We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Northern Light Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Anse au Clair
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Northern Light Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was not a destination but merely a stopover. Friendly staff and very accommodating. The room was reasonably large and everything worked. The room has a mini-fridge and microwave. I would definitely recommend this motel!

Helpful?
Thank Geographer08
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review, and for being our guest at the Northern Light Inn. We appreciate knowing that you had a great experience at our establishment, and that both the service and the accommodations were to your satisfaction as a valued customer. We thank you for your time and your business, and look forward to... More 

YONKERS
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our tour traveled to Labrador and we spent one night in this inn. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. There was an iceberg right outside which added to the lovely view, The staff is very friendly. The local students also performed a skit about a shipwreck, giving us a more intimate view of their ancestors and the area. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank JAKSALEX
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our establishment. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations for quality and service. As an added treat, the local youth performers do a wonderful job in presenting the story of the HMS Raleigh, and we are happy you were able to experience that... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Smaller, comfortable room overlooking the water. Stairs to get up to the second floor. Fridge and microwave in room. Breakfast in restaurant starting at 6 AM. Wifi was ok and we would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Sam J
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing the Northern Light Inn as your Labrador home away from home. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay, and very much appreciate your time and business with us. We hope we will have the privilege of being your host again in the future. More 

Hamilton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

I didn't know what to expect from Labrador, but the Inn was better than I thought we would get. We were part of a bus tour with Atlantic Tours ( they are great). Dining experience was awesome. The staff were friendly given there were 50 mouths to feed all at once. In Newfoundland and Labrador you won't get 5 star... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J0J0starbuck8
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear JOJOstarbuck8, Thank you for your most excellent review of our establishment. We are very happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We certainly appreciate our bus tour groups, as we do each customer, and are happy to know that your dining experience was also wonderful. Customer service is very important to us, and we... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

This is a basic motel, with polyester bedspreads, and thin carpet. It is clean and the room was large with a view of the harbor and icebergs. Unfortunately, our room was next to the stairs, and the walls are thin. I think the floors are made from the same material as roller skating rinks, because that is exactly the sound... More 

Helpful?
Thank StephanyIowa
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review and for staying at the Northern Light Inn. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay, and that the room met your expectations for cleanliness, view and spaciousness. It is wonderful to know that our staff were able to assist you in a friendly and helpful manner. We hope you had an enjoyable... More 

Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

This is a nice hotel. Unfortunately, we had a disappointing experience when we first arrived. We didn't know that there was a time change here and wound up at the hotel a bit early for our room. Instead of being politely told that the room was not ready, we were basically scolded by the lady at the front desk. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Puckducker
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at the Northern Light Inn, and your most sincere review. We are happy that you had a positive experience at our restaurant. We must apologize, however, for your reception at the front desk. We typically pride ourselves in the friendliness and hospitality of our staff - and although everyone is entitled to a... More 

Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

On a business trip, this hotel was recommended by my customer. Modern, nice rooms, great staff, lots of parking. On-site restaurant was just OK, a little slow service though. A bus tour group was staying as well, this might be the problem. Just offshore there was a grounded iceberg, simply great scenery.

Helpful?
Thank John N
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review, and for your visit at our establishment. We are very happy that you had a great experience and were pleased with the room, staff, view and parking area. During peak season, the restaurant can become quite busy, and it was likely that there were one or two bus tours dining at... More 

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

We stayed in the Northern Light Inn for one night in June. The hotel is conveniently located for anyone wanting to take the early morning ferry to Newfoundland. It is not even a 10 minutes drive to the ferry terminal. The room we stayed in was spacious. The layout (toilet and shower in a separate room, washbasin in the room)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naddi_46
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Naddi_46, Thank you for your recent review of our establishment, and for your most valued business. As you identified, our proximity to the ferry and spacious accommodations are often appreciated by the traveling public. However, we are very disappointed that your room was not up to the standard of cleanliness that you both deserve and expect. This, we can... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

A very comfortable place to stay in Labrador. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good restaurant. I only stayed one night and was happy with my decision to stay there. It isn't far from the ferry in Blanc Sablon, Quebec .

Helpful?
Thank linda l
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your recent review. We are happy to have had you stay with us, and are pleased that you had a great visit. As our guest, please know that we strive to provide the best possible service in all aspects of our business. We certainly appreciate knowing that your experience was a positive one. We look forward... More 

Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Stayed for 1 night in April. Pleased with how clean and modern the facility was. Check in-out was straightforward. Room was nice. Pillows were very comfortable. Continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise.

Helpful?
Thank cbrookrob
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
5.9 mi away
The Florian Hotel
The Florian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Forteau
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Price Range: $70 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair
Northern Light Inn Labrador, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing