We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed the weekend at the West Coast Wilderness Lodge for a friends wedding. The view from the restaurant is spectacular. There is a very relaxing feel about the place, not a lot going on around so is great if you want to unwind. The food from the restaurant is pricey for what you get. The food served during the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyLiao
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was to be our luxury break on a tour of British Columbia. Room large comfortable with balcony overlooking what was described as the forest. Chairs on balcony damp but as I was bitten in the few minutes I was out there we didn't use it anyway. We arrived too late to book the zodiac trip so if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpc692016
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you like Egmont we do too, sorry but damp weather, that can happen in the fall. I cant seen to find anyone at our front desk that wold charge for tea which is usually found at the coffee / tea station so this was weid,if we miss dropping tea off to your room I am... More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Please allow me to say that the venue was a beautiful setting for a wedding, but unfortunately for us that was all we could say. The beauty was the only thing we felt this place had going for it. The beds were uncomfortable, the showers lacked pressure, and your "suites" were not suites, but large rooms, the staff was lacking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank desireesteele78
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at West Coast Wilderness Lodge and that our accommodations were not what you were expecting. We understand your frustration with our accommodations and that our establishment is not what you would have booked, but it was bride that made the booking at the lodge you were wanting a place to... More 

Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Who knew? Way out there, this oasis of ocean and mountains. Stayed 2nights with the Zodiac and dinner package. The food is outstanding !!! And ample !!! Glad we bought the package as the meals and drinks are pricey. But very very good. Be warned that you cannot sip your own wine on their patios and decks or propert, other... More 

Helpful?
Thank darlenew1919
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I visited the place for a light lunch. We enjoyed an excellent bowl of Seafood Chowder and the Split Pea Soup of the day. We were offered bread : 4 slices of baguette sized white bread slices. The 2 glasses of IPA beer on tap was excellent, too. The waiter was friendly and efficient. We admired the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie B
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in and we happy that you enjoy your meal , unfortunately whether to charge for bread or not is always a dilemma. We always appreciate feed back for next years season and the menu has been thoroughly discussed with managers. We hope you will grace us again in the future with your presence to see our improvements... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love, Love, Love the West Coast Wilderness Lodge. Gorgeous views, remote location, food is amazing, cozy rooms and the most helpful and accommodating staff! A must is the skookumchuck narrows hike, be sure to stop off at the quaint bakery on the trail! Delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Smiles66
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing no-cell-phone-reception location over looking the water and islands, so-so accommodation, so-so service, bad management, and nice food... all for a large price. One night in the Ocean View Suite costs $350 + tax. One evening mail for 2 adults and a teenager costed $190. So why only 1 star? WCWL was our last stop on a 2 week road... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
WCWLodge, Owner at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We find this review peculiar, as it seems the reviewer has only just joined Trip advisor to point out at our faults, although we do accept the criticism. We can write a great long response, however it will always be a moot point when dealing with professional critics. Some of the photos posted with comments are this individuals personal opinion.... More 

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an off-the-beaten path resort, set in a stunning location, and designed to make the most of it. Lodging is in one-story four-plexes, well designed, quiet, with individual decks. The main dining area has a great view and is situated to make the most of it, and includes as much outdoor area for dining as indoor. The biggest surprise... More 

Helpful?
Thank m d
Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to WCWL twice - once in summer 2013 and again in August 2016. We had fun the first time and an even better experience the second. The resort seemed to be in even better repair the second time. A quick review: ROOMS: In 2013 we had a room in the adjacent cabin building, with balconies but no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cgsaddle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On approaching the WCWL, the buildings and car parking has the appearance of cabins in the woods rather than the hotel style accommodation we were expecting from the website. The welcome at reception was nice and we were shown around the lodge by one of the team members. I think at this point having someone take our bags to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
WCWLodge, Owner at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. TripAdvisor has given us the privilege to take recommendations from our guests but still allowing us to educate our future guests. We would just like to point out we are not a 5 star resort, we are a 3 star for all of our amenities. Valet and baggage service is not something we offer nor is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
10.3 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
15.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Price Range: $127 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay