We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Light Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Anse au Clair
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Northern Light Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Hamilton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't know what to expect from Labrador, but the Inn was better than I thought we would get. We were part of a bus tour with Atlantic Tours ( they are great). Dining experience was awesome. The staff were friendly given there were 50 mouths to feed all at once. In Newfoundland and Labrador you won't get 5 star... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J0J0starbuck8
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear JOJOstarbuck8, Thank you for your most excellent review of our establishment. We are very happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We certainly appreciate our bus tour groups, as we do each customer, and are happy to know that your dining experience was also wonderful. Customer service is very important to us, and we... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a basic motel, with polyester bedspreads, and thin carpet. It is clean and the room was large with a view of the harbor and icebergs. Unfortunately, our room was next to the stairs, and the walls are thin. I think the floors are made from the same material as roller skating rinks, because that is exactly the sound... More 

Helpful?
Thank StephanyIowa
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review and for staying at the Northern Light Inn. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay, and that the room met your expectations for cleanliness, view and spaciousness. It is wonderful to know that our staff were able to assist you in a friendly and helpful manner. We hope you had an enjoyable... More 

Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice hotel. Unfortunately, we had a disappointing experience when we first arrived. We didn't know that there was a time change here and wound up at the hotel a bit early for our room. Instead of being politely told that the room was not ready, we were basically scolded by the lady at the front desk. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Puckducker
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at the Northern Light Inn, and your most sincere review. We are happy that you had a positive experience at our restaurant. We must apologize, however, for your reception at the front desk. We typically pride ourselves in the friendliness and hospitality of our staff - and although everyone is entitled to a... More 

Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a business trip, this hotel was recommended by my customer. Modern, nice rooms, great staff, lots of parking. On-site restaurant was just OK, a little slow service though. A bus tour group was staying as well, this might be the problem. Just offshore there was a grounded iceberg, simply great scenery.

Helpful?
Thank John N
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review, and for your visit at our establishment. We are very happy that you had a great experience and were pleased with the room, staff, view and parking area. During peak season, the restaurant can become quite busy, and it was likely that there were one or two bus tours dining at... More 

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Northern Light Inn for one night in June. The hotel is conveniently located for anyone wanting to take the early morning ferry to Newfoundland. It is not even a 10 minutes drive to the ferry terminal. The room we stayed in was spacious. The layout (toilet and shower in a separate room, washbasin in the room)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naddi_46
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Naddi_46, Thank you for your recent review of our establishment, and for your most valued business. As you identified, our proximity to the ferry and spacious accommodations are often appreciated by the traveling public. However, we are very disappointed that your room was not up to the standard of cleanliness that you both deserve and expect. This, we can... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

A very comfortable place to stay in Labrador. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good restaurant. I only stayed one night and was happy with my decision to stay there. It isn't far from the ferry in Blanc Sablon, Quebec .

Helpful?
Thank linda l
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your recent review. We are happy to have had you stay with us, and are pleased that you had a great visit. As our guest, please know that we strive to provide the best possible service in all aspects of our business. We certainly appreciate knowing that your experience was a positive one. We look forward... More 

Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Stayed for 1 night in April. Pleased with how clean and modern the facility was. Check in-out was straightforward. Room was nice. Pillows were very comfortable. Continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise.

Helpful?
Thank cbrookrob
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay with us. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

This was our hotel on the bus tour. After a cool foggy day it is a great place to end the day. The staff made our short stay pleasant and enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable. The supper was included with the room and was tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we could assist in making your visit to Labrador a great one! We certainly value our bus tour groups, as we do each customer, and are happy that our services met your expectations for quality, cleanliness and more. Thank... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

This is a good stopping off place on the way north to Red Bay and Battle Harbour. The rooms are typical budget type hotel/motel type room clean, quiet, decent bed, TV and bath. Free internet was provided but the quality was very poor. The staff were pleasant, courteous but not particularly helpful. There is no where to eat in this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug W
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Doug, Thank you for your most meaningful review of our business. We appreciate and value your comments, as hearing from our customers is instrumental in being able to provide quality service. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. We are constantly doing upgrades and improvements to the premises, with a new section of the hotel... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

This is a great choice if you are visiting Labrador. It is just a few minutes from the ferry dock, and not far from the Red Bay Basque whaling station, and the L'Anse Amour lighthouse. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is a restaurant and bar. The staff are courteous and friendly. There is a small gift shop... More 

Helpful?
Thank Semi-retiredOntario
Northern_Light_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear `Semi-Retired Ontario,` It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at the Northern Light Inn. We appreciate hearing your feedback, and are happy that you had a great experience with us. Our location is certainly ideal for anyone wanting to explore the wonderful attractions and sites in southern Labrador, as we are also just minutes from the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair
Northern Light Inn Labrador, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing