We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Golden Sands 9007 Bulgaria
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$85
View deal
Travelocity
$85
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$67
View deal
Hotels.com$85
Orbitz.com$85
FindHotel$85
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (234)
Dining (33)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

#16 of 125 in Golden Sands
Location
3.7
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Madara Park Hotel is an All Inclusive hotel in Golden Sands, located on Bulgaria's northern Black Sea coast. You'll be a short stroll from its Blue Flag beach, famed for its clean sand. You'll also find shops, restaurants, bars and entertainment along the beachfront. Madara Park Hotel is popular with groups of younger guests who are looking to experience the local nightlife. With one outdoor swimming pool and a range of activities on offer, you'll have plenty to keep you occupied during your stay. The guests can enjoy sporting activities including table tennis. If you'd prefer something a little less strenuous, you can spend some time at the hotel's spa, which has a sauna and a hydro-massage whirlpool, as well as various treatments and on offer. Evenings can be spent enjoying meals in Madara's buffet restaurant, which serves international and Mediterranean cuisine, followed by drinks in the bar. There's also evening entertainment that includes parties on the restaurant terrace. If you want to experience some of Bulgaria's nightlife, there are bars and nightclubs along the seafront.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Concierge
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
German
243Reviews33Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 59
  • 40
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carina M wrote a review Sep 2021
Odense, Denmark5 contributions6 helpful votes
After a nightmare week at madara park hotel in golden sands I'm finally home. We got almost all the things we bought stolen, from our room!!! And we weren't the only ones clothes,shoes,cigarettes, bags and cash and when I told it to the reception, they denied it and accused us of lying,not even a excuse did we get The food was terrible The "pool bar" is located inside the hotel...so not really a pool bar All drinks came in plastic and no cocktails was included in all inclusive Stay away from that hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Bogusia L wrote a review Sep 2021
Vienna, Austria16 contributions4 helpful votes
If I closed my eyes and forgot the food (and the drinks) I think I'd give the hotel 4 stars. Basic but clean rooms, nice pool and pool area, really great animation team, nice and helpful staff. Cleaning was not done daily but it didn't bother us (there was one day no one came at all, couple of days where they only emptied the trash bins and 3 times where they did proper cleaning incl. Channing all towels and bed sheets. We didn't put the towels on the floor so we were also not expecting them replaced daily. No complaints about cleaning service, perfectly matches our expectations for a week stay). The playground is quite old and doesn't seem to be well kept, we thought it was not very safe so we avoided it. Moreover, it is quite a walk to the beach but this didn't bother us either. On the minus side: safe costs ca. 25eur/week and when we asked where can we post the postcards we bought they didn't offer us any support. But all this would be really nothing if I was able to forget the food. Unfortunately I just cannot... after 2 dinners and one lunch at the hotel, we decided to eat outside. We still went for breakfasts but it was hard to enjoy those either. The worst part of it all is that they seem to store unfinished food and just add some fresh to the old ones and serve it again. At some point we were wondering if some of those sausages are not a week old.There was potatoes and overcooked broccoli for every meal, awfully looking children buffet every day the same and the worst chicken nuggets I have ever tasted. I saw mold in the jam, frankfurter sausage was gray and looked disgusting. Also drinks were the cheapest you can get, undrinkanle Cola as an example. To sum it up: it is a huge pity as the hotel has nice potential but the quality of food just destroys it all. And the worst part of it, it seems like it went so bad this year (when we booked in June the reviews were rather good and all reviews from this summer are really bad and I really know why).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Elias A wrote a review Jul 2021
Michigan Center, Michigan4 contributions
We went to Varna not knowing what to expect. But it’s a good thing we went. The all inclusive Madara was truly exceptional. The property is clean and well kept. The rooms are European style but the service is definitely North American. Wioletta and her team at the front desk were wonderful and very accommodating. Diana’s personal service style is refreshing and heartfelt. She’s bend over backward to accommodate your requests where possible. Her and Wioletta are the sweetest ladies we met in this foreign country. Serdjo at the bar is a great staple of the hotel. He’s the hardest working bartender I have seen in my life. I believe he served a polish group and a Romanian group who were at the hotel over 200 beers per hour while helping the rest of the customers with their usual requests of hard liquor coffee and such. Lol. I’m truly not exaggerating. I’ve seen men carrying 4 glasses of beer at a time and he did it in the heat of varna summer without missing a beat, and he did it all with a smile. I still have to see him flustered. I don’t think you’ll ever hear him complain. The breakfast is great. Razgard cheese is wonderful and a Bulgarian stapled tradition. The petit fours and fruits are heavenly. Lunches are good but mostly pork based. Sausages. Pork meats. So if you like pork like Bulgarians do, you’ll be in hog heaven, pun intended. But they always had great salads and vegetables. Bread is excellent. Olives to die for, especially the black ones. They’re tasty and better than peanuts. Lol. And the servers are very nice and sweet. They’re silent, but they speak English fluently. Just ask Ideyana and she’ll tell you. She’s fluent. Very nice group of people. They look serious as they clear your table and tend to your needs, but if you take the time to engage you’ll find them to be the salt of the earth. From Madara you’re a 10 minutes walk to the beach. The beach has German style parties and the people there are a melting pot. Next trip I would probably make it in end if July or August just because it seems that’s the highest of the highest season there. I’m told you bump into people strolling the clean pristine waterfront because it gets so crowded. At the front desk, they can connect you with private transport if you want to make your own personal excursions (Georgie is great and he knows all the good places. Make sure he takes you to Morshka Zuezda for lunch in Balchik. Best Mussels ever and the prices are more than fair. French fries are heavenly also, but sitting for lunch next to the waves is what takes the prize). The front desk has also excursions by tour groups if that’s your preference. They’re never mine. I like my freedom of movement and speed of transfers. Okay. I gave you enough to digest in this review, so I’m gonna stop here for now. But after a long flight into Varna, you’ll be happy to stay with the good folks at Madara. Catch them from May to September. That’s the best season. And if you do make it, tell them Elias said hello.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Gemma S wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When we first arrived we thought we were in the middle of no where however in seconds you reach a main strip of shops, restaurants and bars. There is a 10 minute shortcut to the beach or a longer stroll round the shops. Golden sands itself we were shocked how big it was. The hotel itself: the rooms are very basic and not always cleaned to as expected although no concerns with the beds and fresh towels every day. We had dirty lampshades which we refused to touch and although we had a working fridge which was helpful to keep water in, we attempted to use the freezer part which already had icecubes in with dead bugs... ye we did not touch that. Walking past other rooms we seemed to have had the most basic of rooms. Food- breakfast and snack bar we cannot fault. We always used these each day and had a range of selections such as hot and cold items. During breakfast there is a huge queue for fried eggs and pancakes as this is a preference and service can be slow. The man who is in the snack bar is extremely friendly and always welcoming. Tea times- we stayed here 14 days and although attempted failed to eat there once in the main restaurant because meat was not always cooked- pink chicken/turkey. My partner has a nut and sesame seed allergy and there was hardly any plain food available and most of the bread had seseme seeds. We spent most of our money eating out. If you have an food allergy it maybe best to eat out of an evening as a few restaurants have alergy information on their menus. When speaking to other British couples who stayed at the same hotel they also shared negative opinions of the eveing food. We saw regular hotel customers eating out in the restaurants in Goldensands. Reception- were friendly and aproachable. There was one in particular who was on regular night shifts. We complained the first four nights as our neighbours were extremely noisy and did not pay much respect for others on the same floor. The receptionist worked hard to help us solve the issue and he personally spoke to them first hand and sorted the issue out straight away. The next night he checked that everything was ok- which we thought was great service. The two pools are nice however extremely cold! So make sure it is sunny when you go in the pool. There were always sunbeds available throughout the day right by the pool or at the top where they have comfy sun beds. We did not interact much with the entertaining staff although it seemed they tried hard to engage and involve everyone and did well with their limited resources. This hotel represents the old saying you get what you pay for. Was a mixture of good and bad things although from reviews I have read it was better than we thought. Also a little tip- we heard alot of people thinking Golden Sands is near Sunny beach and complaining when they arrived. If you want to go go Sunny beach Golden Sands is not the place for you as this is over 2 hours away or research what is near before you come. As I have been to both they are different but both good destinations for a cheap and cheerful holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Gemma, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at International Smartline Madara Hotel.We deeply appreciate your taking time to write those priceless for our Hotel comments.We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel reception deck and the location. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced due to the food and cleaning.But please us remark ,you never inform us the stateroom not was keep use or your boyfriend has any alergy incl. neither did the representive of TC.Looking on our files the room was cleaned daily till 4 pm.We would like to remind that the food is international/ lebel with allergen intolerances/ and unforunately during your stayment never get information of your side.In case the guest has any alergy or wishes kithen team is ready to preparate personal menu. We are certainly not happy to hear that you are unpleasant experience during the holiday Kind regard
Read more
Sorcaru I wrote a review Aug 2019
Bucharest, Romania28 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed at Madara, at the end of august 2018. The accomodation, the restaurant and animation are specific to a 4* unit and we enjoyed it. The staff is always smilling and ready to help u. The only problem is the distance to the beach (15 minutes walking with lots of stairs) and the paid parking (if I remember correctly we paid 10 leva/day plus a warrant for a card to enter the parking which they returned to us at the check out). Anyway, we spent a memorable week here, and we'll return for quick brakes, as Golden Sands ins't what it used to be some years before.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear Sorcaru, Thank you very much for your feedback,wewill be very happy if next year Smartline Madara be again your choice of family vacantion Best Regards
Read more
TOXICFROG wrote a review Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom2 contributions9 helpful votes
Ok here’s an honest review of the hotel and staff.... Right I went all inclusive June 2018 for 2 weeks the weather was good and hot, the food in the restaurant was amazing even the Staff was very friendly and polite and extremely helpful. I came home after being there for 2 weeks and booked to go again for 2 weeks in August 2018 ,That’s all the plus side, now the downside ! The only downside we had was that at 4-5am all the sun beds had towels on but it was short lived as hotel management came down and removed all the towels and put them in reception 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 that made it easier for people to get sun beds as people sodded off for the day leaving there towels there and not returning . Other downside is that if you have young children or going with old people be careful of the pool as the tiles are extremely slippery and I see lots of people slipping over and kids banging there heads on the tiles. Other than that I cannot fault the hotel and staff or the food I’m very well travelled and I have to say this is a very good location and hotel I shall be returning for sure, plenty of shops and about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach ,if you have your key card for the room and you go out the back of the hotel through the gate and at the end of the walk way turn right you will hit the main drag for restaurants and bars , all in all I’d give the whole experience seeings I spent 2x2 weeks there a 10/10**********.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, General Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2019
Dear TOXICFROG Thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and for the detailed review in Tripadvisor. We are extremely happy that you have appreciated each single aspect of our exclusive “Level” product and the professional treatments in the Hotel We really hope that you will come to visit us again in next seasons, when we will surely provide you with memorable holiday. Greetings from sunny Golden Sands
Read more
thpall wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
The restaurant staff were very nice and friendly. Most of the food was a bit too salty especially the meat. However we had a problem with checking out at the hotel and the reception staff and the manager were very rude to us. They had no respect for the customer and refused to accept their mistake. We stayed at the Smartline Madara and we booked two rooms. We arrived around 13:30 and only one room was ready so we had to wait for around 1 hour and then a staff bought us our card but they gave us two cards instead of four. We didn't think much of it since we thought the staff knew what they were doing. When we checked out they accused us of stealing the cards and started getting very angry at us whilst we tried to explain what happened. They started shouting at our whole family and my children got very scared and started crying. Furthermore, when booking this hotel we were told that there would be wifi available however there was no wifi available other than in the reception area where it was very weak. I had to miss very important calls because there was no wifi and had to use my own mobile data to send emails and use the internet. I did not expect this for the price that I paid. There was no actual gym other than some kid's play gym. Even at the kid's play gym the bike was broken and could not be used and the other things were useless.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your valuable opinion. We sincerely appreciate the possibility of looking into our guests` personal experience, because we are deeply convinced in the fact that by taking into account every single guest`s feedback, we would be able not only to cover, but the exceed our guests`expectations and delivering to them 4-star vacation experience. Since we were not able to fully cover your anticipation regaring our selection of the reception service, offered at our property.Allow us to note that your comments are highly appreciated and all of them are taken under deep consideration, because we believe that our staff is the strongest asset we have and we constantly try to demonstrate our devotion for designing an enjoyable vacation experience to all of our guests, based on personal care and individual service.By the way on all world the check in is after 2 pm. and in Smartline Madara the guest recived four cards. Regarding the solty food issue you described, firstly we would like to apologize, since we were not able to satisfy your food preferences. Let us kindly to add that International Hotel Madara hosts guests from all over the World and we strongly and hardly try to answer to all of their needs and flavours, but sometimes everything depends on the guests` personal taste. We apologize, if somehow, we made you feel uncomfortable and allow us to take the opportunity to encourage you to share with us any issue you may have during your stay, as this is the most effective way for timely reaction, in order to try to do our best for answering to all of your needs. We hope you to receive the chance of warmly welcoming you back and to demonstrate you our willing to be the perfect host. Sincerely,
Read more
Jeppe N wrote a review Jul 2019
Aalborg, Denmark1 contribution
It's been a lovely stay at the hotel, the staff and the animators on the hotel are so nice and kind. The animators is good at making attractions for all the family childe as adult😀 The all inclusive is also super at the hotel, there is something for every one😊 The only thing that has been bad is the elevators. Sometimes they go sometimes they dont, we were mabye just unlucky by the time we was here😀
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2019
Dear JNygreen, Thank you very much for taking time to write your opinion and experience from your stay at Madara Smartline Hotel. The feedback from our guests is important to us and we are grateful for sharing your impressions. We are sorry to hear for any unconvinius. As a family friendly hotel, we do our best to make the holiday of every guest a memorable experience - both for adults and for children. We will be glad to welcome you back. Best regards
Read more
Claudiu I wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
It is a ok, quiet place, ideal for family holidays. Food is more than ok and varied. Many fruits at every meal. You always have a meal durind the daytime (fruits, snacks, sandwiches, pizza, hot dogs). Beverages are Bulgarian, but the're ok. Animators do their job and the atmosphere is always fun. Every evening there are small shows that make children delight. The swimming pool is clean and there is also a smaller pool for children. There is also an indoor pool for less warm days. The rooms are clean and quite spacious, cleaned every day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Dear Claudiu I Thank you so much for the lovely words about us and our product! We are very happy to know that you have spent a great holiday here. We are working as a big team indeed. This is the only way to manage such a property and to be able to offer to our guests the best service and product at all times. We wish you nice and sunny summer days and hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards
Read more
Vacation36007943713 wrote a review Jul 2019
Golden Sands, Bulgaria1 contribution
Very good hotel, cannot fault the food, nice and cleans rooms.The location is ok, it takes about 10 min to go the beach.Big variety of food.Nice and clean pool.Everything is tip top and the staffs are very nice and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Park Hotel
Responded Jul 20, 2019
Dear Vacation36007943713 Thanks a lot for your compliments about our hotel and staff. It’s great that you have spent a wonderful vacation with us and we do really hope to see you very soon back. Best regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madara hotel golden sands
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Smartline Madara
LOCATION
BulgariaVarna ProvinceGolden Sands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
242
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Madara Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Madara Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hotel International Casino (0.3 miles), Aquapolis (0.3 miles), and Daiquiri Cocktail Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Madara Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Madara Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Madara Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Staria Dab, Restaurant Prima, and Chiflishki Han.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Madara Park Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Madara Park Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Madara Park Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Madara Park Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Golden Sands.
Are any cleaning services offered at Madara Park Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Madara Park Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St Athanasius Orthodox Church (8.4 miles) and Roman Thermae (8.4 miles).
Is Madara Park Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.