We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Glenora Inn & Distillery

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mabou
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glenora Inn & Distillery
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Sydney, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in the cabins July 2016- they are beautiful! Would definitely recommend. Two pieces of feedback for Glenora, though: (1) There was one garbage bin and one refundable bin in the cabin. There should have also been one bin for recyclables (at least for plastics, since paper products could technically be burned in the cabin's woodstove). Paper and plastic do... More 

Helpful?
Thank BritneyElizabeth
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It's hard to remember when my expectations are achieved and in some regards surpassed. From my children's meals to my wife's the creativity and quality was above par for sure. I tasted the halibut and as I took my first bite I realized this is the best quality fish I had in a really long time. The meals were so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walkerjames1972
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We heard wonderful fiddle/piano music when we visited the restaurant. The food was fine, the music was sweet, the single malt fun, and the staff excellent. We enjoyed the short tour of the distillery as well. Definitely worth a visit while in Cape Breton.

Helpful?
Thank muz4now
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We only did the tour here but it was worth it just for that. Very interesting and I was given an extra sample at the end. The grounds were very well kept and the from what I could see people eating it looked good. I Would recommend for any whiskey enthusiast.

Helpful?
Thank Cameron F
Valdosta, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I want to give 4.5 but can't in this system. The room was spacious and comfortable and had all the features expected and a beautiful view. The bed frame is detached from the headboard which, since I sleep with my head against the headboard, allowed the frame to slide away from the headboard and the pillows to slip down in... More 

Helpful?
Thank William F
Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good time to find facts regarding whiskey and how one differs from another I'd highly recommend this tour. How the barrels are acquired and the history of the travels they make to become this important to the industry.

Helpful?
Thank rnash10419
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice dinner in the Pub with friends. We had a party of 7 food was good and service was quick. The kitchen dropped a meal on the way out and quickly replaced it and did not charge us for it. The music was starting as we left. A bit pricey and high end food for a pub.

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn & Distillery, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience here at Glenora. We are happy you enjoyed your dinner, and service. Apologies for the dropped plate, those things seem to happen at the worst times. Our Pub and Dining room are quite different atmospheres, but do have the same menu for both rooms with... More 

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to reserve for one night at this Inn. Considering the cost ($189/night), we found the room to be dated, but okay for one night. Also, the bathroom has a slight unclean odour...sorry, my observation. Dinner was delicious and we appreciate the adjustment made to our dinner reservation having arrived a little late. Breakfast the next morning was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mylolamia
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn & Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Glenora, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your accommodations but are happy to hear you had a wonderful dinner and breakfast with us. Eggs Benny is my personal favorite! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your whisky tour and taste. Thank you for taking... More 

Timmonsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for the distillery tour, which was interesting, but it was disappointing that the staff could not answer basic questions... such as what would be a good pairing (food) for their 15 year old. The young fellow who ran the tour also did not appear to know much about the regions in Scotland, and could not compare it to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annonyrat
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn & Distillery, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience here at Glenora was less than enjoyable. I would like to thank you for bringing these comments to our attention, and assure you they will all be addressed. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience, good or bad, these comments help us grow as a business and we... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from one night at Glenora Inn. Overall the stay was just fair, although there were some excellent aspects from our stay. Check in: We checked in around 3pm and it took a while. When I had my reservation by phone a month ago I had also booked a dinner reservation for 6:30pm. This reservation was not saved I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marniaikens
Bertha M, Manager at Glenora Inn & Distillery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We are so sorry your dinner reservation got lost in transition, it is true that the pub offers the same menu as the dining room, the only difference in the two is the formal setting in the dining room vs. the pub atmosphere. We are sorry... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabou
27.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
16.4 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
58.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tulloch Inn
Tulloch Inn
#2 of 4 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
56.9 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
The Fiddle and the Sea
The Fiddle and the Sea
#1 of 4 in Port Hood
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Glenora Inn & Distillery

Address: Route 19 / Ceilidh Trail, Mabou, Nova Scotia B0E 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Mabou
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenora Inn & Distillery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Glenora Inn & Distillery Hotel Cape Breton Island
Glenora Inn And Distillery
Glenora Inn & Distillery Mabou, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing