We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands 9007 Bulgaria
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$123
eDreams$123
Agoda.com$123
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (319)
Room & Suite (80)
Pool & Beach (55)

About

#17 of 126 hotels in Golden Sands
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.1
Astera Hotel & SPA is centrally located in Golden Sands Resort, Bulgaria among incredible beaches, clean sea-water and bright sun. The combination of aureate sands and nature iniquity of the surroundings make the resort complex one of the most preferable places for spending holidays. Situated in the immediate vicinity of the beach, Astera Hotel & SPA offers an improbable and impressive panorama to the azure water of the Black Sea. The stylish interior, the contemporary architectural decisions and the accents on the colors combined with ultramodern and different design create an unique feeling of coziness and comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Public wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Game room
Billiards
Table tennis
Kids club
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian
278Reviews21Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 105
  • 88
  • 54
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alinae473 wrote a review Feb 2022
Bucharest, Romania48 contributions73 helpful votes
On the good side - I enjoyed the room very much, big and confortable, especially the big bathroom with a tub and a shower cabin (very useful) and the beautiful view of the sea and the pool. Food was good, especially the breakfast. Also loved the warm indoor pool (30 degrees Celsius) which definetely made for a nice time during rainy days. Other pluses would be the parking, the obvious proximity to the beach and the center of Golden Sands and also the helpful and smiling staff. Overall a very nice experience. On the bad side - The fact that the sheet in which the blanket is supposed to be was shorter than the blanket itself leaving it exposed, which is not very hygienic. The fact that there was noise from a beach bar up to 3 am in the morning, but this is actually not the hotel's fault, just worth considering.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Travelkingd wrote a review Oct 2021
8 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at the hotel in 2021. Great location, spacious rooms with balconies and good wifi. Breakfast is disastrous (we were all very glad we hadn't gotten the all-inclusive package). On a rainy day we went to see the spa, which is 2 working saunas and an indoor-pool. Closing times at 19:00 hs are questionable though. That's it, I hope this helps you decide! ;)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Lucian B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Vacation 2021 - August 13th- August 18th We arrived at the reception. We have to pay 20 leva/day for the parking. I said ok, no problem. We had to wait in the lobby bar until 14:00 to do the check-in. The tables in the bar not wiped, empty plastic glasses on them. The base of the tables full of dust. Lightning fixtures with spider webs. We said ok, maybe they were busy. I told my wife and my brother and sister in law: lets check the hotel to see what else we will do here, lets see the pool. We went to the first floor. Nice pool, clean water, loud music from a club situated on the beach “mojito”. I went to the toilette: I was struck by a strong, pungent smell of urine. I rushed outside to avoid vomiting. Near the toilette a few brown couches. The tables filled with used plastic glasses. On one of the couches some bird droppings. Everything was so dirty that i felt in danger. We finally got our rooms. On the hallway, the carpet stained. The room was big enough for me, my wife and my 10 year old son. In the refrigerator 1 bottle of water, the bathroom had only a liquid soap dispenser with a strange looking liquid inside(something green) and a roll of toilet paper. No shower gel. The same strong, pungent smell of urine could be found at the toilette near the reception also. I can continue this story but i will be boring. Long story short: - bad food - they even use meat to make burgers or sausages next day. Food not diversified. - everyhing dirty(toilettes, restaurants, bar and lobby) - the bar on the beach: one soda dispenser and 1 beer dispenser open fron 10 to 17 - no cleaning in the rooms: same sheets all week - no drinks in the room except for one bottle of water - coffee machines with instant coffee and powder milk - sodas from the bars cannot be drinked - miserable employees who dont speak english - no COVID 19 measures - no security - the big noise coming from the AC units situated at “C” floor outside - paid parking - old, used towels - the drinks coming from a machine that can not be consumed - the cheap snaks - we got food poisoned on monday August 16th 2021 - we found broken glass inside the pool I will never ever come back to this hotel. They should take down at least one star from the 4 satrs that they pretend they have. At the end, when we tried to talk with the manager about this they she told us that is no problem if we will not come back to this hotel. They dont care. I can continue with this but i think i have made myself clear. Spend you money sonwere else because here everything is a HUGE LIE !!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
madziadomin wrote a review Aug 2021
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
Modern and clean rooms was the positiv part of our holidays. Room service very friendly! What disapointed were restaurants- quite dirty, not english speaking stuff. I asked 4 times for a spoon for my baby, nobody understood. SPA was far from what we expected- we have chosen this hotel by long list of spa treatments they offer on their website. None of it was available, more than that, I booked 4 times massages and 3 times I was send back with „sorry- problem”- of course they do not speak english. Problem with a parking- again communication.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do not expect anything nice from the spa or restaurants. Drinks (all inclusive) nice. If you...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marta W wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Hotel has a great localization, close to the beach and other attractions of Golden Sands The reception cannot handle the guests turnover in high season, terrible delays, always a lot of people close to the reception, I had to wait 1,5 h for my room after check-in time and I didn't hear any apologies and nothing actually, they told me to go to the bar and wait. Food is good, also the staff at the restaurant. Drinks are good, but not wine. Hotel has its own beach, but crowdy in high season, it is hard to find free sunbed after 10 am. Hotel does not have enough parking lot, so guests' car are everywhere - on the sidewalk, almost at the hotel entrance
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms from pool side are more quiet than from street side
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Gabriela R wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
It was my first holiday in Bulgaria and I was disappointed. The room was fine, apart from the way the room was cleaned, but that part I gathered from the other reviews. The towels can be changed on demand, but vacuuming and the changing of bed sheets are out of the question, not even the bare minimum of cleaning in the bathroom was done.  Regarding the food, another disappointment. The meals can be served at 2 restaurants, one of them had air conditioning, while the other one did not, and the dishes served were also different between the 2 restaurants. The dishes were not diverse, the breakfast was very poor in terms of choice, eggs, boiled or fried sausages, cheese and some tomatoes and cucumbers.  The lunch consisted in only one kind of soup and almost all the meat was prepared in the form of a stew with a few selections of garnishes. For dessert there were fruits such as pears, apricots and nectarines, but watermelon and grapes were missing. As for sweets, they were the most basic recipes I ever tasted. Thank God there was ice cream. The beach was pretty clean (comparable with the ones in Romania); in order to book sunbeds, you have to wake up early in the morning. The pool was decent, with nothing on the entertaining side, not even for the children.  One family from our group had a room on the 9th floor and surprise, at 6 PM they didn't have hot water... How is that even possible in 2021?! In short, we left with a sorrow taste and maybe we'll return to Bulgaria, but definitely not at this 4 star hotel, a 5 star hotel is the way to go.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Marius C wrote a review Aug 2020
Bucharest, Romania13 contributions3 helpful votes
The room was not cleaned well when we arrived and the food was good but cheap for a four-star hotel (they even served tap water instead of bottled water at the restaurant). For a four-star hotel, the quality level was very low and my guess is that this happens due to its guests (~70% uneducated Romanians). At one point, the maid entered in our room although we were inside and she even opened the bathroom door. Didn't understand English when we told her that it's not ok. The hotel looks nice but the quality of our accomodation made it feel like we were in a two-star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DI_FLORIN wrote a review Aug 2020
Romania1 contribution
It was great vacation. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Enough space on the private beach, most of the rooms with see view, great location close to the beach. Good spa and pool. A lot of options to eat, everything fresh. We will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jana wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
Generally said, we were disappointed about this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone! At first, a receptionist (a young lady with long wavy blond hair) who was accommodating us was very impolite rather rude and unpleasant (e. g. my polite question "why we will get our all inclusive bracelets so late" was answered: "why not"). On the other hand, the next days there was a young man and he was nice. However, the first impression was destroyed. Secondly, the staff from the pool bar was horrible. There were two young girls (Kalina and someone) and I have never seen someone so lazy and bored. Instead of taking care of guests, they were sitting and smoking or playing on their cell phones across the bar. We had to literally beg them to attend us. But the lobby bar was working much better. Food was of average quality (variety could be better however we always chose something). The last but not least, the horrible noise from near clubs. I totally understand that the hotel is situated in a noisy part, however this was too much. The music was playing almost the whole night and we could hear it even though, a balcony was closed. We were discussing this issue with other hotel guests and they were also complaining. The hotel should take some actions against this because some people could not sleep at all, which is very annoying. Finally, I would like to praise the animation team, which was amazing (the best thing in the hotel).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view (less noisy).
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Milen.S. wrote a review Jun 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
First of all I was very surpriced that during these strange times the security measures against the virus was super poor. But I am not mad about that. The thing that made me mad was how the staff was looking into my eyes and decided not to give me my change after I bought for a second time water and coffee. She was like "oh did I forgot..." and she did not give it to me anyway. I was there on a job to do and this super expensive water and coffee (which is normal to be expensive in a hotel do not get me wrong) was needed. I did not want to not pay for it or a favor to show me where there is some free water or something like this. I just wanted my change.... Not to mention how the girl did not know what she got behind the bar and what are the prizes of the stuff... Typical behavior of a poor bussines....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ilieva Galina, Dịch vụ khách hàng / Lễ tân at Astera Hotel & Spa
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Thank you of bringing this to our attention. We can assure you that we will take measures with our staff
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
astera hotel and casino, astera hotel varna
LOCATION
BulgariaVarna ProvinceGolden Sands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
277
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Astera Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Astera Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Hotel International Casino (0.2 miles), Mojito Beach Bar (0.06 miles), and Daiquiri Cocktail Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Astera Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steak House Krivata Lipa, Gerana, and Hurry Ramsden's Fish & Chips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Astera Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Golden Sands.
Are any cleaning services offered at Astera Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Astera Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Astera Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Bulgarian.