We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Serene Pavilions

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Serene Pavilions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Serene Pavilions
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent our honeymoon there. Great service, great food. Lovely view. Everything is just perfect. There are so many things to do. You can enjoy an elephant ride, walk on the beach, swim on your own pool, relax using private jacuzzi or the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilo m
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

According to our experience it is a nice calm hotel, perfect to relax. Unfortunately the management organization was weak, the selection of food and beverages was poor comparing to other luxury hotels. Despite our negative experiences we really appreciate the attitude of our butler, Roshan. With his kindness and work skills he did everything to make our stay pleasant and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jurajvincze
Shakeela O, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Thank you once again for your feedback, it is only through constructive comments and observations such as those that you have made that we are able to continually monitor, maintain and improve our standards of guest care. We are very grateful and it is our pleasure to take care of you. Warm regards, Shakeela and The Serene Pavilions Team

Tokyo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing place, great atmosphere, friendly staff we had am amazing honeymoon there. Lovely view & yummy food. Having a personal butler is something. Romantic overload. Personal space is guaranteed. Definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ishherath
Shakeela O, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your lovely review and your five star rating of the property, which is so appreciated by all of us here at Serene Pavilions. Thank you for your favorable comments with regard to the location, atmosphere and our signature 24hr butler service. It was a joy to have you stay...

Penicuik
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Absolutely outstanding "hotel". Beautiful large individual pavilion. Amazing service with our personal butler (Athula) to attend to our every wish. A short stay to celebrate a big birthday and they laid on private dining on the beach with flaming torches and a bonfire. An unforgettable experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie F
Shakeela O, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at Serene Pavilions. I will be sure to pass on your generous comments to my colleagues and to Athula as I am certain this will further motivate them to delight and satisfy our guests. Needless to say, we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away- from-home on...

Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewed December 20, 2016

We spent three wonderful nights here, a space and time for complete relaxation. We were surprised to have the huge and beautiful central pool solely for our use for our pre-breakfast swims, as well as our own lovely private plunge pool. The spaciousness of our two storey pavilion was amazing, and perhaps a little too extravagant. We were disappointed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vrr-12
Shakeela O, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely, honest review and assessment of your experience at Serene Pavilions. We're really happy and delighted that you had a great time, and that you found the property to be good as we really do try our best to set ourselves apart when it comes to the total experience. Hope you feel refreshed from your stay and...

Reviewed December 16, 2016

Truly a serene experience. Calm and quiet place to relax and get away from the hectic city life. We stayed here for two days for our honeymoon at a Garden pavilion. You get your own personal butler. You can arrange your meal plans with him. You have the option to take your meals inside the pavilion, at the restaurant with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asitha N
Sri Lanka
Reviewed October 23, 2016

This is probably my only bad review to date ever. I called and made a booking and followed it up with an email on an id given to me by, I believe the Front Office Manager ("fom@serene......) confirming my booking. Get there on a Friday, late evening, with my family, after tooting the horn a couple of times, the security...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alex D
Serene S, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Dear hw9449, Thank you for taking the time to review Serene Pavilions on Tripadvisor. We are deeply sorry for the bad experience you had last Friday when you came to the hotel. The young gentleman who you spoke to at reception has only just started working for the hotel, and clearly did not know how to handle the fact that...

Colombo
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I was in Serene pavilion in September 2016. We were at an ocean pavilion. The villa is located in Wadduwa about an hours drive from Colombo. when we entered the driveway we noticed that the front garden wasn't maintained well, it seemed like worn down , maybe due to low season. Which should not be an excuse....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riand
Serene S, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Dear Riand, Many thanks for taking the time to review Serene Pavilions on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Ocean Pavilion, food and butler service at the hotel. We are glad that you found that the central pool and private plunge pool were well-maintained. We are in the process of cleaning the ponds throughout the property and will...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Let me list out the PROS and CONS PROS 1. Butler was excellent, Well trained and very friendly. 2. Villa's are very spacious 3. Private and Calm place to Relax CONS 1. The Ponds in the Front area was very poorly maintained. We first thought we came to the wrong place when we saw the front section of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ViraAtt
Emily S, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Dear ViraAtt, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the butler service, the size of the villas and the serenity offered at Serene Pavilions. The appearance of the ponds in the front section are a point of debate for our guests. Some love the "natural" touch, with...

Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I visited the spa of this beautiful boutique hotel which was really a great experience. When entering the resort you get to see lot of greenery and ponds filled with tropical flowers. It was truly a piece of heaven with birds singing every where. You cannot believe that this is located in a busy beach stretch. The spa was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DinendraM
Emily S, Marketing Manager at Serene Pavilions, responded to this review

Dear Dinendra, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Serene Pavilions hotel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spa treatment and the serenity of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the welcome drink and cool towel that would have made your arrival more pleasant. May I ask if you had booked...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (287)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.6 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,140 reviews
17.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Serene Pavilions is a spacious tropical haven, located on the Southwest coast of Sri Lanka. The boutique hotel comprises of 12 Balinese-inspired pavilions, spread over 5 acres of landscaped gardens dotted with coconut palms and lotus ponds. Each pavilion offers a sumptuous bedroom, large living and dining areas, a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi, a kitchenette. The delightful outdoor area features a private plunge pool, and a wooden sundeck with outdoor dining space. With an emphasis on personal service, Serene Pavilions can craft your dream escape. Start the day with breakfast served by your private butler by your plunge pool, or take a dip in the Indian Ocean. Unwind in your villa, where a mix of Sri Lankan and Balinese furnishings create a natural style and tranquil atmosphere. Play tennis, swim a few laps in the central pool, enjoy a spa treatment, or sit back on the beach and wait for the spellbinding sunset. For dinner, choose from the daily menu, or book a private dining session and give the chef free reign to create something new. Then enjoy a nightcap at Amritha Bar as you listen to the waves roll in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Serene Pavilions

Address: 20 Upali Mawatha, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Price Range: $508 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serene Pavilions 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Serene Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Pavilions Hotel Wadduwa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Serene Pavilions staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Serene Pavilions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a wonderful ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles vrr-12, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Garden pavilions are better if you need some privacy. Beach pavilions have a great sea view. Can be seen from the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles asithan2015, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“Choose an Ocean Villa”
 of 5 bubbles ingridg841, May 3, 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front, beach, resort”
 of 5 bubbles UP2UP, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Beach Villas”
 of 5 bubbles Lonelyplanet_1975, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question