We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haven Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gabriola Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Haven Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am sure there are nicer rooms available but ours was pathetic. We were told that it was a waterfront building, and then quite disappointed to find that for $140 we were put in a back basement type of room. Dank, dark, and tiny. No fridge, no coffee maker, no bottled water ( Island tap water is stinky to drink),... More 

Helpful?
Thank private61
rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Hi private61 - you are right, we are not a typical hotel! Most people come to The Haven for our programs and our rooms are set up primarily for that purpose. We do of course welcome other guests and I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your room. We offer a range of room options, and our ocean... More 

Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in here for a quick coffee late in the evening. Although I can't comment on the food the coffee and fresh baked goods were very good and the view of the ocean are probably the best on the island. Be mindful this resort is a place that is primarily a retreat resort for workshops and large groups. It caters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raynman M
Surrey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

This was the cutest little cabin right on the water. It was tiny but very clean and had all the amenities we needed. Queen size bed, kitchenette, living room with TV, chairs outside to sit by the water. Quaint and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Thomas. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit - hope to see you again sometime soon! Rachel. More 

Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Staff polite, food good, setting beautiful. Lomo lomi massage spiritual. Housing with "view of ocean" bit small view but large clean room. Was there for class.... Would have liked a shuttle to attractions on island....or kayaking or something. Pool and hot tub nice.

Helpful?
Thank BlueFalconRidge
rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. I hope to see you back at The Haven sometime very soon. Rachel More 

Level Contributor
156 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Rustic resort and personal growth center. Courses are life changing. Food is average but all organic and local. Property is rustic and the view is the best!

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was invited to a conference at "The Haven" and, so, thought of it as a resort rather than a B & B where one might stay for a few nights. There are massage rooms, beautiful grounds and several "self-improvement" course with a definite New Age tinge. The food was part of the conference and offered both meat and meatless... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
rachelathaven, General Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nissology, just a quick word of thanks for your review of your stay at The Haven. We were delighted to host the conference, and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are certainly right about the weather, we have been known to have all 4 seasons in one day here, and an umbrella is essential (we do... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I love coming here as it is so peaceful and calm great massages availae and wonderful wks Long the coast of Gabriola. Very accessible from Vancouver or Victoria not a fancy place but Down To earth and comforttable. Food good quLity but not Cordova. Blue!

Helpful?
1 Thank fred7777_10
rachelathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fred7777_10 thanks for both of your wonderful reviews of The Haven. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. I hope that you will come back very soon. Many thanks, Rachel. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have stayed at The Haven on a number of occassions over the past three years. Our daughters are now 8 and 11 and we really like the setting which has mostly pedestrian areas, is right next to the ocean (lovely views with great sunsets) and offers buffet style meals. Rooms vary from large to small depending on price and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fred7777_10
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The setting is spectacular. The rooms and cabins are older and rustic but clean and comfortable. Our ocean view room had a small kitchen, a new/comfortable pull out sofa as well as queen bed and a stellar view. But the staff are not well trained, not particularly friendly (strange for this friendly island) and very slow. The food is abysmal.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaCS
chrisathaven, Manager at The Haven Resort, responded to this review

Dear TheresaCS. Thanks for the great comments about the settings and accommodations. I am glad you found them to be comfortable. And I agree, the view really is stellar. I'm surprised and disappointed to hear that you found our staff to be unfrlendly. This is not usually the case, and I will be sure to pass your feedback on. The... More 

Gabriola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Buffet style dinners, not lots of selection with one meat and one veggie main selection. May be crowded if there are courses running. Closes quite quickly after mealtime.

Helpful?
Thank John I
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gabriola Island
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina's Hideaway
Marina's Hideaway
#13 of 17 in Gabriola Island
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
WurHere B&B
WurHere B&B
#5 of 17 in Gabriola Island
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Pine & Picket B&B
The Pine & Picket B&B
#1 of 34 in Nanaimo
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Haven is a not-for-profit charitable organization located on beautiful Gabriola Island, BC, Canada. For more than 25 years The Haven has offered programs for personal and professional development and growth. People leave The Haven with skills to be fully alive, have healthy relationships and communicate effectively.The Haven welcomes private guests, and many individuals and families have made it their regular holiday destination, returning year after year. With rooms and cabins nestled beside the ocean and tucked among the trees, we offer the pleasures of an idyllic country retreat just 20 minutes by ferry from downtown Nanaimo. Our facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, hot-tub, gym, children's play area, a games room with pool table and air-hockey and much more. In everything we do at The Haven we put people first. We invite you to come enjoy the warmth and acceptance of the people that make this a place like no other. Call us today to make your reservation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Haven Resort

Address: 240 Davis Rd, Gabriola Island, British Columbia V0R 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Gabriola Island
Price Range: $68 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Gabriola Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing