We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,353: English reviews
Kingston
Reviewed March 9, 2016

30 years ago spent weekend at Montebello for our honeymoon Everything was the same and yet remained updated, clean, and welcoming. The ski trails were well groomed and provided a great winter escape. food was scrumptious and offered lots of choice. Once again our stay was memorable

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulcR9451IG
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you so much paulcR9451IG for your wonderful comment! We are all very glad that you have enjoyed your stay, 30 years later! Geneviève

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed March 9, 2016

We stayed at the hotel for two days with another family, and we had a great time. Took advantage of the activities (curling, tennis, pool). The fireplace seating is very relaxing. Food was very good, although, pricey.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H8166ODdaveh
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

It is a real delight to read your review H8166ODdaveh! This is exactly what Montebello disserves to be: enjoy great time with friends; enjoying activities and relaxing in front of the fireplace! Great to hear you have enjoyed it! Geneviève

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Located on the banks of the Ottawa River, this historic resort (if you consider the 1930s historic) is both rustic and comfortable. As you drive up to the main building, the log cabin style architecture promises to provide a bit of a walk back in time. The rooms are comfortable, the food is amazing and the amenities are the icing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cdn_explorer1800
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you Cdn_explorer1800 for your review! It is a pleasure to read. I truly appreciate your valid feedback and I will share constructively with my team and with our banquet team to inform about the large groups impacting on our individual guests. Good point and thank you for sharing. Sincerely, Geneviève

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Possibly one of the worst places I've stayed in for the price. I was there for a friend's wedding (which was brilliant), but our room was so basic for what worked out to be £177 for one night. No breakfast included, or complimentary water (which is embarrassing). Both my partner and I woke up with bites. I live in one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie E
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you Sophie E for your honest feedback. I am saddened to read your review, and I am also shocked about some of your comments, like waking up with bites? You do not mention when was your stay, and if it was in the Summer during mosquito season, it might be possible that there are bites, however it could also...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed March 8, 2016

This is a great place for families and couples. The lobby fireplace is spectacular, and a great place to warm up during the day, or to have a drink in the evening. We had the cheese plate there for dinner one evening and it was very good and well priced. There are lots of outdoor activities included in the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed March 6, 2016

Went there this past January for the Sunday Brunch. It's pricey at $47 per person but it's well worth it if you're hungry. Cheese, salad and dessert stations, eggs, etc. I'm a vegetarian and there were lots of options for me. The service was very attentive and we will definitely go back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Everhale
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you Everhale for sharing! We are pleased that you have enjoyed it! See you back soon. Geneviève

Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed March 5, 2016

This was our second time staying at Montebello. We also stayed here for our honeymoon 9 years ago. So very relaxing sitting by the fireplace and sipping on a glass of wine or drinking their Amazing Hot Chocolate!!! We loved the outdoor activities especially the dog sled ride. What a great experience. The staff were wonderful and the Restaurants Fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

It is a real pleasure to read your comment David B! We are delighted that you have enjoyed this relaxing stay. It is the perfect place just to do that. We are sincerely looknig forward to your return visit! Geneviève

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed March 5, 2016

This is a great place to your family for just about any occasion. The kids club is great, the food is descent, the rooms are good and all of this in a really unique setting. When our son had a fever a staff member went out and got some children's Tylenol from another staff member as the drugstore nearby was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timbles430
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

I am so pleased to read your review Timbles430! Our staff is truly amazing and I am pleased to see that they once again went out of their way to provide service. Thank you for sharing! Geneviève

Ottawa
Reviewed March 2, 2016

Loved relaxing by the fire in the lobby and the rustic log building setting. Plenty of outdoor activities at all times of year. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the trails around the property are a great way to spend some time.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H1346WK
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

Thank you H1346WK for taking the time to leave your great review! Always a pleasure to read! Genevieve

Ottawa
Reviewed February 29, 2016

This was our 10th stay at the Chateau Montebello during the week-end of the Canadian Ski Marathon (CSM). We love coming here for our winter getaway, our Valentine's Day celebration, and for a luxurious resting place for the CSM.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjanettehamilton
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review

I am so pleased to read that you have enjoyed once again your CSM week-end with us mjanettehamilton! We too always enjoy that special week-end! See you next year! Geneviève

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,014 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (764)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (207)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (89)
Viewed
Fairmont King Room (29)
Viewed
Fairmont Two Double Room (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Signature Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.0 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
18 reviews
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Parfum des Saisons
Au Parfum des Saisons
#2 of 5 in Montebello
36 reviews
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawkesbury
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Price Range: $170 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Deluxe rooms at the far end of the wings are larger and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Chovinsky, 1 week ago | Read review
“Wifi only if you have the President's club.”
 of 5 bubbles Mariean, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms over looking the river are nice. Join the President's club and get reasonable room upgrade prices.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianS951, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“something near lobby to easily enjoy the fireplaces”
 of 5 bubbles DarBrown, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The first level is easier to go back and forth to the room from the lobby. Higher levels might have beautiful views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles yellowbirdVermont, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question