We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast

Share
Traveler (10)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
10434 Horlings Rd, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N2 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews(14)
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 7
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Julionator
20
Reviewed Jul 9, 2018via mobile
I stayed at this place in June and this month....a week each time.
Working in New Hazelton but read good reviews and decides to stay here.
The host was super nice and accommodating.
The house is warm and welcoming.
The breakfast never worked for me because I had to leave early, however she always packed me stuff to go.
I tried her dinner one time and it was quite the treat, soo good!!!!!!
Too bad she's a busy lady or I would had dinner there everyday.
I was really happy with the whole experience and would definitely stay here again next time I return.
Thank Julionator
Slipstream11
Ottawa, Canada
169
Reviewed Sep 21, 2017
We definitely chose a perfect location for us to get out of the city and away from the hustle & bustle! Quiet, secluded, awesome views, and great hosts. Makala & Helmut were superb hosts offering wonderful advice about many great opportunities for climbing, hiking, birding, historical sightseeing, and photography! Of course the breakfasts were extremely tasty - lots of food for sure! The B & B grounds offered some of the very best view of stars and the milky way!
Thank Slipstream11
GypsyJax
Andover, United Kingdom
8429
Reviewed Sep 15, 2017via mobile
Chose this for its location - wanted somewhere out of town and with great views. I wasn't disappointed.

Glacier view room was comfortable but rather small and the bathroom was on the floor above, which wasn't ideal but it was well stocked.

Hosts were friendly, wifi was ok given the location, and breakfast was tasty (one of the better breakfasts I've had this trip).

Hosts are native German speakers - worth bearing in mind if you speak German and fancy a break from speaking English 24/7.
Thank GypsyJax
John S
Vancouver, Canada
262279
Reviewed Sep 10, 2017via mobile
Given my experience I don't comprehend the number of good reviews. It has me questioning the value and reliability of Tripadvisor.

Silvern Lake was a mediocre experience at best. Our greeting of "you're early" set the tone and it really didn't improve much from there. By the third lecture / scolding at breakfast it felt like the experience was to please the hosts.

We booked after reading reviews and Silvern's description stating our room would have a private bath -- which I interpreted as if not en-suite, for our exclusive use . With four rooms in the basement and only two bathrooms the math doesn't add up. We only had a bathroom to ourselves because we were the only guests. Only the queen / single room is en-suite which also serves as the laundry & mechanical room. Not sure how the bathrooms are allocated when fully booked. We found the (larger) Wolf Room to be knock-a-knee-on-the-way-to-the-batroom small. The smaller "Glacier" room has a peek-a-boo view of the glacier across the front lawn. The hot tub was also turned off.

Silvern Lake Trail B&B is a good 10-minutes drive from downtown Smithers and any amenities like restaurants. You'll want to consider this as the property isn't conducive to hanging out, nor is the common room in the basement. The location is okay for a stop, flop and go the next morning.

Breakfast was nothing to rave about. Morning one was an undercooked waffle with strawberries and bananas on it. Day two was a cheese omelette, no sausage, ham or bacon offered. Not on par with the many B&B offerings we've experienced elsewhere, or the included buffet breakfasts at low cost hotels.

I wouldn't return or recommend Silvern, the offering doesn't line up with the cost.
3 Thank John S
Response from Michaela B, Owner at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast
Responded Sep 17, 2017
Dear John, we are not surprised by your review, since you arrived 3 hours earlier then the check-in-time for our B&B is announced. You were already negatively informed by your wife, that you were earlier than anticipated, Since we are a privat couple and B&B hosts, we need time to get our guest rooms ready to satisfaction for our next guests arrival. Therefore, not everything was ready for your arrival and we apologized for that, even if it wasn't our wrongdoing. Guest, who arrive already with complains and negativity in mind are hard to satisfy and your review shows just that. You obviously expected 5* Hotel service for a Hostel price. Our Breakfast was - except by you-.always recognized with an Ahhh, Oh so nice or wow, that guest took pictures of it., some even mentioned that they have not had a great breakfast like this one on their whole trip, as you can read on many other reviews. We are sorry, that you didn't come with an open mind to appreciate what a private B&B has to offer. Bye the way , we do have 4 Bathrooms in the House and the Hot Tub is ready for guests, who ask if they can use it. You never did.We wish you all the best on your way home.
Ougelthorpe
Smithers, Canada
71
Reviewed Jul 25, 2017
awesome breakfast,clean rooms,great people to talk to...
The hosts had great tips for us for restaurants and nearby attractions.
Very quiet location,exactly what we were looking for.We will definitely come back.
Thank Ougelthorpe
Response from Michaela B, Manager at Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 27, 2017
Dear Ougelthorpe, thank you so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure for us as well to have met you and we wish you a save and awesome trip through our beautiful Province of British Columbia. :))
PreviousNext
123
About
Description
B & B is in the Lake Kathlyn Area, beside Huds.Bay Mount. We are in a wildlife area right beside the Silvern Lake Trail with views to the Kathlyn Glacier, Twin Falls. The Trail is ideal for hiking a. biking in More the summer and snowmobiling/X-Country in the winter. After that you can relax in our Outdoor Hot-Tub with glacierview. All Rooms are with wildlifemotive decor and wildlife-flanellbedding, some with glacierview, separate entrance, Cozy Guest Lounge with Fireplace. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Hot Tub
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Shuttle Bus Service
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
GreenLeaders Gold level
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
GreenLeaders Gold level
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
$96 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
GreenLeaders Gold level
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
$96 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Photos
Traveler (10)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Aspen Inn & Suites
101 reviews
4.99 miles away
Florence Motel
16 reviews
5.12 miles away
Capri Motor Inn
27 reviews
5.32 miles away
Sandman Inn Smithers
98 reviews
5.39 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 44 nearby restaurants
Telly's Grill
70 reviews
5.51 miles away
Trackside Cantina
191 reviews
5.62 miles away
Blue Water Sushi
137 reviews
5.58 miles away
Daddio's Family Restuarant
91 reviews
5.66 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Twin Falls/Glacier Gulch Trails
124 reviews
5.66 miles away
Hagwilget Canyon Bridge
55 reviews
30.32 miles away
Moricetown Canyon
75 reviews
5.37 miles away
Hudson Bay Mountain Resort
29 reviews
5.53 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Silvern Lake Trail Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The glacier view room was our favourite."
StaceyK328
Sep 9, 2011
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing