We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
L'Anse au Clair
Post
Inbox
Search

Northern Light Inn

Save
56-58 Main Highway, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Northern Light Inn is the largest hotel in southern Labrador with 70 rooms, 5 housekeeping units, and an RV site to cater to the traveling public. The hotel also houses a family-style restaurant, lounge, gift shop, and conference facilities. With quality service as the utmost priority, the Northern Light Inn is proud to offer clean, comfortable accommodations, along with delicious meals and friendly service. The Northern Light Inn is where Labrador begins.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Full view
Contact
56-58 Main Highway, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0 Canada
Getting there
St. John's Airport327 miSee all flights
Blanc Sablon Airport7 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
144Reviews1Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 53
  • 47
  • 17
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed in a private cabin across the street from the motel. The compact cabin had everything that we needed for our one night stay (2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchenette, sitting room). Convenience store and Tim Hortons were nearby. Favourite stop for bus tours and drivers starting or finishing their drive across Labrador. Satellite phones are available here. Small gift shop and restaurant on site. The cabin isn't soundproof but we were not bothered by any noisy neighbours.
Read more
Response from Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct in that we have a wide assortment of services nearby. Our ideal location, along with our genuine quality services offered, makes it a favourite stop for visitors as you have identified. We certainly appreciate having you choose the Northern Light Inn as your Labrador home, and hope we will have the privilege of serving you again in the future. All the very best from our management and staff.
Read more
We stayed here enroute to the Labrador-Newfoundland ferry. The inn's location had little other to recommend it, the room was small and not very comfortable, and the food was barely adequate. They could do better.
Read more
Response from Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2019
We are a bit surprised by your comment and apologize that your experience was not the norm. Our rooms certainly reflect the standard size of most hotel rooms, with some being on the larger size! With hundreds of people staying at our hotel each week during peak season, we regularly receive compliments about the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. Likewise, our meals are normally well received by tourists and locals alike. We can promise that we go to great lengths to provide each guest a quality experience in all aspects of our service. We wish you the very best in your future travels.
Read more
Only had one night in Labrador [to tour as far as Red Bay]. The Inn was likely the best in the area. It was a bit different but fine. Toiletries and coffee/tea services were like any prior hotel in the province. Its restaurant had a varied selection with good seafood though another chap was just so so about his mussels. None of the four possible wifi connections worked, a bit disappointing. A lobby computer was connected so could get an email home. The tile on part of the room floor was unusual, compounding the fact the hotel had a cool temperature. The phone showed a message but it was a short in the system. Got a bit of exercise out of it. The hallways have little cushion, walking being a loud experience if you do not purposefully tread lightly. Staff were pleasant. The place overall did the job.
Read more
Response from Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn
Responded Sep 13, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay! It's great that you were able to avail of the services offered, including the lobby computer. As you may understand, the wifi strength is a bit beyond our control as it reflects the limited bandwidth available to the region as a whole. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the privilege of serving you again in the future.
Read more
+1
We unfortunately had two nights there because we wanted to discover a part of Labrador from there. The hotel is close to the ferry and that’s why we’ve chosen it. Shortly after arriving we had to realize that bus trips are more welcomed than we normal tourists. An example is the dinner, the tables we reserved for them and we .... should wait or go somewhere else. Somewhere else in the middle of nowhere- impossible. The only option : fast food! The room itself was good, big enough but we could listen everyones step from above and the worst one - we could attend their toilets visits !!! And the flushing disturbed our night ! I was complaining last night because the people above were running for more than an hour in their room and the steps were so loud that we turned the tv off ..... I’m sorry but we won’t come back !
Read more
Response from Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn
Responded Aug 30, 2019
We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not what it should have been. Although we do serve bus tours, each and every guest is equally important to us!!!! We are sorry that you arrived at the restaurant at a time when it was very busy. We have two separate dining areas to accommodate all of our guests in a timely manner, however, as with any establishment, sometimes there is a small wait. Please note that reserved tables there are to identify the group seating - and there are always tables left open for our individual travelers. This is done not to give priority to any particular guest or group, but to keep things running efficiently so that all guests have a place to eat. As for the noise, we apologize that other visitors disturbed your stay. However, if you had contacted our front desk, we would have been happy to address this with them. We have 24 hour service at our front desk to assist our visitors in this way. We work hard to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us, and are sorry that this was not the case for you. We wish you all the very best in your future travels.
Read more
Staff is fantastic! I deal with them alot for work and they really go above and beyond! Newfoundland hospitality at its finest. Big thumbs up to Serena and staff!! It's a regular hotel but the staff make you feel very welcome and to me, that's the difference.
Read more
Response from Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Thank you so very much for your kind words and review!! We are very fortunate to work with amazing groups such as yours, so thank you for the opportunity to host your tours throughout the summer!! We are certainly grateful for the amazing staff that welcome and serve our guests each day, and will be pleased to let them know of your review. Thank you once again for choosing the Northern Light Inn. We look forward to serving you again! All the very best from Labrador in the meantime.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northern light hotel l`anse au clair
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorLabradorL'Anse au Clair
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Light Inn
What are some of the property amenities at Northern Light Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Northern Light Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Northern Light Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Northern Light Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Northern Light Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of L'Anse au Clair.
Does Northern Light Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Northern Light Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.