We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sechelt
Post
Inbox
Search

Bayside Campground & RV Park

Save
6040 Sechelt Inlet Rd, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A3 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 10 Specialty lodging in Sechelt
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bayside Campground & RV Park is a full-service campground on BC's Sunshine Coast! Offering tent sites, partial service & full-service campsites; near ocean & inlet beaches, lakes, hiking & biking trails, parks, attractions, activities, markets, festivals. Warm showers, playground, fire pits, picnic tables, group area, access to pool, etc.
Read more
Property amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
32Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 6
  • 9
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This little campground is well maintained with clean showers and good service hookups. The sites are quite private and it seems that many who stay here are long term renters. The owners were quite helpful.
Read more
Response from Colleen W, Manager at Bayside Campground & RV Park
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Thank you so much for your review Jack. Please come and join us at Bayside again in the future. It was our pleasure having you with us. Regards Colleen
Read more
If you enjoy an aggressive, unbalanced proprietor that uses small, easily resolvable misunderstandings to bludgeon you with airhorn-loud profanity without any chance for an actual conversation, please stay here. If you value your sense of decency or your blood pressure, avoid it like the plague. I have never had a more inappropriate customer service interaction. Due to a misunderstanding, we arrived with more cars than expected. Although that is our fault, in the grand scheme of things it was a laughably minor issue that should have been easily and quickly solved. The resolution was a single simple statement: 'We'll pay for an extra campsite.' We weren't ever able to make this offer as we were shouted at and over without pause for 15+ minutes, which eventually drove away the potential extra income in the form of our extra vehicles/campers, who left angry, shocked, and insulted. I have no doubt that the owner will respond to my review with a complete misrepresentation of the situation - it seems to be her modus operandi. The review by 'Oliver K' was written by a neighbor of our campsite - a person that I have never met. They were shocked enough by the owner's behavior towards us to write a negative review despite having no involvement with our party. Anyone that looks through the negative reviews of this 'establishment' will see a trend far too consistent to be a fluke. The owner has a history of harassing customers and shows no signs of stopping, even to the detriment of her business. Do yourself a favor and go camp anywhere else - the area has no shortage of gorgeous campsites that come sans verbal abuse.
Read more
Response from Colleen W, Manager at Bayside Campground & RV Park
Responded Sep 6, 2019
The 8th review from Laura's one night, drop-in group. She had paid for 5 guests for this horrific experience. Again, I will not dignify this review with a response as it is the same as the other 7. Colleen
Read more
When we were pulling into our campsite (that could clearly only fit our 3 vehicles) two more friends in their own cars decided last minute to come to the campground because they missed the ferry. Rather than offering to rent them sites, Colleen yelled at us while we were organizing our cars in the site and called us childish for being too slow and was cursing at us. She made our friends so uncomfortable and stressed that they left. When I calmly said that we were trying our best and our friends wanted to buy another site so they could camp at the campground too, she put her finger in my face and yelled and me and wouldn’t let me speak. There wasn’t one time where I could even finish a sentence that evening or the following morning without her interrupting and shouting at me for no apparent reason. It was the most rude and unprofessional customer service experience I’ve ever had. She was so out of hand campers from other sites came over to us to apologize for her behavior. It was shocking that a business owner could treat people, who are being kind and respectful, so poorly. Her behavior put a big damper on our evening.
Read more
Response from Colleen W, Manager at Bayside Campground & RV Park
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Laura: When you phoned to book at Bayside in the afternoon you said that you have 2 vans, a vehicles and 7 guests. You then called back again and said that you would be coming between 4 and 6 PM. I texted you back and said that I could not check-in a large group after dark as it is too disruptive to the rest of the campground. And you arrived between 8 and 8:30 PM. When you arrived you told me that you had only 2 vans and not 7 people but 5. You misrepresented. Checking in at the office I had originally told you that all of our tent sites were booked that I had to book you on our overflow area but just before you arrived I had a cancellation on a large serviced site that would just accommodate your group. However, when we walked out of the office I noticed an additional vehicle had joined your group - so we came back in the office for you to pay for same. I did not charge you for all of your additional guests at $5 per night. When you drove from the office down to your site I watched an additional 3 or 4 trucks and vans follow you to your site. When I drove down and asked you about them you said that you did not know who they were, but then a few minutes later you told me they were your friends. I was trying to get your group parked into your site when the others were pulling in as well. When I was trying to suggest how your group park, everyone was raising their voices and unfortunately I had to as well to be heard. Your group was loud, rude, and most of all disruptive and inconsiderate to the other guests in the campground. Meanwhile you sat in your car and let everyone carry on at which time you said that you would get a refund and leave. I told you that I would be happy to do that. After some length of time your additional trucks and vans left the campground, and to my dismay you stayed. Had you handled your booking with a little more honesty when you were checking in I would have gone out of my way to accommodate the additional guests, but due to your unorganized deception it turned into a fiasco. It is unfathomable to me that your group would have so little respect for the campground and guests. You said that I will be receiving a review from each of the people in your party, I await same. Yours truly, Colleen Whitney
Read more
The owner COLEEN was extremely helpful. She made our week long stay super pleasant. I really recommend this campground. It is less than a 2 km walk to the downtown stores. We visited the Groves - 4.8 km away - a very magical forest!
Read more
Water was hot. We got a private fully serviced site. Office is nice and Colleen was lovey. Playground needs work...not great. Forrest around our campsite was fun for kids. Seems to be more long term residents which was fine. Not waterfront as the name would suggest but a close walk down to the inlet.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaSunshine CoastSechelt
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bayside Campground & RV Park
Which popular attractions are close to Bayside Campground & RV Park?
Nearby attractions include Porpoise Bay Provincial Park (0.8 miles), Sechelt Heritage Hidden Groves (3.0 miles), and Burnett Falls Park (0.7 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Bayside Campground & RV Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Basted Baker, Shift Kitchen & Bar, and The Blue Heron Inn.
Are pets allowed at Bayside Campground & RV Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.