We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birchville Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipigon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Birchville Motel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Onamia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were doing the Superior Circle tour on motorcycles. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. The owner was extremely nice and helpfully. She gives you a map of the area and tells you were its good to eat. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank topager49
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We will definitely stay if in the area again. Owner so friendly and accomodating. Room spacious and clean....everything you need for a home away from home, including a well stocked kitchenette. A++++++

Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Motel management made an effort to create attractive green oasis around hotel so you feel cozy regardless of highway noise. Each room has kitchenette will stove, all utensils, fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and kettle. Beds are good. Bright light in the bathroom; no hair drier though.

Helpful?
1 Thank ValeriaP335
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you were comfortable. Just a note to let you know that not all our rooms have a kitchenette - we are working on upgrading our existing kitchenettes and also trying to figure out how we can give our other rooms some space for a kitchenette as well. We do have... More 

Ste. Anne, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean however there was a lot of humidity in our room. Carpets felt damp. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean as well. Owner was nice to leave the door unlocked for us cause we got in after office closed. Key and receipt were waiting in the room :) Would stay here again for the night.

Helpful?
Thank Kalamela1982
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you would consider staying with us again. My apologies for the humidity in the room but unfortunately that is an issue beyond our control. Our air conditioners help with the humidity but unfortunately using them is not an option when temps are low. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Modest roadside motel. Super clean with extremely helpful staff. Basic accommodations but in great condition and priced right. Refrigerators in room. Perfect for a quick stop on a loop around Lake Superior.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for such a positive review! More 

Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lodging choices in Nipigon are limited, and we were disappointed that nearly all of them were strung along a busy highway instead of nestled in the quiet downtown. But when ya gotta stop, ya gotta stop. We were glad to get the last room here and not have to press on in bad weather after a long and tiring drive.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolDM1900
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you felt welcome and comfortable and hope your trip is/was memorable. More 

Shilo, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

This is a very nice Motel that accepts pets. The owner was exceptional and courteous. This is not the Ritz but I wasn't looking for the Ritz either. It was perfect for what my wife, dog and I needed for a one night stay. The room was very nice and very clean. There is a walking path behind the motel... More 

Helpful?
Thank TandBL16
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. Our trail is a joy to all our car weary pups and we are delighted to share it with them. More 

Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

This is a typical roadside, mom & pop motel. Stayed here because of weather conditions so the price was jacked a bit. The room was comfortable but has a tiny bathroom. I would consider staying here again in a pinch.

Helpful?
Thank dansyla
Dilark, Owner at Birchville Motel, responded to this review

Hello, we are so glad you found our room comfortable. Just a note to let you know our room prices were not "jacked" a bit because of the bad weather, you paid the standard price. Thank you for your review. More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

My wife and I traveled from Eastern Ontario to Thunder Bay for a one day event. This was the motel that we chose to stay at for one night before our return trip. Good choice. Friendly, safe, clean inside and out, accommodating and a comfortable bed. Checked out early in the morning and stopped for a good breakfast at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaMoOttawa
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Stayed here while driving from Winnipeg to Toronto - would definitely stay again! Clean, quiet and the owner was very nice. Didn't realize until we arrived that the units had fully equipped kitchenettes - we were picnicking our way east and the kitchenette made food prep for the next day super easy. You can tell that this is a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beautifuldays2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipigon
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
0.0 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.0 mi away
Circle Route Motel
Circle Route Motel
#2 of 3 in Schreiber
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
A & K Motel
A & K Motel
#9 of 14 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Birchville Motel

Address: Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0T 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Nipigon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Birchville Motel Nipigon, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing