We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madara Hotel

Save
Share
Golden Sands 9007 Bulgaria
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (234)
Pool & Beach (40)
Dining (31)

About

#16 of 123 hotels in Golden Sands
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Madara Park Hotel is an All Inclusive hotel in Golden Sands, located on Bulgaria's northern Black Sea coast. You'll be a short stroll from its Blue Flag beach, famed for its clean sand. You'll also find shops, restaurants, bars and entertainment along the beachfront. Madara Park Hotel is popular with groups of younger guests who are looking to experience the local nightlife. With one outdoor swimming pool and a range of activities on offer, you'll have plenty to keep you occupied during your stay. The guests can enjoy sporting activities including table tennis. If you'd prefer something a little less strenuous, you can spend some time at the hotel's spa, which has a sauna and a hydro-massage whirlpool, as well as various treatments and on offer. Evenings can be spent enjoying meals in Madara's buffet restaurant, which serves international and Mediterranean cuisine, followed by drinks in the bar. There's also evening entertainment that includes parties on the restaurant terrace. If you want to experience some of Bulgaria's nightlife, there are bars and nightclubs along the seafront.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Concierge
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
German
243Reviews33Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 59
  • 40
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Carina M wrote a review Sep 7
Odense, Denmark5 contributions6 helpful votes
After a nightmare week at madara park hotel in golden sands I'm finally home. We got almost all the things we bought stolen, from our room!!! And we weren't the only ones clothes,shoes,cigarettes, bags and cash and when I told it to the reception, they denied it and accused us of lying,not even a excuse did we get The food was terrible The "pool bar" is located inside the hotel...so not really a pool bar All drinks came in plastic and no cocktails was included in all inclusive Stay away from that hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Bogusia L wrote a review Sep 5
Vienna, Austria16 contributions4 helpful votes
If I closed my eyes and forgot the food (and the drinks) I think I'd give the hotel 4 stars. Basic but clean rooms, nice pool and pool area, really great animation team, nice and helpful staff. Cleaning was not done daily but it didn't bother us (there was one day no one came at all, couple of days where they only emptied the trash bins and 3 times where they did proper cleaning incl. Channing all towels and bed sheets. We didn't put the towels on the floor so we were also not expecting them replaced daily. No complaints about cleaning service, perfectly matches our expectations for a week stay). The playground is quite old and doesn't seem to be well kept, we thought it was not very safe so we avoided it. Moreover, it is quite a walk to the beach but this didn't bother us either. On the minus side: safe costs ca. 25eur/week and when we asked where can we post the postcards we bought they didn't offer us any support. But all this would be really nothing if I was able to forget the food. Unfortunately I just cannot... after 2 dinners and one lunch at the hotel, we decided to eat outside. We still went for breakfasts but it was hard to enjoy those either. The worst part of it all is that they seem to store unfinished food and just add some fresh to the old ones and serve it again. At some point we were wondering if some of those sausages are not a week old.There was potatoes and overcooked broccoli for every meal, awfully looking children buffet every day the same and the worst chicken nuggets I have ever tasted. I saw mold in the jam, frankfurter sausage was gray and looked disgusting. Also drinks were the cheapest you can get, undrinkanle Cola as an example. To sum it up: it is a huge pity as the hotel has nice potential but the quality of food just destroys it all. And the worst part of it, it seems like it went so bad this year (when we booked in June the reviews were rather good and all reviews from this summer are really bad and I really know why).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Elias A wrote a review Jul 2021
Michigan Center, Michigan4 contributions
We went to Varna not knowing what to expect. But it’s a good thing we went. The all inclusive Madara was truly exceptional. The property is clean and well kept. The rooms are European style but the service is definitely North American. Wioletta and her team at the front desk were wonderful and very accommodating. Diana’s personal service style is refreshing and heartfelt. She’s bend over backward to accommodate your requests where possible. Her and Wioletta are the sweetest ladies we met in this foreign country. Serdjo at the bar is a great staple of the hotel. He’s the hardest working bartender I have seen in my life. I believe he served a polish group and a Romanian group who were at the hotel over 200 beers per hour while helping the rest of the customers with their usual requests of hard liquor coffee and such. Lol. I’m truly not exaggerating. I’ve seen men carrying 4 glasses of beer at a time and he did it in the heat of varna summer without missing a beat, and he did it all with a smile. I still have to see him flustered. I don’t think you’ll ever hear him complain. The breakfast is great. Razgard cheese is wonderful and a Bulgarian stapled tradition. The petit fours and fruits are heavenly. Lunches are good but mostly pork based. Sausages. Pork meats. So if you like pork like Bulgarians do, you’ll be in hog heaven, pun intended. But they always had great salads and vegetables. Bread is excellent. Olives to die for, especially the black ones. They’re tasty and better than peanuts. Lol. And the servers are very nice and sweet. They’re silent, but they speak English fluently. Just ask Ideyana and she’ll tell you. She’s fluent. Very nice group of people. They look serious as they clear your table and tend to your needs, but if you take the time to engage you’ll find them to be the salt of the earth. From Madara you’re a 10 minutes walk to the beach. The beach has German style parties and the people there are a melting pot. Next trip I would probably make it in end if July or August just because it seems that’s the highest of the highest season there. I’m told you bump into people strolling the clean pristine waterfront because it gets so crowded. At the front desk, they can connect you with private transport if you want to make your own personal excursions (Georgie is great and he knows all the good places. Make sure he takes you to Morshka Zuezda for lunch in Balchik. Best Mussels ever and the prices are more than fair. French fries are heavenly also, but sitting for lunch next to the waves is what takes the prize). The front desk has also excursions by tour groups if that’s your preference. They’re never mine. I like my freedom of movement and speed of transfers. Okay. I gave you enough to digest in this review, so I’m gonna stop here for now. But after a long flight into Varna, you’ll be happy to stay with the good folks at Madara. Catch them from May to September. That’s the best season. And if you do make it, tell them Elias said hello.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Gemma S wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When we first arrived we thought we were in the middle of no where however in seconds you reach a main strip of shops, restaurants and bars. There is a 10 minute shortcut to the beach or a longer stroll round the shops. Golden sands itself we were shocked how big it was. The hotel itself: the rooms are very basic and not always cleaned to as expected although no concerns with the beds and fresh towels every day. We had dirty lampshades which we refused to touch and although we had a working fridge which was helpful to keep water in, we attempted to use the freezer part which already had icecubes in with dead bugs... ye we did not touch that. Walking past other rooms we seemed to have had the most basic of rooms. Food- breakfast and snack bar we cannot fault. We always used these each day and had a range of selections such as hot and cold items. During breakfast there is a huge queue for fried eggs and pancakes as this is a preference and service can be slow. The man who is in the snack bar is extremely friendly and always welcoming. Tea times- we stayed here 14 days and although attempted failed to eat there once in the main restaurant because meat was not always cooked- pink chicken/turkey. My partner has a nut and sesame seed allergy and there was hardly any plain food available and most of the bread had seseme seeds. We spent most of our money eating out. If you have an food allergy it maybe best to eat out of an evening as a few restaurants have alergy information on their menus. When speaking to other British couples who stayed at the same hotel they also shared negative opinions of the eveing food. We saw regular hotel customers eating out in the restaurants in Goldensands. Reception- were friendly and aproachable. There was one in particular who was on regular night shifts. We complained the first four nights as our neighbours were extremely noisy and did not pay much respect for others on the same floor. The receptionist worked hard to help us solve the issue and he personally spoke to them first hand and sorted the issue out straight away. The next night he checked that everything was ok- which we thought was great service. The two pools are nice however extremely cold! So make sure it is sunny when you go in the pool. There were always sunbeds available throughout the day right by the pool or at the top where they have comfy sun beds. We did not interact much with the entertaining staff although it seemed they tried hard to engage and involve everyone and did well with their limited resources. This hotel represents the old saying you get what you pay for. Was a mixture of good and bad things although from reviews I have read it was better than we thought. Also a little tip- we heard alot of people thinking Golden Sands is near Sunny beach and complaining when they arrived. If you want to go go Sunny beach Golden Sands is not the place for you as this is over 2 hours away or research what is near before you come. As I have been to both they are different but both good destinations for a cheap and cheerful holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Gemma, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at International Smartline Madara Hotel.We deeply appreciate your taking time to write those priceless for our Hotel comments.We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel reception deck and the location. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced due to the food and cleaning.But please us remark ,you never inform us the stateroom not was keep use or your boyfriend has any alergy incl. neither did the representive of TC.Looking on our files the room was cleaned daily till 4 pm.We would like to remind that the food is international/ lebel with allergen intolerances/ and unforunately during your stayment never get information of your side.In case the guest has any alergy or wishes kithen team is ready to preparate personal menu. We are certainly not happy to hear that you are unpleasant experience during the holiday Kind regard
Read more
Sorcaru I wrote a review Aug 2019
Bucharest, Romania27 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed at Madara, at the end of august 2018. The accomodation, the restaurant and animation are specific to a 4* unit and we enjoyed it. The staff is always smilling and ready to help u. The only problem is the distance to the beach (15 minutes walking with lots of stairs) and the paid parking (if I remember correctly we paid 10 leva/day plus a warrant for a card to enter the parking which they returned to us at the check out). Anyway, we spent a memorable week here, and we'll return for quick brakes, as Golden Sands ins't what it used to be some years before.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MadaraHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Madara Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dear Sorcaru, Thank you very much for your feedback,wewill be very happy if next year Smartline Madara be again your choice of family vacantion Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
madara hotel golden sands
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Smartline Madara
LOCATION
BulgariaVarna ProvinceGolden Sands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
242
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Madara Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Madara Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hotel International Casino (0.3 miles), Aquapolis (0.3 miles), and Daiquiri Cocktail Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Madara Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Madara Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Madara Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Staria Dab, Ivan's Place, and Restaurant Prima.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Madara Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Madara Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Golden Sands.
Are any cleaning services offered at Madara Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Madara Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St Athanasius Orthodox Church (8.4 miles) and Roman Thermae (8.4 miles).
Is Madara Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.