We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Ridgetown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Ridgetown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Walkerton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went down for a baseball tournament and due to limited room availability I booked a king with a pull out couch for 4 of us (2 adults 2 children), upon arrival I had a king bed with a chair, I went to call the front desk and the phone was not a workable phone and the phone line was... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdales2016
Howard Johnson ... R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Ridgetown, responded to this review

Thank you for kindly taking your time to review our property. In response to your comments and questions I will answer them to the best of my ability. For your first comment, the phones here work perfectly. I wonder how you were able to call me several times to make structural changes to your room. If they did not work... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The man who showed us the room was friendly, the bed was comfortable. I took my shoes off and walked across the rug to the bathroom and back to the door looked at my socks and couldn't believe how dirty they were so we didn't walk on the rug unless we had shoes on. The air conditioner needed a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank HomeMaker2016
Howard Johnson ... R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Ridgetown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your comment. After you had checked out I had myself the other manager and the housekeeper go to your room to check on the issue you had brought up a check out. Not one of us could find any "dirt" on the carpet. Maybe the natural grain of the carpet is different from what you normally... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ridgetown hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

The hotel is very run down. The washrooms for the common area were out of order when we arrived. If you needed a washroom after traveling you will have to wait until you have checked in. Needs a lot of updating to bring it up to snuff. my Apple and android devices would not connect to Wi-Fi.. Air conditioners are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice K
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Good location, adjacent to HWY 401. Building is dated, but clean. Staff is friendly. Alarm clock has time zone auto correction, but didn't work. My key deactivated after day 1 of 2 and had to get staff to reprogram at 2;30 am.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Had my grandson's birthday party here, staff is so friendly and everything was great. The room was clean, the towels white and everything worked great in the room. I am always pleased with my stay here at the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank wildhearts818
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

An outdated motel. The surrounding land looks uninviting. It needs a major overhaul. Breakfast, buffet style, did not offer tea bags. The room contained a mixture of furniture that one can purchase at a garage sale.

Helpful?
Thank vanspike
Howard Johnson ... R, General Manager at Howard Johnson Ridgetown, responded to this review

Yes, we are an older hotel. That we cannot deny, but we are simple clean and comfortable. I am very sorry that you did not appreciate the farmland and simpler life all around the hotel. The peacefulness here is what drives many guests to stay with us. They listen to the birds in the morning and breath in the fresh... More 

Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

Very much enjoyed my stay. The hotel was quiet and the staff quite friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, and I had plenty of towels. The room was a really good size and could easily accommodate multiple dog crates without them being in the way. Good internet connection speed. Best part was when exercising my dog the areas... More 

Helpful?
Thank jracga
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Howard Johnson Ridgetown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review and we hope to see you again! More 

Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding over a weekend. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Really enjoyed swimming in the heated pool after an 8 hour drive. Found it very convenient having a hallway inside but direct access to the car as well. Facility need some TLC but overall I enjoyed my stay and would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Arriving after an 8 hour drive, we were treated with such warmth and friendliness. From the staff at the front desk to the staff that were always available to help.they made our stay absolutely wonderful! They went above and beyond what they needed to. Anything that we needed they would make it available and more! My family will definately stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkran
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Just wanted to put out there. that the Howard Johnson is under renovations and is currently under new management. I've been there for 2 weeks now and have nothing bad to say. Staff is very welcoming. Sherry You ROCK my friend :) Deb : Keep up the good work. D.D : Keep doing what your doing, and everything will fall... More 

Helpful?
Thank chathamfolks2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
14.2 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ridgetown

Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ridgetown
Price Range: $57 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Ridgetown 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Ridgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay