We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kootenay Park Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Kootenay Park Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We had a great experience, spending 3 nights. We loved the location, close enough to Banff and Lake Louise but far enough to be away from the crowds. It felt like stepping back in time to magical days--a wonderful hunting lodge and comfortable cabin from days gone by. One of the comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank 206dave2016
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

I booked this place on all the great reviews on trip advisor and they are so wrong. This was one of my most expensive accommodation places on a four week trip and it was by far the worst. Old, very old cabins built in the 1930's and honestly i dont think they have had any money spent on them since.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herbieann
Kpl K, Owner at Kootenay Park Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging our other great reviews on Trip Advisor. We've noticed you stayed at our property 3 weeks ago, however, we were closed for the season. We feel this is not an accurate review of a guest experience. Perhaps try us again sometime when we are open. Greg & Meredith More 

Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We stayed in one of the vermilion cabins, which are newer than the other cabins. I found it very comfortable and cozy. The bed was very comfy and we slept great. The gas heater provided a cozy atmosphere on the chilly evenings. There was a coffeemaker and fridge in the room, which was convenient. The location is perfect for access... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GEM747
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay. Just off the highway with beautiful mountain views. Enjoyed a wonderful evening meal that was perfectly cooked. The owners appeared to be very conscientious and chatted with us to ensure everything was to our liking. Our rustic cabin was clean & had very comfortable beds. Enjoyed the quiet star lit evening sitting on our cabin porch with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank suehargrave
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic mountain views, charming log cabins and great food! What more could you ask for? We stayed here for one night in August in cabin #4. This cabin is dog friendly and was perfect for our family. In the main room, there's a very comfortable queen bed, couch, bar fridge and coffee maker. This is separate from a spacious back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori B
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our road trip back from the west coast and LOVED it. We wanted to stay a second night but there was some confusion. First we were told they had to wait for the owner to return with the books, then we were told we could stay but they were going to have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Touguizi
Clothiers Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016

The only good thing going for this place is it's location and that is it. There doesn't seem to have been any customer service training with the owners and I think this is due to the fact there isn't anything around for 60km so it's their way or literally the highway. Which we did and went to Radium Hot Springs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphin769
Kpl K, Owner at Kootenay Park Lodge, responded to this review

This review is suspicious. We the owners do not recall speaking with this guest. If you are reading this post please read other guest reviews as we've had excellent customer service reviews. What is true about the review is we are affordable and we do have policies, just like anywhere else you will stay. Greg & Meredith More 

Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2016

The cabin was clean and room service was provided every day. The location was perfect! Close to trials and only 45 mins to an hour from Radium Hot Springs or Banff. The dinners were delicious, but the complimentary breakfast was OK (I guess you can't expect too much when its free?) One of the young girls who worked at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddyca
Belle River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Both the establishment and the service was LESS than desirable. We were scheduled to stay 2 nights but only made through 1! The smell of the mould inside our cabin was overwhelming! They are damp and musty to say the least. As mentioned by a previous guest , the carpeting was filthy, pine needles and dirt throughout the entire cabin.... More 

Helpful?
Thank cawilson783
Kpl K, Owner at Kootenay Park Lodge, responded to this review

Mrs. Wilson, you were hands down the rudest guest we encountered this season. Although we run a hospitality business and are highly focused on customer service and guest experience this does not mean we need to be ordered around, belittled and treated like a lesser human beings. Furthermore, this review is being investigated by Tripadvisor because your details of the... More 

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Our one night at the Kootenay Park lodge was very disappointing and did not live up to all the hype posted on tripadvisor; quite the contrary! We stayed in cabin #3 which appears to be one of the original 1920 builds. Unfortunately the negatives outnumbered the positive: - the cabin suffers from lack of upkeep; screen door had holes, front... More 

Helpful?
Thank DDutch01
Kpl K, Owner at Kootenay Park Lodge, responded to this review

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay and were not able to bring your concerns to our attention. We are in the process of renovating our cabins and unfortunately cabin #3 has not been renovated as of yet (we actually purchased new flooring, furniture and appliances for cabin #3 today and plan to complete it in our off... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kootenay National Park
22.1 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,145 reviews
22.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
868 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,437 reviews
24.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
21.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kootenay Park Lodge

Address: Hwy. 93 | Vermilion Crossing, Kootenay National Park, British Columbia T0L 0C0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay National Park
Price Range: $104 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kootenay Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kootenay Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kootenay Park Hotel Kootenay National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kootenay Park Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Vermillion cabin units are new, modern and nice, but the Heritage cabins are old, rustic, classic and adorable.”
 of 5 bubbles flygirl5436, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“All cabins are unique. Some cabin are older. Some cabins are renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles anitajbjones, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“We were in cabin 1 which is renovated and has a fireplace but is right next to the lodge and driveway for other cabins.”
  • Queen size bed with down comforter in cabin 1
  • Fireplace and sitting space in cabin 1
  • ceiling light in cabin 1
  • Cabin 1 lodge pole bed
  • bathroom in cabin 1
  • Stunning fireplace and mantle in cabin 1
 of 5 bubbles 355lisamarieh, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“The cabins in the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 697deniced, Jul 2, 2016 | Read review
“The two newer V1 and V2 cabins are better if you are an "avid indoors person." The other cabins are more rustic and not as new.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymous164572, Jun 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay