We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halcyon Hot Springs Resort

Save
Share
5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (46)
Pool & Beach (37)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 04/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Nakusp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Lake, mountains, natural hot springs, wilderness, comfort, fun and serenity... there is so much to explore at Halcyon Hot Springs Village and Spa. Experience the beauty of the Kootenays and our exceptional amenities. The famous Halcyon Hot Springs Lithia Waters have a unique combination of minerals that are very relaxing and beneficial for a variety of ailments. The pools are constantly supplied with fresh hot springs water. Relax and rejuvenate in our natural mineral spring pools while gazing over serene Arrow Lake and the Monashee Mountain range. Linger at the springs a bit longer and make yourself at home in one of the charming cabins, luxurious cottages or chalets and enjoy complimentary access to the pools. The clear Arrow Lake invites for a dip (or swim) on those hot summer day and canoes, SUP paddle boards and kayaks are available for rent. Enjoy the outstanding cuisine in the Kingfisher Restaurant or a pampering treatment at the Spa at Halcyon. The resort is open year round and winters are magical with world class skiing nearby.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Yoga room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
BBQ facilities
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
Contact
5655 Highway 23, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0 Canada
Getting there
Castlegar Airport85 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
696Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 292
  • 227
  • 94
  • 50
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BorisCanada wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada41 contributions31 helpful votes
We really enjoyed out time at Halcyon, Variety of pools, good service and attitude , supper comfortable accommodation. I just wish seasonal pool ,which is awesome, would open a bit earlier. Will be definitely back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
sbjays wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions
We stayed 3 nights at Halcyon Hot Springs in one of the "King Cottages". The cottage was fantastic! Clean, cozy and very modern. Most importantly the Nespresso coffee machine was our favorite amenity! Comfortable king bed with a nice gas fireplace, TV & modern bathroom equipped with a bidet, heated floors and the lighted make-up mirror was a nice touch. Unfortunately, our in room fridge was faulty and was continuously beeping. We advised the front desk immediately before we went to dinner and they informed us it may just need to come up to temperature after putting in warm beverages. Well it continued to beep off and on, sometimes rapidly for 15-20 seconds at a time ...we finally just unplugged it and told them in the morning it was definitely a problem. They sent a maintenance guy and he told us the same thing...it needed to come up to temperature...it had been over 12 hours since we put the beverages in...we went for lunch, then a soak, (probably 3 hrs) and we asked them again what the status is on the fix. They replied they were working on it...pretty disappointing that it was almost 24hrs and we still didn't have an answer. We continued on to dinner and by the time we returned the noise had stopped...not sure if someone fixed it or if it sorted itself out...needless to say, no more incessant beeping! Other than that we really enjoyed the quiet relaxing stay. The pools were open until 9pm and September is a perfect time to enjoy a couples getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Kevin B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I would like to send a message to management: The stay at Halcyon was the worst stay ever and I am not happy and will never return. Here is the story: Called Halcyon and they booked a room in April 2021 for 4 adults and it was a Village King Chalet room. When we checked in on Sunday we were told we get a room for two adults - unacceptable - we booked a room for 4 adults. The staff was basically incompetent and did not offer an acceptable room for 4 adults - NOT HAPPY. I slept in a hideabed for three nights for about $2000 - unacceptable. The real issue is that unit 10A ( the one we booked and Halcyon mistakenly booked 9A) was vacant SUNDAY and MONDAY then 2 people stayed on TUESDAY. The two people could have stayed in 9A and we could have stayed in 10A for three days. We were never given this option. Your staff was incompetent and I was not happy. VERY unfortunate for Halcyon - you have lost a very good customer based on VERY POOR customer service Kevin. PS: Charged my MC for two stolen robes - used ugly ones
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Spencer, Marketing at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Hello Kevin, I see that your recent stay has not been as expected. I have looked further into the challenges that you have listed here in order to provide some clarity. Our guest services manager has been in contact with you to ensure that we can clarify these issues. We have a variety of accommodations onsite and it is very important to ensure that your confirmation emails are reviewed to ensure your unit is sufficient in size to your group needs. We are aware of this confusion and are working to remedy the issue with you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Read more
loveoflifegal wrote a review Aug 2021
Calgary, Alberta23 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband surprised me and booked us for four nights here to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We both thought four days of doing very little but relaxing would be enough. We found out too soon (well, after the four days but...) we were incredibly wrong with that idea and wished we had booked for much longer! EveryBODY (resort and restaurant) were so patient, helpful, kind and fun to chat with. If we needed anything (i.e.: extra bathrobe) item(s) were produced instantly. The pools are absolutely wonderful and we can't believe how long we stayed in them! We loved, LOVED our king cottage. Amenities provided were more than what we expected. The bed is in our top 5 for comfort and of course, the bathroom. Really? It is almost too comfortable;-) Probably the best one we have ever had and we have enjoyed stays in Fairmonts etc. We also loved the cottage set up. They are staggered so even though you are side by side others, the layout of the entrances and decks offer privacy. Unfortunately our stay was socked in with smoke which made any views impossible to enjoy but we knew gorgeous ones 'were out there'. We have been to this area many times and the Lake and mountains are stunning. Point being, I am sure the view from our cottage also would have been lovely. (That said, we did overlook a green space and forest which was very nice). Finally, the restaurant. We had two dinners, a lunch and one breakfast in it. My husband (a former chef) and I enjoyed every single meal we had. The food was absolutely delicious and the chef was incredibly accommodating. All serving staff were friendly, very helpful and so kind. Halcyon Hot Springs and Kingfisher did not disappoint!!!! As stated in my title and opening sentence: our four nights were simply not enough. Thank you..EVERYONE for all you did to make our 25th Anniversary more special than we could have imagined!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: King cottage was excellent!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Spencer, Marketing at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Hello Love of life Gal, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this glowing and in-depth review for our resort. It is much appreciated. We are very glad that you enjoyed all of your experiences at our Hot Springs Resort on your 25th anniversary. We pride ourselves on all that you mentioned, from our comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, to our private cottages. We are glad to hear that you experienced our quality customer service from our staff. They are truly one of our proudest attributes. I will send along your kudos to our restaurant team. The Kingfisher Restaurant is glad to be able to provide quality service and delectable food for all of our guests at the resort. We are flattered that you enjoyed this so much and humbled to hear your review. Thank you very much for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you at our Hot Springs Resort whenever you need another getaway.
Read more
Morris H wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Our stay of two days at Halcyon started poorly at the reception desk, where I queried why Guest Services was providing less than the 15% discount promised to the 55+ set on the resort’s website. I showed the reservation confirmation email from the resort's own online booking system to the desk clerk, and pointed out that the follow-up email from Guest Services was providing a significantly lesser discount. The desk clerk then told me that the confirmation email from Guest Services is what I should accept, and added that she had never yet seen an email from the resort’s online system—which she appeared to view with suspicion. Taken aback, I challenged her by pointing out that the “suspicious” email came from info@halcyon-hotsprings.com, whereupon she said that she would have to go and inquire about this issue, sat me down on a nearby couch to wait, and left the room. Well who knows what the desk clerk described to her superior, because when he appeared in place of the desk clerk he proceeded to scold me for upsetting his employee, as if I had perhaps uttered insults or swear words, or shouted at her—none of which I had done. As well, he commenced to explain in a supercilious manner how I could not expect a discount of 15% from the “special online rate” because it was already discounted 5% from the resort’s rack rate. I expressed my annoyance with the lack of transparency in the resort’s pricing, and requested to be checked in regardless. The manager was apparently unsatisfied with my lack of agreement with what he said, and wanted to remonstrate with me further. I requested several times that he simply check me in without further ado, which he finally went ahead and did. The second day, we put out our garbage and completed checklist for housekeeping resupply at 3:00 PM as requested. Two hours later, with nothing yet received, my wife went down to the hotel reception to inquire, noticed her request list with the requested items sitting nearby, and asked if she could take the items up to our cabin. The desk clerk-- the same one I encountered at check-in--curtly refused, and my wife ascended the two flights of stairs back to our cabin empty handed, and perturbed. Our second evening in the pools, during the adults only time extending from 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM, the access to the lower, fourth pool was locked. This made no sense, because there was never any lifeguard down there anyway. Some Halcyon staff were really great, but the desk clerk and her supervisor put a damper on our enjoyment of the resort. After the miserable experience at check-in, we avoided the onsite restaurant so as to minimize the possibility of further disappointment. Instead, we drove to Nakusp, where we dined on the patio of the Leland Hotel, perched above the beautiful gardens of the promenade, with a view across Upper Arrow Lake.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Spencer, Marketing at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Hello Morris and thank you for taking time to review our resort. I see that you have addressed some concerns with our check-in process and the housekeeping strategy. We do offer a special 5% online booking rate, and also a 15% Senior's rate. Not to worry, your reservation was upgraded from 5% off to 15% upon check-in. Regarding the Housekeeping items not being available to your wife, I have forwarded this over to our housekeeping and front desk managers to ensure that we are better able to provide these services to our guests. Our lower pool is closed earlier than the upper pools to increase safety of our gusts after dark. Thank you for your concern. This has been a very unprecedented year for many of us in the hospitality industry and we appreciate guest understanding and calmness at our wellness resort. Thank you for your review of our hot springs resort.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$193 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
halcyon hot springs hotel nakusp, halcyon hot springs nakusp
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesNakusp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Halcyon Hot Springs Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, locker rooms available in the fitness center, and a yoga room during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Halcyon Hot Springs Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Halcyon Hot Springs Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Halcyon Hot Springs Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Halcyon Hot Springs Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.