We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cavendish Gateway Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cavendish Gateway Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted by a desk person who was not fully versed in the English language and made it rather difficult to get any answers to our questions. The room was adequate at best but the bathroom was dirty with grime in the corners of the tile. I am a travel agent by trade and always try to give these... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jojocruzin
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jojocruzin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were greeted by Lisa, one of the new owners of the property for the season. She is very eager to learn the hotel business and has been doing her best to be as "hands-on" as possible in learning the operation of the property. I apologize for any... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in. The bedroom was dirty with dust around the headboards and around the night table. The back of the bathroom door was dirty. The front door to our room had cracks all around. The lamp had burnt out shade. The curtains, bedspread were old. It doesn't cost much to clean a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sari C
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sari, Thank you for taking time to write your review. We appreciate all comments left for us and use them as we continually endeavour to seek ways in which to improve. However, I am having some difficulty reconciling your experience with us. I gather, since you joined us for a lobster supper, you were a guest travelling with a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mayfield hotels

Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night in a two bedroom cottage. The cottage was of a good standard with nice big bathroom, clean bedding and towels and the kitchen seemed well equipped. The cottage itself could have been a little cleaner - the bath was really dirty and living area floor was not clean either. Cleanliness is the number one controllable factor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerjaz
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Reviewerjaz, Thank you for taking time to review or property. I've noted the concerns you've had with respect to housekeeping services in the cottage. I'm very pleased to hear that your daughter had an enjoyable experience using some of our outdoor amenities. We are always delighted to provide our guests with the tools and materials to enjoy a campfire... More 

Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place was probably a GEM in its day, but seems to have taken the back burner for whatever reason. It needs someone to bring it back to life, the place deserves it. Are stay was comfortable as we were in the cottages, which everyone had there only BBQ. Kids used the pool said it was good and out back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon G
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and your kids enjoyed our on-site amenities. The property is under new ownership as of the 2016 season and we have already engaged in many capital projects and improvements to our resort and grounds. As a... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this hotel is clean and comfortable, it is badly in need of a refresh, both inside and out. The rooms are good size but look like they have not been updated in years. Our bathroom sink had a hole in it that had been glued back together and the tub and tile are old and the gout is dirty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Betsy, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your candid review of our property. We are pleased that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. We actively engage in refreshing and improving our property each year. We have taken note of the areas you'd like to see improvement in and hope to welcome... More 

Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The cottages are cozy and perfect for families - there's a bevy activities for children and the pool is often empty. Barbeques are provided on the deck of each cottage as well as two extras for the regular rooms. The location is great; quiet enough and in close proximity to Cavendish. I would like to note that housekeeping could be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe V
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Zoe, Thank you so much for taking time to review our property! We are very happy that your kids enjoyed the amenities we provide. We are now very proud of our pool as it has been completely redone and re-equipped over the 2015 and 2016 seasons. We are always looking for greater service improvements and new ways to make... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely reminiscent of a budget chain style from the 1990's. No upgrades or modernization seems to have taken place in quite some time. Inexplicably, lights were off all over the property and made it feel very dark and unwelcoming. Cleanliness was hit and miss. Our room was clean but friends traveling with us had a sloppy bed,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JPF877
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi JPF, Thank you for taking the time to provide a very thorough review of our resort. Interestingly, we were originally built as a chain hotel. However, due to the seasonal nature of our business, it is more practical for us to be independent and focus on what really matters to the majority demographic of our guests. I am disappointed... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Our family of five stayed in a cottage for two nights. It was clean and the service was great with kind staff. We appreciated the new BBQ on the deck and the fire pit, and the kids enjoyed the pool, pool table, trampoline and swings/slide. We also liked the peace and quiet and lack of crowds. However, it is basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi Amy, Thank you so much for taking time to review our property! We are very happy that your kids enjoyed the amenities we provide. We are proud of the serene grounds we have surrounding our resort. We are very glad to hear that you made use of the cottage BBQ's - one of our new improvements and additions for... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

This porperty needs attention. The WIFI is terrible in all areas of this motel. The breakfast the offer is not worth the money they want. You can tell that they are closed all winter as the rooms smeel musty and are always damp feeling. The offer cottages as well. This is a BASIC property. Also, it is no longer part... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LifeOnTheOpenRoad
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Gateway Resort, responded to this review

Hi SmilesOfSmiles, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. We have now updated our listing to reflect that we are no longer part of the ChoiceHotels brand. Prior to the start of the 2016 season, we undertook a capital improvement project to improve our wireless network. As it just became available to us, our service provider has now... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

These cottages need to be rebuild, the windows are dirty and the seals are gone. The toilet in the bathroom is not fix properly to the floor or the floor is rotten and the shower is no better. The floors are very bouncy and the overall finish of the cottage is bad. Who ever built this cottage should have his... More 

Helpful?
Thank André G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayfield
2.9 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
3.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
8.2 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Stanley Bridge Country Resort
Stanley Bridge Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Stanley Bridge
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
8.1 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#6 of 8 in Cavendish
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take in the fresh Island air. Relax in the summer sun. Enjoy the beauty of the Island's rolling hills. At Cavendish Gateway Resort in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, we offer competitive rates, excellent service, comfortable rooms and a 3.5-star Canada Select rating. The world-famous Anne of Green Gables Heritage Place and other Anne attractions are just minutes from our countryside property, as are Cavendish Beach, world-class golf courses, and Lobster Suppers - a PEI tradition. Onsite, you'll find our sheltered barbecue area, tennis court, playground, indoor pool and games room with pool table and gym equipment. Everything you need for your PEI vacation. Join us at Cavendish Gateway Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavendish Gateway Resort

Address: 6596 Rte 13, Mayfield, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada (Formerly Clarion Collection Cavendish Gateway Resort)
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Mayfield
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Gateway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish Gateway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Cavendish Gateway Hotel Mayfield
Clarion Collection Mayfield
Clarion Mayfield
Mayfield Clarion
Cavendish Gateway Resort Mayfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay