation, enjoying our amenities, accommodations, and dining options. We appreciate your feedback and recommendations for future travelers. We'll ensure to pass on your compliments to our dedicated team members. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic vacation in the near future! Best regards from Mexico, Ahiram Tavarez Online Reputation Bahía Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelpig2014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Atherstone, United Kingdom35 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Usually after a 2 week holiday I am ready to return home but not here, this was the most relaxing holiday my wife and I have ever experienced. Our room was lovely with a great view from the balcony, cleaned every day and mini bar restocked.we had breakfast every day at los corales which has a lovely view of the sea with a nice breeze, you don’t have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sunbed with shade here as there are numerous options here with choice of pools and beaches. We really enjoyed the food in the snack bar at lunch which has a lot of options and never struggled to get a table, sports bar is fantastic with a wide range of drinks and numerous screens they even showed the six nations , bonus!!. We tried a few a la cartes all were good with the exception of the don pablo where my wife’s “chateau briand ” was so bad the waiter without us asking brought her out a New York steak which wasn’t even on the menu and my main meal was 4 prawns on a bed of ambrosia creamed rice, truly awful.you will see a lot of wild life here in the beautiful gardens from Mexican badgers to Yucatan woodpeckers and iguanas best sight I saw was an osprey take a fish out of the sea. Wonderful. Beach was kept beautifully clean with a couple of nice swimming areas, if you fancy a day out to playa del Carmen take the buggy to the hacienda and catch the collectivo 40 pesos each way and it’s just as quick as a taxi as they drive like ayrton senna for lunch in pdc go to ferrons jerk chicken you won’t be disappointed. Loved the mariachi band on Thursday at the poolside but felt a bit sorry for them as people were ignoring them to stuff their faces with tacos. As a lot of people have commented this hotel is made by its staff they are fantastic, they are hard working ,friendly people so please tip them special thanks go out to braulio from the snack bar, smashing chap who was always helpful with my sketchy Spanish. To sum up don’t just sit there thinking about it BOOK THIS HOTEL you won’t regret it
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear Guest: We send you our gratitude for being guest for a few days in our wonderful complex! It is always fantastic to know when our clients have had an unforgettable time in our resort but we are more than happy to prove that this was thanks to the excellent and personal attention provided by our staff, be sure this is our incentive to provide the most incredible moments for our guests, we will certainly share your comments with our entire team. Please do not hesitate to visit us in the future, we believe you will be very pleased with our attention once again. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Kind regards! Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
2skidivers wrote a review Aug 2020
Silverthorne, Colorado353 contributions521 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
BPL Akumal is open but Sian Ka'an, Coba and Tulum are still closed. (Tulum is being renovated) We were there July 7-14 just after it reopened. Between Sian Ka'an and Akumal, we have been here about 7 times and really like the food, premium liquors, and staff. It's not the best beach and the swimming areas are very shallow and protected. The seaweed is a problem again but that is true throughout the Caribbean. The rooms (Junior Suites) are basically the same whether you are in the new Adults Only Building or the older, 3 story, 18 room buildings. (we prefer the 3rd floor of the older buildings)

Mexican Resorts are limited to 30% capacity. I don't think they were even close to that full They have removed many chairs around the pool and beach to allow for Social Distancing. There are signs on the floor marking 6ft distances and traffic direction.

When you arrive security will check your temperature. The staff is checked daily. Al of the staff wears masks. This includes everyone from the receptionists and waiters who have face to face contact with the guests to the maintenance people and gardeners. There is hand sanitizer everywhere even in the personal protection kit (with 2 masks) in your room. The room is sanitized before you arrive and only the one housekeeper that is assigned to your room is allowed inside. When you need something for the minibar, you call the butler and they will come to your room with a full compliment of minibar stuff, knock on the door and set up a tray in the hallway and you take whatever you want. They have removed the iron, ironing board, coffee maker, throw pillows, all the paper goods and anything that cannot be easily and thoroughly cleaned. There were an unopened box of tissues and 2 rolls of sealed toilet paper for the guest must put it on the holder.

Not all the restaurants were open. The Arlequin (best) restaurant was closed but the menu was served in Frutos de Mar several nights a week. The Rodezio restaurant was closed. They did not have the same atmosphere as there were no tablecloths or linen napkins or candles or flowers on the tables. In fact the tables were sanitized after people left and were bare when you are seated. The waiters bring the glasses and silverware after you are seated

The main buffet opened while we were there. Guests are not allowed to touch the utensils. There is kitchen staff to put the food on your plate. Some things are individual portions and you can pick up a dish. The tables were spaced and half the buffet and second dining room were closed but there still was an excellent selection of great food.

Understandably, health safety has to take precedence over everything else. Bahia Principe Resorts seem to be doing everything possible to prevent the spread of any infectious disease.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We prefer 3rd floor of the smaller ( older) buildings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Aug 4, 2020
Dear guest, Receive our warmest regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean. The nice notes like the one you kindly posted are very appreciated by our team. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay with the Bahia family at the Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. We will make sure your stay is nothing else but a great experience once again. Kind Regards from sunny Mexico, Karina Guzmán Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Jan 2020
Winchester, United Kingdom26 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am going to try and make this review as honest as it is explanatory, I have read a lot of reviews about this hotel which are rating it highly but there are some down sides to this massive resort.
First the positives.

1. Great location, beach is clean and snorkelling quite good, although visibility varies depending on the weather.
You can walk along the beach for about 2 miles and the sand is clear of seaweed.
The grounds are kept impeccably tidy and look amazing with lots of wildlife about : Coatis, Iguanas , Mexican Boar, Bats and Agoutis.

2. The resort is huge as you can use the facilities at other hotels : Coba, Tulum and Sian Khan. Lots of swimming pools and potential sun beds although sometimes you have to keep walking for awhile to find free ones!

3. Staff and room service were pretty good, especially as it’s free for all inclusive guests. Most staff did their very best to help you enjoy your stay and we were often asked what they could do to improve things.

4. The Hacienda area of the resort was lovely, be sure to go and enjoy the Mexican fiesta night and the shops.
The atmosphere was lovely here.
You can find tennis courts here too which looked good.

Now the negatives.

1. The rooms in our block (7523, 7521,7525, 7520) all had an awful musty smell which never went away despite our complaints.
They did try and improve things with a dehumidifier but to no avail , I think the air conditioning units might need replacing. Ours broke down as well and no one took it seriously.
All my clothes smell awful on my return home , even though I never wore some of them at all.
The rooms were clean and large enough , the bed was huge and the bathroom adequate.
The bed linen could also have been better as although it seemed clean had some unfortunate stains !

2. This whole block had no view and the huge palm trees etc were right outside and almost growing on to the balcony so no view whatsoever .

3. The most disappointing large problem they have here is keeping/getting the food hot.
Sadly at no point on this 14 day holiday did I receive piping hot food on my plate no matter which restaurant I went to or from the buffet.
This is particularly bad when you are ordering meat, seafood and fish.
Most dishes came luke warm at best some tepid, stone cold at worst.
During the second week of my stay I became ill with a tummy bug and I’m still unwell after returning home.
Be very careful when ordering! I wish I had stuck to cold food and salads.

To summarise I would like to say it’s such a shame that these negatives let them down because the location and service, cleanliness and beauty of the area could really make this place so much better, indeed it could be outstanding.
I would suggest the Hotel manager eats at the buffet and the restaurants and decides if the food is hot enough !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationAku, Propietario at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear guest, First of all thank you for trusting the Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share us some valuable comments about your stay with us. The suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service. All comments, observation and suggestion are welcome in our work team, they help us to improve the area needed. We really regret you were not impressed with some of our services, we have taken note of these comments in order to take proper measures to guarantee our guests' enjoyment. It will be pleasure to welcome you next time so that you could enjoy your vacations again at our resort. Kind regards, Sheila Delgado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Florynn W wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom19 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have visited this resort for couple weeks started just before New Year!
Our first impression during the check in was horrible. Even if we placed our special request two weeks in advance and we have spoken with the hotel, they ignored it and they said cannot be respected because they haven’t any room available.
In this case we tried to tip one of the reception staff a lady named Alecija, given her $20 to find a good room for our two weeks holiday. You have to take into consideration this was happen on 31st of December with just a few hours before New Year.
She has promised us a very good room but have a guess we have received the worst room possible from the entire complex, full of insects and mould and the smell was horrible.
We came back to her, but she couldn’t change until the shift manager found a slightly better room in the same block. So, wasting time and money plus a lot of stress.
During our stay we booked an excursion which again was wasting time and special money $112 /each. The weather in this particular day was rainy and quite boring in terms with what we have seen comparing to other excursions made during other holidays in different parts of the world. We have spoken with other persons which have been on different trips and the impression was the same.
The food was ok just in our first couple of days, (New Year) after this was very repetitive and the quality has dropped a lot, very similar with a 3 * hotel.
Entertainment was ok, they tried to please everyone.
A la carte restaurants ok but not all of them. Very good Arlequin, Rodizio, Don Pablo, Gourmet from Coba. Tried to avoid Fruttos de Mar and Dolce Vita.
The services inside the resort are very good. Mexican people are very kind, working hard to please us and we have appreciated this a lot. The management is poor, as they must invest the profit in the accommodation sector and also on the beach site to be better cleaned and disinfected.
The landscape and mother nature was so generous with this corner of the world but have to be much better administered.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationAku, Propietario at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for choosing our little paradise for your Mexican holidays! All comments, observations and suggestions are welcome in our work team, they help us to improve the area needed, we have taken note of these comments in order to take proper measures to guarantee our guests' enjoyment. Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services, so if you decide to come back in the future we will be more than happy to welcome you ! Kindest regards, Sheila Delgado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
queenempress wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I booked a 5-night all-inclusive stay at this lovely resort. Overall it is a great place to vacation with for the most part good service and great food at the a la carte restaurants. I ended in in villa 47 2nd floor which his supposed to be oceanfront NOT ocean view which they make very clear once you arrive. That being said; our ocean ront room and ocean view was hindered by trees as was by friends staying in villa 48 on the 3rd floor. Rooms were clean and the ground of the hotel are kept groomed. Food at the buffet was best for breakfast and lunch but for dinner, we dined at a la carte restaurant every night with Maiko being our favorite. Dinner at Alux ( formal, no shorts) Gran Tortuga ( brazilian ) and Frutos was also very nice. The drinks were top shelf which is surprising given most all inclusives give you less than the best. Service on the beach is scant but the beach bar and beach itslelf is amzaing with beautifual water and clear enough for you to see all the fish swimming by. My least favorite aspect of the hotel is the service in the sports bar. The waitress we had on more than one occasion, Wendy, appeared to be rude and would often take half our orders, walk away without saying anything and would give attitude when called back to finish taking our orders. This occured on more than one occasion. Overall great place to stay and the fact that you get to enjoy the other hotels, Coba, Sian Ka'hn and Tulum is a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, Online Reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Dear guest, Receive our warmest regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean. The nice notes like the one you kindly posted are very appreciated by our team. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay with the Bahia family at the Bahia Principe Akumal. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. We will make sure your stay is nothing else but a great experience once again. Kind Regards from sunny Mexico, Karina Guzmán Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HazelG51 wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom26 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we have just returned from the Bahia Akumal and we didn't want to leave.
the Hotel was a very good standard and our room was wonderful with ocean views.
we had a butler service if required and the room was cleaned every day with lots of fresh towels (Big bath towels too) The food in the main buffet was plentiful. lots of variations.The waiters Jose and Edgar looked after our coffee requirements very well. the A La carte restaurants were really good and no limits to when you could go. Our favourites was the sea food and the Gourmet restaurants. the service in both second to none! the beach was so nice no seaweed issues when we visited plenty of sun beds and shades. The beach bar - white sands was looked after by Jorje and his team he was always cheerful. the bar with the swings was also a good place to visit lots of cheerful staff always happy to help.
The yoga in the mornings ran by Victor and Louisiana was a great class on the pier over the sea they also did other classes which were very poplular.
All in all a great hotel we were really looked after and felt very spoilt. would definitely go back next time we visit Mexico - miss it already!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was 4822 in the middle of everything
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationAku, Propietario at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Guest, Allow us to thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and choosing our hotel to spend your holiday! Thank you for mentioning our staff, they have already received your congratulations. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again. Do not hesitate on contact us at: info.coba@bahia-pricipe.com on your next vacations ! Our best regards, Sheila Delgado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curt L wrote a review Mar 2020
Woodbury, Connecticut211 contributions239 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from 9 nights at the Bahia Principe Akumal. If you are looking for a relaxing sun filled vacation with no stress, you can stop looking, this is it. It fills all the squares, big rooms, excellent internet, great beaches and pools, happy employees, plenty of entertainment, golf, and excellent food. First, you must make your dinner ala carte reservations before you arrive (14 days is the earliest you can make them and cannot make ala carte reservations for the first night or the last night. The dinner buffet is varied with plenty of options but it doesn't compare to the ala carte restaurants. DO NOT FORGET, make your reservations. This is done by email to info@bahia-principe.com. We stayed at Akumal because it was the closest to the beach. We are heading back for another 9 night adventure in 2 weeks and will stay at the "adults only" area because the rooms have been upgraded and it is closer to the beach. We are coming back because it is hard to top this place. I must admit we needed 2 things, a beach and a golf course. As for the golf, I played early every day for 7 days and cruised around in under 3 hours. Their 7 day unlimited package at $541 is very reasonable if you want to play lots of golf. Even their day rate for people staying at the resort is reasonable. The golf course is excellent but bring plenty of golf balls, between the jungle and the water, you will probably lose a few. I loved this place and am looking forward to going back in 2 weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Guest, On behalf of our team we thank you for sharing your vacation experience at our hotel. Positive comments always motivate the staff to provide excellent service. Thank you for your comments about the service, the food, the pools, the beach, the rooms, and our facility. It was honor for our entire team to be at your service again making your holiday enjoyable. Your comments are very motivational for our team and will be forwarded to the staff mentioned. If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Sending you our best regards, Noé Pat Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tstover wrote a review Aug 2020
Forney, Texas16 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this beautiful paradise 8/12-8/17. We could not have asked for better service! We stayed in 8202 which was an ocean and pool view suite. Upon arrival to our room, we noticed a sign hanging on the door letting us know that the room was freshly sanitized. There was a box of “protection items” such as 2 masks and hand sanitizer waiting for us in the bathroom. Our room was beautiful. Our fridge was stocked with beer, soda, water, mini liquor bottles and chips to snack on. Each day we would get a knock on the door and we were able to pick which items in the fridge needed restocking. We also had Ivan and Cynthia as our butlers during our stay who graciously made dinner reservations, had essential oils lit in our room each day, had special feather down pillows sent to our room and Cynthia helped us plan a romantic dinner on the beach and left us a note with rose petals on our last night. Jorge was AMAZING. He was the team leader for the Butler staff and he went above and beyond having the chef prepare special elote and having it delivered to the room as well as picking us up personally in the trolley taxi and taking us on an expansive tour of the property. The property was beautiful, well maintained and super clean. The food choices were plentiful and liquor always flowing. The beach was fantastic! It was rocky as you enter the ocean so I definitely recommend wearing your water shoes. The water is shallow on the main side and deeper on the adult side but you can snorkel and see lots of creatures. Due to CV-19 a lot of the tours were closed but we did do the catamaran lunch and snorkel tour. It was also fabulous and we got to swim with a sea turtle and lots of fish on the reef. Extra precautions were also taken there as our temps were taken and we had to keep our masks on until we arrived on the boat. We had an amazing trip and felt safe, cared for and carefree throughout our stay! I would definitely recommend this property and staff to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Dear Guest: We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility. Thank you for mentioning the staff, who made your family holiday memorable and enjoyable. It is always a great pleasure to receive so encouraging reviews that give our team energy to keep up great work every day. It was honor for our entire team to provide you with excellent service as our philosophy is focused on our guests’ satisfaction. We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.akumal@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay Kind Regards from Mexico, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cathiegibson wrote a review Jan 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From entering the hotel you are met with a 5 star service from check in. Everything done with ease and staff available to answer your questions. Lobby staff then take you and your luggage to your room (all done within 20 minutes of arrival). This is a large hotel with excellent facilities for families and couples. We were in room 83101, adult only section overlooking the front of the block with views of adult pool and los corlaes restaurant. The room is bright and spacious with a large bathroom with 2 wash hand basins, shower and jacuzzi bath. The block has the additional luxury of a butler service which is excellent. All your reservations can be booked by the butler and any room issues will be fixed immediately. The cleaning staff are fantastic and regularly pop into the room to ensure everything is “tip top”.
The restaurants are endless and of the highest quality. Golf buggies run frequently throughout the hotel and the sister hotels to allow you to make use of everything on offer.
The entertainment staff are magnificent, Angelo, Caesar, Roberto you all make the day at the infinity pool full of fun and laughter without disturbing the guests who would rather relax. The entertainment team also have different shows each evening of the highest quality which you can watch at any hotel.
The Coba children’s pool has excellent facilities for children although we are here as two adults, I am sure every child would be delighted with what is on offer.
There is also a 24 hour cafeteria, which is great for a late snack if you wish.
The beach has plenty of loungers for guests and the jetty area is fantastic for watching the fish swim around you.
The golf course has improved 100% from our visit last year. I am not sure if they have new management, but whatever they have done the service is fantastic and the course play time is now a realistic 4 hours.
All in all, his hotel is magnificent and it should be on your vacation list.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Block 83 is fantastic odd numbers look over front, even numbers to the back. Block 82 is full...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationAku, Propietario at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear guest, We would like to send you a big “Gracias” for your visit to our beautiful hotel! It is our best reward receiving your recognition to the personal attention our colleagues offer, the cleanliness of the room and the excellent food. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they have already received your congratulations. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you. We also have taken note of every detail you have mentioned in your for been revised with those departments involved. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, it will be wonderful to say hello to you again! Our best regards! Sheila Delgado Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from snackbox2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania12 contributions6 helpful votes
It says on the website, rooms are not guaranteed , even if you pay for it. I would recommend upgrade once you get there.
Mckayla payne asked a question Apr 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Does this place have a 24 hour snack area or Cafe?
Answer from PaulaLiverpool1
Liverpool, United Kingdom248 contributions118 helpful votes
Hi, the snackbar near to the middle pool is open pretty much 24 hours for drinks n snacks.
Answer from PaulaLiverpool1
Liverpool, United Kingdom248 contributions118 helpful votes
Hi, we were there in Jan and I think buildings 58 to 63 had been renovated, plus 76 which is at the back of the resort. No ocean front ones, though maybe more done since
Sue H wrote a tip May 22
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to take some $1 for bar coffee making no body expects a tip but it is nice to what's a $ and it is much appreciated also pesos "
Read full review
Becky L wrote a tip May 22
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Al a carte restaurants need booking as soon as you arrive as they can get quite booked up. "
Read full review
Jenkssy wrote a tip May 17
Rhyl, United Kingdom7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book here"
Read full review
Denise H wrote a tip May 16
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring water shoes, reusable straws, an islulated cup, sunscreen. Also a great outlook. Have Fun!!"
Read full review
T T wrote a tip May 14
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do your research and don't come here."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akumal area.
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe akumal, bahia principle, bahia principe mexico, gran bahia principe hotel akumal, mexico bahia principe, bahia principe tulum, grand bahia principe akumal, bahia principe riviera maya, bahia mexico principe, akumal gran bahia principe, gran bahia akumal, hotel bahia principe, bahia principe akumal mexico, akumal bahia principe, bahia akumal
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
758
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA PRINCIPE LUXURY AKUMAL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Nearby attractions include Akumal Beach (2.7 miles), Mayamar (3.4 miles), and Aktun Chen (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kengai, Maratea, and Autor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Akumal HotelsAkumal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AkumalHotels near Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars