We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornerstone Motel

Save
Traveler (122)
Room & Suite (28)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“fire pit”(28 reviews)
“national park”(25 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
123
63
22
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
123
63
22
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pita river view roomnational parkcabot trailacross the bridgethe ownerriver runninglovely riverwalking trailsbirch treescoffee makerroom was cleanlarge picturemotorcycle tripright directiongreat roomcape breton
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We really enjoyed staying at Cornerstone. It is right next to entrance to the National Park. The owners were very helpful in recommending things to do and places to go and see. Our room was nice and comfortable.More

Thank btfromdogtown
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded yesterday

Hi "btfromdogtown", We really enjoyed having you stay with us and allow us to make your vacation as spectacular as it was. As well, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others so they too can enjoy the amazing hospitality...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous town and the motel is located on a beautiful river. Cozy room, clean witj large bathroom. Bed definitely needs replacing, it's an old spring bed, and you feel it. No fridge or coffee maker in the room, but you can go across the road...More

Thank Jen C
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jen, We are glad to hear your stay at the Cornerstone Motel was good, but disappointed to hear you had issues sleeping. We have replaced all of our King and Queen beds last year and so we are surprised to hear your sleep wasn't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent owner operated motel a couple of minutes from the village of cheticamp. It is located minutes before the east entrance to the Cape Breton National Park. We had a river view room which I believe is the deluxe option. Great large...More

Thank CanadianIslanders
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi CanadianIslanders! It always makes us happy to know we made a difference in someones travels with all of the little extras we have put in place. Clearly you noticed a lot of them and we couldn't have described our place better than you did!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't recommend the Cornerstone Motel more. The rooms have everything you could need and are very comfy, but more then that the owners are a dream. We were touring NS and arrived late to the motel. They still spent half an hour plus talking us...More

Thank hollyravenhall
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi Holly, We are so glad that you had such an amazing time in Cape Breton and we thanks you for your kind words! As you could tell, we love to share the best places to go with our guests and take as much time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We participate in the Cabot Trail Relay race every year during the last weekend of May. We book 5 -6 rooms for our team each year for the past 4 years and have never had a problem. The rooms have all been upgraded, and the...More

Thank Greg M
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Greg, We appreciate having your team stay with us every year. We enjoy that you guys are all so respectful of others and easy to work with! It makes such a difference to us and after working with you over the 4 years we...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Cape Breton Island
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
$94 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$94 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (122)
Room & Suite (28)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HonugirlHawaii
May 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Hi, Not sure where you may have read this, but we do not have a free breakfast at the Cornerstone Motel. Please advise where you may have obtained this information so I can contact the owner of the site to correct it. At... More
0
Votes
Beth N
August 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Oh yea, restaurants are all open until late October! Then there are only 3 or 4 open...
1
Vote
Nancy B
February 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Hi and thanks Nancy for considering the Cornerstone Motel as your preferred place to stay while visiting the amazing Cheticamp area! Unfortunately we don't have any roll out beds and only provide fixed beds in our rooms. We... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Definitely go for a rivewviee room"
Read review
"The mountain view rooms offer a beautiful sunrise and view of the river."
Read review
"Select a river view room"
Read review
"Choose a room with a river view - a little more expensive but worth it. Room 17 is excellent."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing