We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Villa Tortugas Residence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Tortugas Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Tortugas Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed with my daughter for 4 nights in this B&B.The cabanas are spacious and clean, you find everything you need, good shower with hot water a small kitchen with everything to cook your own meal,( the owners supply the basic needs and we bought eggs fruit etc to make the breakfast we liked) there is A.C. and a fan.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank eva1707
Summerland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Yes the shower head is bad, and the room is basic, (there is air-con, but who needs TV!) but the setting and the hosts more than compensate. I travelled with children so the pool was a real bonus, as was the option to cook your own meals. Akumal is so busy, and the bars are full in the evenings, so... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lidiak2014
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We already provide to fix the showers, you got reason, due to the hard water they were bad but we will give maintance frequently so we hope they will work better! Thanks and hope to see you again here! More 

Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is far from town & the beach, so you need to have a car. The surroundings are lovely, the gardens clearly lovingly cared for, but the living quarters are pretty spartan, without even much of an attempt at decoration. The shower head was bad and there was no shower curtain, so water sprayed all over the entire bathroom,... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosalindro
VillaTortugas, Propietario at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

You wrote us e-mail saying the following: Your place is so lovely and the gardens so clearly lovingly cared for that I didn't want to give you a bad review online. However, I would like to let you know of some issues that you may not be aware of or have thought about. We replied to your e-mail and we... More 

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November 2013. This B&B is off the main highway and is nice but rustic. There are about 6 cabins but we were the only ones staying here. It is designed for the self-catering crowd. If your main interest was saving money and cooking your own meals, this would be a great place. Otherwise,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LorAlves
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it. Only few comments about some points: 1) yes it's true the pool wasn't open as we were renewing it with venetian mosaic but due to hard raining season we didn't' finish on time for your arrival. We apologize for this. 2) the electricity wasn't working during a night that you was... More 

NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

ive loved mexico. ive always loved mexico and love it more everytime i visit. my only regret is that i did not find this place sooner. My wife and I went to mexico for our honeymoon and decided to stay here for 2 nights in april on our way to merida. Be aware this is a no frills type of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank richardandjennylim
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review, we are so happy that your staying here was perfect. More 

nanaimo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was something we wanted to try different from staying at a large resort. Yes you can cook, but did we feel like it every day? No. We thought there were barbeques to use but there weren't. On my second day I was injured walking along one of their made paths of rocks and mortar. I stepped onto a ceramic... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fabgirl49
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

First of all the actidud the husband from the first day, was nothing to do with being friendly and very little patient. When his wife was injured, Denis offered to explain where to go for the medical assistance, but the husband ignored him and when during the night he came to complain, it's true I was not very friendly as... More 

San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed three days and had we not been somewhat physically challenged, we would have enjoyed it completely. We were unable to use the pool which was a major disappointment, but it only had a ladder and we require steps to get in or out due to knee problems. The setting is lovely, the staff verry friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephany38
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and suggestions to the others guests. More 

Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Super friendly owners, amazing garden, friendly dogs and cats, clean and beautiful apartments. This place is simply amazing. Every detail has been carefully taken care of. And it is really cheap for what they are offering. We never wanted to leave...felt like being in the paradise.

Helpful?
4 Thank mrmojopojo
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Hoping you will plan to come again in our piece of paradise, thank you for your amazing review! More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

One stays in a casita in charmingly landscaped grounds containing a good pool. Simple but tasty Italian food is served in the evening. The beds could have been more comfortable, but were par for the course in relatively inexpensive Mexican hotels. Overall convenient location and good value.

Helpful?
Thank buffer_13
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

We will consider your suggestion about the beds in order to offer a better sleeping to our guests in the future. Thank you for writing your review. More 

Riga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place itself is very nice. Territory is very clean and garden is very beautiful. Complex xonsists of few bungalows with baisc amenities. Don't expect Tv, hair dryer or smth extra. But all basic things are available, bed, fan, conditioner, shower, kitchennete (no kettle although). Rooms are decorated in Mexican style, bright and nice. Location is good if you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana16
VillaTortugas, Owner at Villa Tortugas Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! The lights in the rooms are l.e.d so they the light is not the same of the normals. Internet is connected to the main computer so during the evening/night is off but sometimes we keep on all night if guests are checking internet or if the ask to keep on. The birds, yes they... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#10 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#19 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the tropical oasis known as the Riviera Maya and surrounded by a natural garden of absolute tranquility, an exclusive Residence is waiting for you at Villas Tortugas Residence. RELAXATION, SUN, SEA, ALONG WITH DECADES OF HISTORY ARE WAITING TO BE EXPLORED... Our personal Italian welcome will make your stay in Villa Tortugas a wonderful experience. Thanks to their personal suggestions and local knowledge, they will help you to plan your holiday by assisting with everything from renting a car to reserving your excursions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Tortugas Residence

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 256 | Rancho San Martin, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Price Range: $42 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Tortugas Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Tortugas Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tortugas Residence Hotel Akumal
Villa Tortugas Residence Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay