We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Save
Share
392 Rue Notre Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0 Canada
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Take Your Time – Save up to 20%
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1365)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Montebello
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
For 90 years, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has been known for its rustic charm, superb architecture and beautiful natural surroundings. Described as the true Canadian experience, the world’s largest log cabin fails to disappoint guests who travel to its secluded location to recharge and escape the demands of their daily lives. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, the resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, dogsledding, curling, as well as Canada's only Land Rover off-road driving experience. Starting in September 2018, the hotel will undergo interior renovations to modernize and revitalize the guest rooms, the corridors and the lobby area – an investment of over $17.5M.
Read more
Room & Suite (346)346
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Take Your Time – Save up to 20%
2,732Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,264
  • 849
  • 365
  • 173
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris_vonR wrote a review Oct 2020
Montreal, Canada389 contributions78 helpful votes
Gorgeous facility with very notable architecture and many amenities included with the "resort fee". You can easily spend a day or more without ever leaving the grounds, and the landscape (of forests and Ottawa river) is lovely. Enjoy the quality comforts and service of Fairmont and multiple sporting and leisure activities. Whether a family vacation or a romantic get-away, this was an exceptional place to visit at a reasonable distance from either Ottawa or Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Genevieve Dumas MBA, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback Chris_vonR! We are sure glad you enjoyed! Hope to see you again soon. All seasons are amazing. Geneviève
Read more
JF Bordeleau wrote a review Oct 2020
Ottawa, Canada1,552 contributions814 helpful votes
Looking for a place nearby for somewhat of a staycation, the Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello is a great option for people living near Ottawa or Montreal - ideally located pretty much in between the two. With COVID, the place is a little bit different than what it usually is, especially on the food side as the grandiose breakfast buffet and weekend brunch have been replaced by a not so cheap a la carte breakfast. The menu was also simplified for dinner at the main restaurant and the summer BBQ moved to a "table service" all you can eat option. Food quality remains top notch and we found the dinner at the restaurant to offer the right balance of quality and value... for a premium experience. The BBQ featured awesome service but I was a little bit less impressed by the selection. The outdoor pool area was great, and not overcrowded as it tends to get in peak summer. You could see staff disinfecting chairs and common areas on a very regular basis. As for the room, I was upgraded to a nice corner room which was available for early check-in and ready as per my pre-arrival requests. Room size was more than adequate. The room was recently renovated and had the right balance of "new" with that classic Fairmont old-fashioned touch. The only odd thing was poor finishing of one of the wall panel where you could see insulation on the edge of the wall, and a few minor finishing issues in the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. WIFI very reliable. On the activity side, most things were available and great care was taken to disinfect equipment in between use. We went to Kanauk one morning to enjoy complementary water activities (kayak) and had a great time. The last point I'll mention is great customer service recovery post-stay. Before arrival, I had noticed an issue with the rate to be charged by the hotel, and what I was quoted on the phone. After some investigating by the Customer Service Desk at Fairmont, and the hotel, a very suitable outcome was achieved, in line with what you would expect of the Fairmont brand In this environment where people are looking for a "safe" and nearby getaway, this is a great option to consider
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Genevieve Dumas MBA, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded 4 weeks ago
It is much appreciated that you took time to write your valuable feedback following your stay, ottwatrvllr. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Geneviève
Read more
Philippe C wrote a review Oct 2020
Toulouse, France4 contributions
Hotel location and architecture are superb, staff is very professional and courteous. We had booked a Luxury king Room with river view: view was indeed superb but room was in need of a major overhaul which a real disappointment, specially given the price. Restaurant food was below expectations for this level of resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Genevieve Dumas MBA, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Thank you for your feedback philippecH5790TW! It is a pleasure to read your review. We have indeed started our room renovations and half of our hotel is now fully renovated and we look forward to completing them as soon as possible. Next time I would recommend you book a renovated room, you will definitely enjoy it! Geneviève
Read more
SharenBee wrote a review Oct 2020
Toronto, Canada45 contributions32 helpful votes
With fees and taxes, we paid nearly $40 extra per day for "resort fee". We had wanted to/expected to utilize the resort fully. However, the major things we went there for were not available, namely the kids’ area/arcade, sauna, hot tub, pool (which was closed 2 days we were there, and on days it was available it had only one half accessible and was way over chlorinated to enjoy swimming in), carriage ride (available only 1/7 days and after we were leaving) and upscale dining experiences. While we understand that there is a pandemic underway and controls must be put in place, the fees should reflect that. We certainly did not get our money's worth at all and were very disappointed. Not he "family" resort we were looking for. There is only one restaurant available and not a lot of selection. Breakfast- Yogurt with granola and tea/coffee $22- plus fees, taxes and tip of course. Wow. We had one meal there when we first arrived and did not return: one vegetarian dish + one salad + a small bowl of fruit (ramekin sized seriously) + one appetizer + one alcoholic (rail whiskey) drink for a total of $170. If the food was spectacular, we would have been ok to pay the premium however it was not the case. The quality of the food was not what we have experienced at other Fairmont properties. It was simply a very poor value and sadly not a wonderful experience. We had no hot water for the 5 days we were there. We had maintenance come, we were in touch with the front desk several times and though we did get a small compensation on our final bill, 5 days of cold showers really was not acceptable. Three days after unpacking all our things they said they could have us move to another room, not an upgrade to make up for the inconvenience however, as there were "none available" which was hard to believe as the hotel was at 20% capacity at most. We spent our first evening there unpacking the family and getting everything sorted and settled. Spending our precious vacation time packing up the entire family and having to spend hours reorganizing was not a good solution for us especially without anything to compensate us for the hassle. So we "roughed it" and heated the kettle for the kids to have shallow baths and had cold showers ourselves; not a stellar impression. We made the best of it but really? Fairmont should have done better. We would visit Montebello again as it is beautiful, but I would reconsider staying at this property. The staff are nice but don't make up for the shortfalls we experienced sadly. Check out Parc Omega. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do a day trip to see the log cabin and fireplace then stay at the Fairmont in Tremblant or one of...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Genevieve Dumas MBA, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Thank you SharenBee for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. I am sorry to see that it was not up to your expectations. I must say, yes, the pandemic is affecting our ability to fully operate our hotel and activities normally. The safety and security of our guest being the number one priority, we are applying all measures strictly. This does impact arcade, group activities, hot tubs and also food offering (as we have to maintain social distancing in the kitchen as well.) Just a note regarding our buffet options; since we are not in a position to offer a full buffet breakfast as well as a full à la carte menu, we have prepared a menu with many options and you refer to Yogurt and granola with coffee for 22$, but we have also included in all our menu options fresh fruits, juice and a variety of pastries to each menu. So 22$ for all of this is a normal price for our hotel. I know our Director of Guest services as already contacted you, and I want to apologize for hot water issues that unfortunately affected a few rooms this past week. Fortunately, it is fixed now. Again, thank you for sharing and for your feedback. Geneviève
Read more
WanderlustTO wrote a review Oct 2020
Toronto167 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Stayed two nights mid-week. My room rate included the buffet breakfast which was delicious. The hotel was fairly quiet when i was there - which i enjoyed. The property is beautiful. I didn't really do any activities except hiking and swimming in the pool, but there was a list of things available (although not sure whether covid impacted what you could do).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Genevieve Dumas MBA, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing WanderlustTO! It is a real pleasure to read and glad you have enjoyed! Geneviève
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont le chateau montebello hotel montebello, chateau montebello, fairmont montebello, montebello fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecOutaouais RegionMontebello
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Nearby attractions include ChocoMotive (0.5 miles), Bar Le Foyer at Fairmont Le Château Montebello (0.01 miles), and Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Cafe Entre Amis, Le Bistro, and Snack et délices.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Montebello.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.